Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Original Series Novel
I'm really not a fan of the Trek novels set in the '5 Year Mission' and there have been a LOT of them this year. I wasn't looking forward to yet another one.

However, this is a really great book - despite everything having to be put 'back in the box' by the end, it really is good ! The story is tight and absorbing, the characters we know are excellently handled...
Published 14 months ago by Relayer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat lacking
With The Original Series, one can't really expect continuity. But sometimes it is just a bit more jarring than others. Introducing new races which never appear again can be problematic, especially when that new race is apparently a pretty powerful empire with technology on a par with the Federation. Beyond that, there is a seeming lack of scale - we find out about this...
Published 9 months ago by M. Buck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Original Series Novel, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shocks of Adversity (Star Trek: The Original Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm really not a fan of the Trek novels set in the '5 Year Mission' and there have been a LOT of them this year. I wasn't looking forward to yet another one.

However, this is a really great book - despite everything having to be put 'back in the box' by the end, it really is good ! The story is tight and absorbing, the characters we know are excellently handled and the new ones are well drawn. The result is an unusually rewarding read - this is about as good as TOS novels get.

I'd love to see the author with another 24th century novel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shocks of Adversity (Star Trek: The Original Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
i love books like this where the enterprise are slap bang in the middle of two alien races which is what happens in this book. as the enterprise is heavily damaged as their capability to go warp is virtually destroyed. The Goeg Domain offer to help them but then Captain Kirk finds out they are at war with a species called the taarpi. and as with Star Trek Captain Kirk trusts the Goeg to repair the enterprise but to his dismay he finds out that the real enemy are the Goeg. what i liked about the book is that you the reader trust the Goeg as well but then Kirk thinks, Hang on we've allied ourselves with the wrong species we should have allied ourselves with the tarrpi.The Goeg turn out to be the enemy. as i say i do like these kind of star trek novels where you have the moral dillemma as in the crew figuring out who they should help out and who they shouldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Folded World & The Shocks of Adversity, 4 May 2014
By 
Petar Novakovich "Don't Panic!!" (Caerphilly) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The two titles I've used here are the exact same story by supposedly different authors - the synopses are even the same.
Both mention the science vessel McRaven, both plots are the same, the exact same words in the exact same order are in both books.
If you've read one then you've read both!

This is not just plagiarism!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trek as it should be., 18 Nov 2013
By 
H. Nowlan (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shocks of Adversity (Star Trek: The Original Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Any fan of the original series is in for a treat here. Author William Leisner has done a first class job of creating an incident set amidst the original five year mission, and 'voicing' all the key characters known and loved so well. The pace is perfect and the concluding dilemma Kirk and company must face is beautifully typical of the show - would have made a superb episode, and you cannot give higher praise than that! Thoroughly enjoyable - I hope the writer has further opportunity to publish more in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat lacking, 7 Nov 2013
By 
M. Buck (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shocks of Adversity (Star Trek: The Original Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
With The Original Series, one can't really expect continuity. But sometimes it is just a bit more jarring than others. Introducing new races which never appear again can be problematic, especially when that new race is apparently a pretty powerful empire with technology on a par with the Federation. Beyond that, there is a seeming lack of scale - we find out about this strange area of space, and find out what causes it, but it's never quite explained whether everything beyond the first few chapters takes place within it or not. As a book it was diverting, but I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shocks of Adversity (Star Trek: The Original Series)
The Shocks of Adversity (Star Trek: The Original Series) by William Leisner (Mass Market Paperback - 4 July 2013)
4.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews