Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent part two
The second book in The Fall, the latest 24th Century Star Trek mini-series, runs for the most part concurrently with the first book, 'Revelation and Dust'. It follows Garak, Cardassian ambassador to the Federation, as he heads back to his home planet for the ceremonial signing of a treaty.

This is a very different story from the previous novel, much more about...
Published 16 months ago by Jim J-R

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggle to read
Although at the end of the book I did enjoy it I found it very very slow going, a lot of jumping around from New character to new character which caused confusion. Now that I have read this book I am still a little confused as it has caused more questions than answered them, alas onto the next one.
Published 13 months ago by Gary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent part two, 27 Sept. 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
The second book in The Fall, the latest 24th Century Star Trek mini-series, runs for the most part concurrently with the first book, 'Revelation and Dust'. It follows Garak, Cardassian ambassador to the Federation, as he heads back to his home planet for the ceremonial signing of a treaty.

This is a very different story from the previous novel, much more about the politics and intrigue on Cardassia, and diplomacy between the various powers, whereas the the first book was much more action oriented. I found it interesting and enjoyable that the style differs so much between the two books, something that I've noticed a lot more recently in Star Trek novels than when I first started reading them in the late 90s - a welcome addition.

McCormack's novel reflects events in the real world masterfully, and has made me think more than anything else I've read for a long time, and yet as well as this she fills the tale with humour and 'easter eggs', many of which I expect I missed.

I found reading this that I wanted to pause between chapters to digest what I'd read, rather than rush ahead, although this plan went out the window as I got to the second half and couldn't stop reading. Her handle on Garak and other Cardassians is as strong as always and I've really enjoyed what she's done with them and their culture in this story.

An excellent novel, and a great continuation of the series - I look forward to the rest keeping this standard up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And with that..., 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cardassia becomes Berlin in the fifties, and the overall plot thickens. Excellent characterisation and voice of familiar characters, and a decently paced political thriller cum police tale. Despite the cover, it's a Garak book, with Picard a supporting player. One of the twists is easy to see, and the occasional author addressing the reader was...bizarre. but then this is Garak and there are books behind used as framing devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all good, 9 July 2014
By 
A. Robson "Andy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Fall: The Crimson Shadow (Mass Market Paperback)
A true wonder of a book. The aurthor has you guessing, laughing, thinking and more throughout the whole book which by the end is a whirl wind adventure and is one of the best books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better, much better..., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Fall: The Crimson Shadow (Mass Market Paperback)
...than the first "Fall" book, "Revelation and Dust". I can just give this indication, which for me represents evidence of a good book: at the end of each chapter, even if you have something else to do at this time in the day, well...you can't resist reading at least the first lines of the next chapter. I found here not only characters that I like in the ST universe (Picard, Worf, Garak,...) but they are just very credible in their journey. Plus the sceanrio holds and the tension and interest, even if sometimes the tempo temporarily slows down a bit, are well maintained until the end. I liked The Crimson Shadow and can't wait readinbg the next "episode", "The Poisoned Chalice".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast fluid read, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Long Cat (South Shields, Tyne And Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Fall: The Crimson Shadow (Mass Market Paperback)
Neatly detailed exploration into Cardassian society with great character depth. I actually finished the book in less than a week despite 15 hour shifts such is the fluidity of McCormack"s writing and the story. Recommended but The Fall must be read in correct sequence as this fows neatly with The Fall 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book in the series"The Fall", and this story arc is shaping up the be a humdinger! If you like intrigue then this book is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's Garak been up to recently? Find out here..., 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Book 2 in The Fall mini-series and, as other reviewers have commented, quite different from what preceded it. In a strange way though that is both its strength and its weakness- if you were expecting merely a continuation of the previous storyline then you'll be disappointed, but take a broader and slightly longer term viewpoint and it could be seen as providing another story strand that runs alongside the events in `Revelation and Dust', and which will presumably add to the eventual climax and resolution in the final book.
Set almost entirely on Cardassia Prime and with Garak as its main character, others have described it as a political thriller, which if you are looking for a two word description is probably about right. Garak is one of those characters from the TV series who was genuinely interesting and it does say a lot for Andy Robinson's portrayal of him that even now, as you read, you can just see him smiling with that hint of menace, or having a polite conversation with a potential adversary while weighing up several ways to inflict serious pain (or worse) and still escape unscathed. That said however his character has moved on, he is a little older and mellower, but still does what he does for patriotic reasons. Only his methods have changed...
There is a little interplay with Dr Bashir and with Captain Picard, and there are a few new or enlarged characters, but essentially this is a one man story. By the end he gets his rewards, even if he didn't really want them! It can be read as a stand-alone story, or see it as widening the narrative of the mini-series as a whole, even if it doesn't move it on much at this stage. That's what I did and, as such, I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Struggle to read, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although at the end of the book I did enjoy it I found it very very slow going, a lot of jumping around from New character to new character which caused confusion. Now that I have read this book I am still a little confused as it has caused more questions than answered them, alas onto the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek... or Spy Thriller, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Garak, this is the book for you.
If you are not a fan of Star Trek's fav tailor, then I suggest you find a review elsewhere as this is a very Garak heavy book.

Some of the character play between he and Picard is excellent however, and you do feel this is a relationship they may one day re-explore.... in some sort of fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Fall: The Crimson Shadow
Star Trek: The Fall: The Crimson Shadow by Una McCormack (Mass Market Paperback - 10 Oct. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews