Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars510
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2015
Brilliant writings and a recent purchase on Kindle for me, but I still have my original paperback from 1985, dog eared from my school blazer pockets as I recall.
Just a great and witty novel that was the first in a large collection of books by this author and the entire Discworld series that I have.
5 stars all the way for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2011
Having recently read my first Terry Pratchett novel, I Shall Wear Midnight, I decided to read this one with a view to starting at the beginning of Disc World. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I will now go on to read the rest of the series. I found it to be light hearted, funny and just the thing to read before bed. I also found the format ideal for the Kindle Reader that I bought recently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Terry's death did not really hit me properly until the following though entered my head: "No more Rincewind. I won't get to read anything else about Rincewind". I can't tell you how immeasurably sad that made me feel. How utterly sad, and equally angry that we don't live in a world where Death can be cheated and bargained with, as long as you have 4cc of mouse blood and a fast mouth.

It is no understatement to say that we have lost one of the world's greatest ever humorous novelists. I can only hope that there is some kind of afterlife - however unlikely that may sometimes seem - and that Terry has by now met up with Douglas Adams in some ethereal bar, and they are happily discussing the absurdity of human nature together over a Pan Galactic Gargleblaster and some Klatchian coffee.

And here, at the end of things, let's talk briefly about the start of things - the first book in the Discworld series. A book I first bought in 1985 from WH Smith with several week's worth of pocket money. Okay, The Colour Of Magic has its flaws, and it doesn't necessarily sparkle with its use of language the same way that Terry's later books would do, but it makes up for having a few rough edges by being so crammed full of heart and soul that it's enough to make you weep. Everything that Terry would go on to refine and sharpen in the following 39 Discworld books is in evidence here, in an embryonic stage. Rincewind is, and always will be, one of the greatest fantasy characters ever created, precisely because he is one of the worst fantasy characters ever created. If you gave him a magic ring and told him to toss it in a volcano, he'd give you a look in no uncertain terms, and be headed for the horizon before you could say 'Mithrandir'. I love him without reservation. His wit, his sarcasm, his absolute and concrete belief that people are mostly idiots, and best avoided if at all possible. The fact I'll never follow any more of his adventures actually gives me a small feeling of physical pain.

The Colour Of Magic is an important book, because it is a beginning. The beginning of something marvellous, that is disc shaped, rides on the back of a turtle, is saturated with octarine, and (most importantly) holds a mirror up to a world far more ridiculous than itself. The longest journey may begin with the first footstep, but the best journey begins with a fire in Ankh Morpork.

May the universe bless you Terry. You certainly blessed this author with laughter and wonder every time he cracked open one of your books.

Ook,

Nick Spalding.
66 comments|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
After deciding to read the sites from the beginning this is such a fantastic start. At no point is it boring, and you feel for all the characters, even starting to get to know death, can't wait to start the light fantastic
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I read this book when it was first published, and decided after all these years to re-read it on my Kindle. I have to say that it still made me giggle and I now intend to read through the rest of the Discworld series again. I don't think you could ever tire of Pratchettes humour, and I particularly like the way he takes a subject from our modern day lives and introduces it into the Discworld.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Approached this Discworld novel with a sense of trepidation - not really my usual stuff and didn't want to get embroiled in a series that must have about a million volumes. However, very glad I did. A terrific story....now on to No.2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Very interesting and readable but obviously his first Discworld novel. (Have read Snuff)
Have downloaded the next two and will read these, if they are the same or better they will be a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Again I was not disappointed with the writings of Terry Pratchett, I had seen the television adaptation first and was not sure about the book as they sometimes go too far from the written word. This time it filled in all the missing parts that the adaptation could not. Great keep it up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
The late & great Sir Terry Pratchetts first discworld novel. The beginning of a long and fantastic journey to another world. One that is full or magic and mirth where I have spent many happy hours over the last two decades! My husband has banned me from reading anything by Pratchett in bed at night because my chuckling ALWAYS keeps him awake! Thank you Sir Terry for giving us a whole, big, round, flat, wide world!
If my house were to burn down I would rescue my son, my dogs, my autographed copy of "The colour of magic" and then my hubby (in that order) !!!
The Nation has lost a priceless treasure, Rest in Peace xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
Terry Pratchett has a wit and charm like no other and this is so obvious through his books. I had read several other novels of his before starting at the first one and can gladly say that not reading them in order does not lower the joy of reading them.

This novel had me roaring with laughter, biting my nails in fear and growing teary eyed! It is a brilliant welcome to the Discworld novels and has you hooked from the first page. Characters such as Rincewind and Twoflower are memorable and interesting! I greatly recommend this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse