Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All healthcare workers must read this book and apply its lessons
Time to Care marks a turning point in thinking about the prevailing culture in healthcare - this wonderful book offers hope to all of us as we are united by our vulnerability and the vast majority of us will be directly affected by the way we and our loves ones are cared for in our time of need.
Robin Youngson shares both his personal and professional journey with a...
Published on 21 Aug. 2012 by Andy Bradley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Don,t know it was for someone else
Published 5 months ago by Christopher M. Wells


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All healthcare workers must read this book and apply its lessons, 21 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
Time to Care marks a turning point in thinking about the prevailing culture in healthcare - this wonderful book offers hope to all of us as we are united by our vulnerability and the vast majority of us will be directly affected by the way we and our loves ones are cared for in our time of need.
Robin Youngson shares both his personal and professional journey with a raw, at times uncomfortable honesty and he writes a kind of human call to arms. English born and medically trained much of the story of a broken health care culture is told through a career in seeking deep change in institutions in New Zealand, but this is a book that cuts across boundaries and it truly international - the reader cannot fail to be touched by the moving stories and inspired by the credible and well researched vision for a consistently compassionate and open hearted medical system.
Drawing on a range of influences and disciplines including positive psychology, mindfulness and appreciative enquiry 'Time to Care' offers a framework for both personal and collective action - Youngson stands for change of the deepest most human kind. Join in the call to arms by reading this book and help to find the 'tipping point' that Youngson believes can be found.
This book shoots to the top of the required reading list for the delegates on the compassion programmes we run here in the UK - I urge you to read the book, integrate its lessons and find joy in every care giving encounter.
Andy Bradley
Frameworks 4 Change
Brighton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Care to Lead, 27 May 2012
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
Dr Youngson's "Time To Care" is refreshingly life affirming and utterly compelling - he tells the truth to power with an engaging blend of narrative and context. Narrative is data and reading this wonderful book reminded me why I became a doctor. Martin Luther King junior, famously once said that "Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter". There has been too much silence about the things that really matter in our profession. "Time to Care" is a lyrical outpouring that begins to correct that silence. It's been a long time in gestation and cleverly subordinates conviction and passion to modesty and forebearance. "Real leaders move the human heart"(Warren Bennis) - Robin Youngson is an exceptional leader and this book is an exceptional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 21 Aug. 2012
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
Really great book!really makes you think about all aspects of patient care and looking after yourself as a professional!i hope it continues to positively effect the way I work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have ever read, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
This wonderful book really offers something new and powerful in terms of bringing reality to the expression of compassion in healthcare practice. Real life examples of the sorts of events that occur and how they could be avoided offer real support to healthcare staff reflecting on their own attributes. This should be a text book for all healthcare undergraduates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book about healthcare in your entire life, this should be it., 31 May 2014
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
Not only should this book be the pre-reading material for all those interested in working in healthcare (be it medical, nursing, or allied health students), it should also be on the bookshelf of every individual currently working in healthcare and associated with healthcare management.

Whether you're a patient or professional, this book will resonate within you and make you want to join the movement for more compassion in healthcare.

Well done, Dr Robin Youngson. A brilliant read from a passionate, inspiring, and truly courageous medical practitioner.

For more information, please visit [...]

To join the movement, please wander along to [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The compassionate care bible, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read several books on compassionate care .... this one is by far the best! It offers very practical advice which can easily be applied to day to day work in healthcare, as well as other areas of your life! A really inspiring, enjoyable read, thanks so much robin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read!, 17 May 2014
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
This is an important and unique work, written for doctors and nurses (although patients may find it valuable as well) by a practicing physician who has launched a world wide movement to re-humanize health care. It is at once transcendent and illuminating and also very practical. It faces the awful truth about stress and burnout in health care without engaging in self-pity and handwringing, pointing instead, to a better way forward. If you work in health care and only read one book this month or year, this should be it. It may save your job, your marriage, and even your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, crucial and timely book on compassionate care which everyone who works in health and social care should read, 15 May 2014
By 
Claire Chambers (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
Time to care is an innovative book on a crucial topic within health and social care today. How do we free up time to care and why is it important for our health and wellbeing, as well as those we aim to care for? What matters most to those in our care and how can we strive to provide this patient and client centred care when our health and social care environments are so stretched and difficult to manage? This excellent book focuses on neuroscience evidence, compassionate leadership and on making a positive choice to love your work. Robin is a highly engaging author and he writes from the heart as well as from an evidence based perspective. His extensive experience as a doctor allows him to have a unique perspective on the importance of compassion, and his genuine interest in his patients as individuals shines through. Please read this book, it will change how you feel about your interactions with others, and how you feel about your job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have read for all caring professionals, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
This book will help nourish you and keep you connected to the really important things we do. It will give you courage, hope and inspiration. If you are just starting out on your career or like me have been working in health & social care for a long time I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, inciteful and inspiring, 14 May 2014
This review is from: TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job (Paperback)
A read that is interesting as it is informative from start to finish. Robin takes ideas and concepts we know in our hearts and shows how science has proved them to be real. Then he inspires you to take these ideas to your everyday life as well as your medical career. If you're on the fence about it, don't be afraid, give it, it'll be the best money you've spent in ages!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job
TIME to CARE: How to love your patients and your job by Dr Robin Youngson (Paperback - 28 April 2012)
£15.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews