Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful :)
I have just opened a new English school in Florence, Italy. I teach English to all ages from 5 to 55 years old!!! I am always looking for new ways to keep the troops entertained and make learning a new language more fun. I found this book while I was stocking up on games and educational bits and pieces. I love it!!! Shelley is so helpful and full of ideas and will also...
Published on 13 Oct. 2012 by Denise

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars but I didn't find it that useful. Games are rather cliché and aimed at quite ...
Sorry, but I didn't find it that useful. Games are rather cliché and aimed at quite young learners.
Published 4 months ago by Jane B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful :), 13 Oct. 2012
By 
Denise (Florence, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
I have just opened a new English school in Florence, Italy. I teach English to all ages from 5 to 55 years old!!! I am always looking for new ways to keep the troops entertained and make learning a new language more fun. I found this book while I was stocking up on games and educational bits and pieces. I love it!!! Shelley is so helpful and full of ideas and will also send you lesson plans and flashcards ect to help you. I work every day from 2pm - 7.30pm...sometimes 10pm!!!....so any help I can get to plan lessons is a godsend. I highly recommend this book to people wanting to make their lessons more fun! :)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended. Something different., 4 Nov. 2014
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
In short, this book is like gold. Straight to the point, no-nonsense activities and games will enhance your lessons no end with your younger kids. They require very little preparation and many can be done on the spur of the moment, which is a blessing. Having tried and tested many of the games with my kids, I can say that they will inject a spark of life if the lesson is lacking, or simply enhance a class which is already going well. If you're reading this, then you're probably a teacher and you probably already know that you can't have kids sitting round in chairs endlessly doing grammar and vocabulary exercises on paper. This book will add to that mental bank of games and activities that you can integrate into your lesson planning or pull out of the hat when needed. The kids will learn more, become more cooperative and look forward to your lessons - not to mention that it makes your life easier.

Includes a great introduction with practical tips, and a very useful 6 step catergorising of the games from the initial listening stages of language learning right through to writing at the end, which is something I'd never come across in other publications and is a vital element to the effective teaching of preschool and younger primary age kids.

All in all, good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to pu, 18 Jun. 2014
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
Great book to pull off the shelf when you're racking your brains for a game to liven up your class. Games are clearly explained and can be used exactly as described or you can adapt ideas to suit your needs and style of teaching. Many of the games are presented as vocabulary games but the same ideas can easily be adapted as grammar games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English language games for children, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
Excellent book, full of bright ideas how to move your class and make learning fun and easy! Thank you for it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching ideas to fill your classes with motivation and enthusiasm !, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
What a brilliant set of ideas and games !! .. Easy to follow instructions which are laid out so well and make teaching great fun! .. I use many publications by Shelly because she has a real "handle" on teaching and how to make the lessons interesting for all ages .. they have fun.. you have fun.. and they learn at the same time !! What could be better ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for teachers, 3 July 2012
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
This excellent resource is very much appreciated by the teachers and the pupils. And the instructions just make our lives as busy teachers so much easier, while still keeping the lessons interesting and, above all, FUN for the pupils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is an excellent resource that is really well presented and organised, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
this is an excellent resource that is really well presented and organised. Shelley Vernon's resources are a great investment - try her stories and plays for young children if you are teaching under 6's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivates children to learn, 4 Jan. 2015
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
A great way to ensure children enjoy learning. My wife says the children she teaches were really engaged and enthusiastic when she tried out some of these games in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for teaching ESL, 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
Great resources and most games adaptable for all ages. It's the book I refer to for teaching all ages and all levels of ESL students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun (Paperback)
Very good book its been helping me a lot with lessons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ESL Games: 176 English Language Games for Children: Make your teaching easy and fun
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews