Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Trek thriller, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Fall: The Poisoned Chalice (Mass Market Paperback)
Book four in the 'The Fall' mini-series follows for the most part the USS Titan's crew as they react to the events of recent novels and find their routine altered dramatically by orders from Starfleet. A number of Deep Space Nine characters also show up, and I really enjoyed those appearances from my favourite Trek series.

The story doesn't really fit with the typical Titan formula - it's really more similar to a spy thriller, something that's becoming a frequent genre in the 24th Century Star Trek novels, but no complaints from me as I really enjoy them. The plot is really gripping throughout and Swallow achieved a great mix of action with authentic character moments, taking the familiar faces out of their comfort zones allowing them to grow.

There are some big plot points here too that further the ongoing narrative. It's definitely feeling like things are moving toward the conclusion that we're expecting in book five, but there are plenty of threads still dangling and I suspect a number of red herrings thrown in for good measure. A lot of the plot has some rather obvious parallels to real-world events, something that Trek has always done well, and it's interesting to see Swallow's take on how the characters would deal with these.

A great thriller that works really well in the Trek line. Swallow's certainly shown he can do interesting things with any Trek character and it seems like he was the perfect choice to tell this chapter. I look forward to more from him, as well of course to this mini-series' grand finale next month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 28 Dec 2013
This book ratchets up the tension that has been developing throughout the other novels in this series. Clandestine operations and confrontations between key characters leave you wanting more. There is also some continued character development in line with other Titan novels. I am greatly looking forward to the final book in The Fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all good, 9 July 2014
By 
A. Robson "Andy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Fall: The Poisoned Chalice (Mass Market Paperback)
An Awesome book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's been a while, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first star trek book I have read in a number of years, I am relieved that the writing is as good now as before. This was enjoyable and was like putting on an old comfortable jacket that I had forgotten was in the cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid read, with a lot of old characters included, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this, and can be read as a stand alone story, despite being part of a series. Solid conspiracy mystery mission investigating the murder of the Federation president, with Will Riker, Tuvok, and Nog from DS 9 leading the charge. Nothing is what it seems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bought for husband's kindle, 31 Mar 2014
By 
J. Robertson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
haven't actually read this but he seems to enjoy it, having always been a fan of the star trek programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intrigue!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the fourth book in the series "Star Trek, The Fall", and as such goes deeper in to the rotting core of a diabolical conspiracy far worse than the one led by Admiral Cartright, during the times of Kirk! This time it falls to William T Riker to snatch up the gauntlet to save the Federation we all know and love! If you've got this far in the series, I don't need to urge you to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is how they should all be done..., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book four in the series and it just keeps getting better. This story is a mix of political thriller and good Trek sci-fi, featuring Klingons, Cardassians, Bajorans and Andorians in major roles and a host of other races in lesser roles, all relevant to the overall story. The central character this time is Will Riker, who is recalled back from his adventures in the Beta Quadrant and within seconds of arrival at Starfleet Headquarters receives a major surprise and a new posting behind a desk. A few paragraphs are spent dealing with his reaction to the changes, as he struggles to make sense of what’s going on. Other characters are not neglected however with Tuvok and Nog being recruited into a covert action squad, charged with hunting down Nan Bacco’s killer, and Commander Vale given instructions to locate and contact both Captain Dax and Dr Bashir. Even Captain Picard features near the end.
We see more of the new president elect and even get a small hint of his back story, which only serves to increase our sense of unease that things are not quite right and need investigating before the impending Presidential elections take place, which would only consolidate his power base and make life even more difficult for those in Starfleet that suspect wrongdoing. Riker and the president clash at one point, but without evidence Riker has to back down and “toe the line”.
As the story progresses, doubts start to crop up as to who is to be trusted, who may be working covertly for the other side and even whether it’s safe to hold private conversations. Covert surveillance seems a real possibility. All the major characters start to question the circumstances they find themselves in, but a few potential “allies” emerge. Unfortunately circumstances go against those seeking the truth- Bacco’s killers are discovered but are killed themselves. Just when some credible evidence comes to light, the aide to the president elect ‘falls on his sword’ and accepts blame for the wrongdoing, thus protecting his boss. Riker feels thwarted at every turn, but is determined to dig deeper and find the proof he needs.
In a positive move, Andor seeks re-admission to the Federation and one of its leaders decides to run for Federation President as well. This does however mean that Dr Bashir, who was given asylum on Andor, will most likely face extradition and charges of High Treason. All in all this adds up to a nicely taut little story, with lots of strands continuing, developing and hopefully culminating in the last book. I can’t wait to see it all come together. More of the same please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recently downloaded Star Trek, 11 Jan 2014
By 
J. M. Hall "J M Hall" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read, one that I will be reading many times along with all of the other Star Trek books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Fall: The Poisoned Chalice
Star Trek: The Fall: The Poisoned Chalice by James Swallow (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Dec 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews