Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent story, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The political intrigue steps up a notch whilst still maintaining the action. Looking forward to the final book in the Fall series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I normally don't bother to review books as ultimately everyone's opinion will differ and aspects of a story that some people love others will inevitably hate. That being said this has to be one of the best Star Trek books I have read and so far is the standout winner of the Fall series. I won't say anything about details from the plot (no need for spoilers here) but this is the darkest and most noir Trek storyline and deservedly so as since the tragedy of the first book in the series we have been heading down a dark road in Star Trek. Suffice to say this book roars along and for me achieves the remarkable feat of making you love, hate and sweat along with the characters on the page. In a word, 'Brilliant'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is a new look and shows that people have not changed regarding politics and personnel gain and that there is still a minority still wanting to stand up against it , it was exciting to read and still had the favorite characters in it ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Gazing, 20 Dec. 2013
A good book. I couldn't put it down so had one or two late nights. Will certainly get more despite losing sleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Dan Brierley "Dan" (At home, where do you think.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books are excellent, good pace, short chapters, no waffle. Unloke this review which must be at least 20 words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent next part of Star Trek: The Fall, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is driven by the newly promoted Admiral Riker's investigation into the death of the Federation President at DS9, and the revelations that follow.

I have been impressed by both the quality of writing in all the Star Trek: The Fall novels and the continuation of the themes throughout. The novels seem to reflect the tone in the modern world today and seem very relevant despite their setting far in the future.

The novel also shows the dilemma's of people questionning their duty in the face of blatant challenges to what they believe is right, and the characters response to this.

All in all very enjoyable and I am looking forward to the last instalment to see the story arc completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deft, 26 Nov. 2013
Even though star trek hasn't been this blatantly allegorical since shatner trod the decks of the original starship enterprise, this book is where on going plotlines start to come together. It's a decent mixture of action and detection, with familiar characters all having the right tone and voice (except perhaps occasionally Riker and Nog....but then a fully adult nog was never seen on television, and as much as a married Captain Riker was never seen, we now have Admiral Riker, and his even less familiar brother to contend with....so I think that works) I was especially pleased to see Tom Riker back in the fold, and this book itself shows the characters I grew up with addressing something of a problem I was beginning to have with trek in general....'this is not who we are'....the violence, the corruption...these things are not the ideals of the federation that many trend and are familiar with, and whilst it makes for good drama, things can only be so dark for so long. The other paths of the franchise (star trek online...the jj abrams shadow of the original series...) both seem a little lost in terms of how to get back to that positive heart, but here we see the novels hopefully begin the climb back from the difficulties that seem to face treks overall tone as modern American (and worldwide) fable and myth in a post 9/11 world. (It seems to be this that has made treks explorers into bloodied soldiers after all) and although in this November have covert operations, renditions, and corrupt power at the very heart of the federation....finally we get to see that our characters themselves have woken up and are addressing those issues within the fiction (no doubt to help encourage us in the real world, as the television series did, as well as to pull trek in at least it's literary form, back to somewhere less....grim...than it has been lately) and I am glad that it is Riker and his crew to so first. It seems fitting for the most diverse crew in Starfleet, and one of gene Roddenberry's avatar characters to make that change. (Rodenberrry certainly may not of always lived up to or even believed his own stated ideals, but Riker is doing the job his creator didn't in that regard)

I also enjoyed the tight character focus. I have loved some of the world building in star trek, but here we get to wander about with the people rather than the cultures. The only exception to this is the Roman colony commander, who I found very intriguing, if occasionally mildly grating with her odd speech patterns. There are many characters in this book who I wouldn't mind seeing again, and you can almost sense a new chapter with perhaps some new trek bridge families on the horizon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my Favorite so far., 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not much of a reviewer but an avid Star Trek reader. In this series this has been the best book so far. It's as if the whole series has led to this point. The story really had me drawn in from the start. Hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a read!!!, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another great book in the Fall series.
Although a little slow at the beginning, the pace soon picked up. Great to see Tom again. Can't wait to start the next book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read and well enjoyed too. Can't wait to find the next in the time line to see over the horizon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Fall: The Poisoned Chalice
Star Trek: The Fall: The Poisoned Chalice by James Swallow (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Dec. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews