Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master of creature-based whimsy at the height of his powers
This is undoubtedly the best videogame tie-in novel I have ever read, after the one Peter Watts did for Crysis. It's a very close second.

Defoe uses the Elite license as a (heavily lampshaded) excuse for an excellent comic novel. If you were a fan of the Pirates! Books, you should definitely buy it, but more people than that should buy it, too.

If...
Published 4 months ago by Ben Henley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and I just don't really find this writer very funny, though there are some jokes (the procedural generation ...
A bit disappointing. Humour is a very personal thing, I guess, and I just don't really find this writer very funny, though there are some jokes (the procedural generation one, for example) that made me laugh. This is a tie-in to the Elite: Dangerous game, but, to be frank, there is nothing in it that reminds you of the game. It could just as well have been written for...
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master of creature-based whimsy at the height of his powers, 17 May 2014
By 
Ben Henley (London, Greater London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is undoubtedly the best videogame tie-in novel I have ever read, after the one Peter Watts did for Crysis. It's a very close second.

Defoe uses the Elite license as a (heavily lampshaded) excuse for an excellent comic novel. If you were a fan of the Pirates! Books, you should definitely buy it, but more people than that should buy it, too.

If you are planning on buying the new Elite game, you MUST own this book, since their new copy protection system involves entering the third word from paragraph four of page 80.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Pirates! In an adventure with a Cobra Mk III, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is partly a savage satire on the publishing industry, but mostly a tale of the doomed romance between a pig farmer and a customs officer with an artificial leg, which happens to take the form of a tie-in novel for Elite. Thirty years after Robert Holdstock wrote the original Elite tie-in book, the genius author of the "Pirates!" books and movie, Gideon Defoe, has evidently concluded that if Elite tie-ins are good enough for the guy who wrote Mythago Wood, they're good enough for him.

It's got the same general comedy tone as the Pirates books, but (oddly enough) with a carefully wrought underlying detective plot and a darker edge to the humour. Imagine something as embittered as Douglas Adams' later books, but as funny as Douglas Adams' earlier books.

My only complaints are that it's pretty short (I gobbled it down in an evening) and it's not *quite* as hilarious as the Pirates! books- but that's an extremely high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 3 Jun 2014
By 
T J R Walton (Enfield, Middlesex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great game tie in, Douglas Adams like novel. Would have liked it to continue as enjoyable.
Can't wait for the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and I just don't really find this writer very funny, though there are some jokes (the procedural generation ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit disappointing. Humour is a very personal thing, I guess, and I just don't really find this writer very funny, though there are some jokes (the procedural generation one, for example) that made me laugh. This is a tie-in to the Elite: Dangerous game, but, to be frank, there is nothing in it that reminds you of the game. It could just as well have been written for another universe altogether - most of the Elite references are just fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Good and Funny Read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was easy to get into but difficult to put down, the content is light and fun to read and on more than one occasion genuinely laugh out loud funny, I found the books characters instantly engaging and easy to care about.
This book is kid friendly for those that care.

SPOLIER: ʞooq sᴉɥʇ pǝpuǝ sɹǝʇɔɐɹɐɥɔ uᴉɐɯ ǝɥʇ ɟo oʍʇ ʍoɥ ǝɥʇ ʎq pǝʇuᴉoddɐsᴉp ʎlʇɥƃᴉls sɐʍ I ʇɐɥʇ sɐʍ ɯsᴉɔᴉʇᴉɹɔ ʎluo ʎW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When pigs can fly, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I was friends with Antony Robbins, Paul McKenna, whoever wrote ‘The Secret’ and the Head of any major UK publisher, this is the book they would all receive for Christmas. Because ‘Elite: Docking is Difficult' is more than just a homage to the 80’s computer game. It’s got mystery, murder, suspense, romance, intrigue, a space Hen and a talking horse, all wrapped up in one hilarious scathing satire. Indeed, Mr Defoe’s penchant for comedy is up there with the finest and I have three words for him: keep ‘em coming.

Happy I broke my duck on reading e-books with this one. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced comedy in space, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this very, very funny book. So much so that I read it through in one sitting.
Time to look up some of Mr Defoe's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars combustible swine amusement., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The light hearted romp through the Elite Universe involving bad art, bad pilots, interns and exploding pigs. Caused a wry smile along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Humorous and insightful satire. Bonus enjoyment for being set in the universe of the game "Elite". Pretty fast paced too, could be read in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read - can't wait to play the game. Would have loved it to be longer, went too quick. Great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elite Dangerous: Docking is Difficult
Elite Dangerous: Docking is Difficult by Gideon Defoe (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2014)
6.99
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews