Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful tool for once.
It is a pleasure to find sucn a useful and well produced book for once. A good thesaurus that not only provides a reference to a huge list of emotional descriptions, words and phrases, but also delivers some useful advice on using the thesaurus. One of the reviews here state that the book misses some common emotions like lust and shock. A review is only valid if it is...
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by Stephen Hassell

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nor suitable for kindle
I stupidly bought the Kindle editon of this. What was I thinking? It is - as it says on the tin - a thesaurus. That's not just a fancy title. It is a real thesaurus and, as such, you need to be able to use an index and flick back and forth between entries to get the best out of it - impossible to do on a kindle.

While the content seems to be good - and in all...
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by J. R. Bedford


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars ... it hasn't covered every emotion it has been a useful guide. It has also prompted me to watch ..., 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
I have been using this resource in my writing and even if it hasn't covered every emotion it has been a useful guide. It has also prompted me to watch people more closely to view their facial and body expressions. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
This book was very good. It will save a lot of time for writers who can use this book as a reference point. A must buy book for all writers. And a special thanks for the authors of the book for writing it. It's dead usefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fiction writer's tool, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
Brilliant fiction writer's tool. I can't believe I have only just discovered this book. It will really help me to write my own novel. It gives an insight into how people show their emotions in their mannerisms and actions..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tool, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
A useful tool to keep in the writers creative toy box but use with caution. There is nothing in here that's very original but as an aid to 'show don't tell' it's a great reminder and gives you bones to build the body upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and easy to use, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
Tonkalou (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
This book is useful and easy to use. Not only can you look up the emotion you are trying to suggest, but it also links easily (and often amusingly) to other entries in this book. A useful companion to any writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sort of dictionary of body language., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
This is truly helpful to the writer covering a multitude of emotions and the outward manifestations of them. A great trigger and a supurb aid to covering the descriptions and the body language without repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A helpful aid to writing!, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
A helpful aid to writing; especially if you're only beginning and suffer from too much telling rather than showing. Their website is a friendly place with sound advice too. Worth every pound and penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good starting place, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The thesaurus is a good starting place. I find there are some emotions not covered and the range within a single emotion is limited. With this said, it is worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well loved reference book, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
I would say this book is a must for writers, the cross referencing is easy to use and my copy has been used plenty it is one of my regularly used reference books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Verg good, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression (Paperback)
This book is excellent and savves so much time and when you find the expression you might need you might not actually use that one, it gets you thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression
The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide To Character Expression by Angela Ackerman (Paperback - 6 May 2012)
£9.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews