Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ending to the first part of The 4400's story
This is the fourth paperback in the 4400 series. After the show was cancelled I didn't think I'd ever know what happened after Jordan Collier took Seattle, the four books provide an excellent ending, the last two specifically. The exciting action and humour of the series is retained by the author as well as some amazing visual scenes.
The last few chapters are...
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by S. Phythian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of the series
This is a must if you were a fan of the series and want to see how it concludes. The book is a light read, unsophisticated and easy going.

Whilst the conclusion is satisfying, the last few pages set up a possible sequel series, which would be fine, but annoyed me given that a sequel does not seem to be forthcoming...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by J B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ending to the first part of The 4400's story, 23 Mar 2010
By 
S. Phythian (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the fourth paperback in the 4400 series. After the show was cancelled I didn't think I'd ever know what happened after Jordan Collier took Seattle, the four books provide an excellent ending, the last two specifically. The exciting action and humour of the series is retained by the author as well as some amazing visual scenes.
The last few chapters are particularly exciting and the ending was amazing. Definitely worth a buy for anyone who watched the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While not a literary triumph this was a very satisfying wrapping up of the story started in the tv series that was ended too soon. While the there is room for more books to follow I feel they would not be justified and would diminish the world that was created around the 4400.

I would recommend that any fans of the tv series should read this book and the previous to finally get a sense of closure to this fantastic series that was ended far too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of the series, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must if you were a fan of the series and want to see how it concludes. The book is a light read, unsophisticated and easy going.

Whilst the conclusion is satisfying, the last few pages set up a possible sequel series, which would be fine, but annoyed me given that a sequel does not seem to be forthcoming...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't disappointed too much, 17 Aug 2014
By 
David Clark (Salzburg,Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After finally watching the last series of The 4400,I wanted to complete the circle and read the books that finished off the story.I wasn't disappointed too much,however the cliffhanger at the end left me wanting even more answers.Having said that many other questions of mine were answered.So if you were a bit like me and felt another series may have been needed for the storylines to be concluded then it is a worthwhile read.It is an older book with no more follow ons that I know of so it does leave you with a little more to pnder over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good plot movements are intertwined with poor writing and with an unsatifsying ending which requires further reading of the next installment- I will not bother because the writing was so poor, I dread to think what this writer has done to Star Trek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down watched the series and am dying to find out what happens next. A Must read! Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4400 promises broken, 24 Mar 2014
By 
MISS J. O'BRIEN (MANCHESTER. ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw all the series on tv.I was sorry that they didn't make series 5 I wanted to see what happened next. Was not disappoint it was brilliant. Would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was an interesting read. Picking up from the series of 4400.
Would have liked a bit more of the happenings after the end of the series, a better link between the series and the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 Jan 2014
Brilliant altho series would be better get it back on tv! To give you more of a visual. Loved the series and it would be so much better acted out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good ending to the series, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Val "Grumpy granny" (Castle Douglas, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because I had watched the whole 4400 TV series in a couple of sittings and was really disappointed that the series ended so suddenly, leaving the characters and story arc hanging in midair.
David Mack does an efficient job of continuing the story and providing an ending. Well, a sort of ending - the last few pages, promising a sequel, should have been left out imo. (Unless, of course, he is actually writing a sequel.) He wrote the characters quite well - they didn't differ much from my own perceptions of how they would act and speak. And the plot was pretty good, if implausible in places (for example, would Americans still be going off on holiday trips after the massive national disasters that he's just been writing about?) But its pacy, energetic and written well enough that I can overlook a few details like that.
He isn't the world's greatest writer, which is why I gave it only four stars; he's in the Tom Clancy class, which means lots of fighting, guns, explosions and descriptions of weaponry. But, as I said, he's certainly efficient at it. If you have a need to find out what happened to the 4400 characters when the TV series ended, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 4400
The 4400 by David Mack (Paperback - 1 Sep 2012)
£9.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews