Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures review.
Moving Pictures is an extremely hilarious book.In Moving Pictures the alchemists guild have invented films and now the oddest civil war film ever made is being shot in Holy Wood.However all is not well and Victor and Ginger,the stars of the film,have to save the Disc from the dungeon dimensions with a bit of help from Gaspode the wonder dog.If you like reading sci-fi and...
Published on 19 Feb. 2006

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the book but TR doesn't nail this one
As I'm sure most people would agree story tapes are perfect to fall asleep to, you can enjoy a book without having a light on and they're soothing as hell. But Tony Robinson talks in such a range of volumes that its pretty impossible to fall asleep, if i put it at a reasonable volume, half the time he talks in the quietest whisper and the other half in a REALLY loud...
Published 22 months ago by D WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures review., 19 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
Moving Pictures is an extremely hilarious book.In Moving Pictures the alchemists guild have invented films and now the oddest civil war film ever made is being shot in Holy Wood.However all is not well and Victor and Ginger,the stars of the film,have to save the Disc from the dungeon dimensions with a bit of help from Gaspode the wonder dog.If you like reading sci-fi and fantasy or if you simply enjoy watching films then read Moving Pictures.If you enjoy this book then try the rest of Terry Prattchett's Discworld series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Are Such Stuff As Dreams Are Made Of,, 8 Feb. 2005
By 
Leonard Fleisig "Len" (Virginia Beach, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
. . . and our little life is rounded with a sleep." This snippet of Prospero's from Shakespeare's The Tempest, was beautifully ad libbed by Humphrey Bogart during the filming of The Maltese Falcon. It pretty much sums up the experience I took out of reading Terry Pratchett's Moving Pictures. Life in Holy Wood, like life on Prospero's island is one where magical events occur encouraged by a host of spirits. Since these magical events unfold in that piece of the universe known as Discworld, they unfold with wit, humor, and more than a bit of thought.
As the title suggests, Moving Pictures is Pratchett's take on Hollywood. In a manner similar to his approach to Men at Arms, The Truth, and Going Postal, Pratchett takes the development of the motion picture industry and through the literary equivalent of time-lapse photography compresses it so that the reader experiences in a brief time span that which occurred over decades on our slower-moving planet. The result is hilariously funny and made me shake my head and murmur, how did we let this nonsense happen.
CAST OF CHARACTERS: As a click trailer might say: Introducing Victor and Ginger (think Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers) as the leading man and lady of this epic. Also new to Discworld is Thomas Silverfish (think Samuel Goldwyn of MGM fame), the first big producer on Discworld. As in Casablanca, Pratchett has also rounded up the usual suspects. Cut Me Own Throat Dibbler (can't think of a character on earth that remotely resembles Dibbler!) and Gaspode (think Oscar Levant as played by a stray dog) are featured prominently and hilariously. This is a big step up for these two contract players in the Discworld series! Rounding out the featured players is that zany group of performers known as the wizards, led by their fearless librarian (think the Keystone Kops meets Planet of the Apes). And, as they say, a cast of thousands, including assorted trolls, an overly obsequious dog known as Laddie (think Lassie) and other delightful diverse denizens of Discworld.
THE PLOT: The plot is simple. It is about the power of dreams in a world, as Dibbler might say, "gone mad". Dreams, particularly the dreams of Ginger, play a critical role in the book. A group of alchemists have invented movies or clicks as they come to be known on Discworld. Fearing that such magic might anger the wizards of Unseen University the alchemists move out of Ankh-Morpork to a strange and wondrous place called Holy Wood. In what seems like only days, clicks become the next big thing. People from around Discworld come to Holy Wood for no apparent reason other than a strange compulsion. Perhaps mysterious forces are at work? The excitement level gradually builds, the outlines of an evil, dark plot by the spirit world reveals itself as in a dream, until all heck breaks loose. Victor strives valiantly to save the universe with the wizards following close behind in a manner reminiscent of the Keystone Kops. The climactic fight scene is both dramatic and hilariously funny. Of course, the fun in any Pratchett novel is not the ending but the journey. Hollywood references abound. It is always fun trying to spot some, even those which Pratchett may never have intended. Dibbler's hilarious product placements and his `invention' of subliminal advertising were worth the price of admission.
Some have suggested that Moving Pictures is not as `good' as his other Discworld books. There is an inference, perhaps, that it does not address profound issues relating to life, the universe and everything as was the case in Mort, Small Gods, or Thief of Time. For me, however, the profusion of cultural gods (from Valentino to Pacino) created by Hollywood and its enormous impact on popular culture throughout the world seems just as worthy of the typical Pratchett treatment as small gods in the form of a turtle. I also have to add that it was a pleasure seeing both Gaspode and Dibbler in more prominent roles.
All in all, as I finished Discworld I kept coming back to Bogart looking wistfully at the worthless Maltese Falcon that so many people had died in pursuit of their dreams. Perhaps for his next click, Dibbler can have Victor close by reminding the audience that, like Prospero:
Our revels now are ended: these our actors
As I foretold you, were all spirits, and
Are melted into air, into thin air:
And, like the baseless fabric of this vision
The cloud-capp'd towers, the gorgeous palaces,
The solemn temples, the great globe itself,
Yes, and all which it inherit, shall dissolve,
And, like this insubstantial pageant faded,
Leave not a wrack behind: We are such stuff
As dreams are made of, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.
Th-th-th-that's all folks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!, 5 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
Terry Pratchett with his own brand of humour never ceases to make me laugh when reading his books, and Moving Pictures, a masterpiece in it's own right. He always rights books with things in that we can relate to, i.e. Holy wood - Hollywood, moving pictures, films and videos. New characters are always a welcome addition, as well as old ones, like CMOT Dibbler. One of the best authors this decade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chock-full of movie jokes, 14 Jan. 2003
By 
Mr Gary E Whorwood (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
With Moving Pictures, Terry Pratchett turns his unique powers of satire and parody to poke fun at the power and history of the movie industry. This book is so full of brilliant in-jokes and sly nods that I'm sure I didn't notice half of them. But as usual, the story is sufficiently gripping and thought provoking that it can be enjoyed even if you don't get all the jokes. Of Pratchett's regular characters, the real star this time is Dibbler, who turns all of his sausage-vending mercenary powers into those of a profit-hungry movie producer with hilarious results. A pre-Watch Detritus the Troll and various Wizards also play cameos. Well worth a read for fans of Pratchett and/or the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Entertainment!, 29 Jan. 2006
IF you dont like this book, then theres something wrong with you. This novel is one of my favourite Pratchett's so far. how does he dream this up? The man's a genius. Couldnt put it down. Classic Pratchett at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of Holywood..., 25 Feb. 2010
By 
Sparky (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
There are those who live for movies, and there are those who loathe them. Whatever your opinion, you'll find support and laughs in this book. Not Terry's greatest, but still a good, engrossing read. A little less laugh-out-loud than some of his other books, you are introduced to Gaspode the Wonder Dog, an unsung hero and unfaithful (and somewhat smelly) companion to the Watch in later stories, and for me, it was worth it just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smile Please and Again and Again and Again . . ., 1 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Terry Pratchett has become one of the most popular authors alive today and his popularity is richly deserved. But not even with his fertile mind could ever have envisaged the heights to which his Discworld series would rise. This book was first published in 1990 and is number ten in the Discworld novels.

You would think that a fantasy world full of trolls, zombies, witches, vampires would be an alien concept to most readers. Werewolves and dwarves in the Ank Morpork city watch. Wizards running a university. All this born in the mind of one of the funniest minds writing today. Surely this style of writing would have a limited readership? But no the books are loved by anybody and everybody and are read by people who would not normally allow fantasy fiction anywhere near their book shelves. This is the Discworld of Terry Pratchett.

It's the turn of the alchemists to make you chortle through the pages of yet another winner from Terry Pratchett. Is it Hollywood, no, is it Bollywood, no, but it's the next best thing. Moving pictures are about to hit the silver screen on the Discworld. What this means in real terms is that the imps that used to paint really fast in the still cameras, now have to paint really really really fast. All of a sudden there is a whole new life form on the Discworld. Not vampires, werewolves, or even trolls, it is the birth of the filmstar and oh what a messy birth it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Yellow Sick Toad., 31 Mar. 2011
"Moving Pictures" is the tenth book in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld Series and was first published in 1990. It gives a starring role to Victor Tugelbend, Theda "Ginger" Withel appears as his leading lady and marks Gaspode the Wonder Dog's first appearance. (It also gives supporting roles to Dibbler and the Unseen University's wizards).Unsurprisingly, the book pokes fun at the movie industry.

The book opens about thirty miles down the coast from Ankh-Morpork, in a battered, dusty shack on the shore. Deccan Ribobe has just died...and, since he never managed to find an apprentice, has just become Holy Wood's Last Keeper of the Door. With no-one to chant the chants and to keep the fires lit, its magic will find a way out...and before long, a wild idea makes it thirty miles up the coast. It starts with the Alchemists - who, having being inspired to invent octo-cellulose, start making movies - before it switches to Dibbler's fertile mind. Everyone agrees the city's light is all wrong for moving pictures. Strangely, the know just the right place for filming, though they can't quite remember where they heard of it...

Victor Tugelbend, meanwhile, is a very skilled student at the Unseen University and a friend of Ponder Stibbons. Thanks to the terms of an uncle's will, he's realised he'll always be very well off...just so long as he never actually graduates. (Naturally, he can't fail his exams too badly either - so, every year he carefully scores an 84). This year, however, he misses his exams altogether...with the call of Holy Wood proving too strong, he blows town and heads along the coast. It isn't long before he's a massive star, forming a successful double act with Ginger Withel. However, the pair soon realise that the popularity of their movies has a very dangerous side-effect...

Unsurprisingly, given that Pratchett wrote it, "Moving Pictures" is a very funny book There are nods in the direction of any number of actors, actresses and movie classics - including the Blues Brother, Indiana Jones, the Wizard of Oz , Marilyn Monroe, Lassie, Singing in the Rain, King Kong, the War of the Worlds, Tarzan and the Fred Astaire - Ginger Rogers double act. Very enjoyable, definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Wood dreams, 2 May 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
`Moving Pictures' sees the magic of the silver screen come to the Discworld when the alchemists discover a way of making light into gold. The book follows student wizard Victor Tugelbend as he becomes one of the Discs first megastars but Holy Wood conceals a dark secret that has already clamed one civilization and only Victor and his leading lady Ginger can stop the same thing happening again.

`Moving Pictures' is an odd book as while I can see that it is very good, I personally don't like it all that much. The book is still as funny as you would expect from a Discworld book and has some suitably cinematic moments but it just seems to be lacking something. The book does include some very good movie shout outs and puns which are fun to look for and the story is as well written as you would expect from Terry Pratchett.

The story does seem to be most notable for the characters it introduces as this book introduces such characters as Archchancellor Ridcully, Ponder Stibbons, Gaspode and the Unseen University faculty, all of whom will make major appearances in later books. The book also develops the characters of Detritus the troll and C.M.O.T. Dibbler who were first seen in minor roles in `Guards! Guards!'

Overall I would have to give Moving Pictures a low four stars as while I do not personally like it, I can still say that it is a reasonably good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously funny!, 13 Sept. 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the tenth book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld--a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle, anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. When the last Keeper of the Door dies, there is no one left to remember, and the idea must be remembered. So, the idea seeks to break back into the Discworld, the idea of Holy Wood.
First the alchemists of Anhk-Morpork discover a way to make moving pictures, and then "Cut-me-own Throat" Dibbler discovers the idea of being a movie mogul, then Victor Tugelbend and Ginger Withal discover the idea of being a star. And so, the dream of Holy Wood begins to awaken...but, could that dream be a nightmare beyond anyone's understanding?
As always, Terry Pratchett is the master of telling a story that is both gripping and hilariously funny. Indeed, while reading this book I woke my charming wife up several times, laughing out loud! The author succeeds in keeping multiple storylines on track and easy to understand, and the book zooms along to its finale, and boy is it a funny one. I loved this book, and highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moving Pictures: Discworld: The Unseen University Collection (Discworld Hardback Library)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews