Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COWER BRIEF MORTALS. HO HO HO.
"Hogfather" is the twentieth book in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld series and was first published in 1996. He has gone on to win the Carnegie Medal for "The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents" and was awarded the OBE in 1998.

"Hogfather" is sometimes known as the third book in "The Death Trilogy". Like the trilogy's first two instalments...
Published on 23 Sept. 2006 by Craobh Rua

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
Rubbish. Much talked of but lacks character build and plot. The text has some clever quotables in it but is mostly a silly extension of silly names. It might amuse children for a while but not any body looking for a satisfying storey arc,
Published 1 month ago by L. Stribling


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COWER BRIEF MORTALS. HO HO HO., 23 Sept. 2006
"Hogfather" is the twentieth book in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld series and was first published in 1996. He has gone on to win the Carnegie Medal for "The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents" and was awarded the OBE in 1998.

"Hogfather" is sometimes known as the third book in "The Death Trilogy". Like the trilogy's first two instalments ("Mort" and "Reaper Man") it gives Death - tall guy, somewhat underfed, carries a scythe, big grin - more than just a brief cameo. Like "Reaper Man", it's the Auditors who are causing problems. The Auditors are in charge of the universe : they see that atoms spin, that gravity works and that things move in curves. However, they hate life - especially humans (too many irregularities). In "Reaper Man", they wanted to force Death into retirement. This time, they want the Hogfather - Discworld's version of Father Christmas - `removed' from office (or grotto, perhaps). To this end, they've hired the disturbed (and disturbing) Mister Teatime from the Guild of Assassins to make sure he stays `removed'. Luckily, Death has discovered what's going on : with Hogswatch Night looming, the Grim Reaper dons a false beard, strategically places a cushion and takes control of the sleigh.

Death shares the spotlight, though : his new duties cause some problems for his grand-daughter, Susan Sto-Helit. Susan is working as a governess in Ankh-Morpork and, as part of her job, she regularly beats up the bogeyman with her trusty poker. In her free time, she occasionally drops into Biers for a drink ("Sometimes you want to go...where nobody knows your name"). It's in the pub that She's warned about her grandfather's strange behaviour by the Death of Rats and his eyeball-obsessed sidekick, Quoth the Raven. Initially, she isn't at all pleased to see the pair, but she has no choice but to get involved. The last time Death neglected his Duty, Susan was expected to take over...

Despite his profession, Death is one of the funniest characters the Discworld has to offer, and Hogfather sees Pratchett on top form. Quoth and Death of Rats are a welcome addition - they're a great double act. It may be a slight advantage to have read at least one from "Mort", "Reaper Man" or "Soul Music" before this (all are very funny) - however, even if you haven't you'll still find "Hogfather" hilarious. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death's limited understanding of life is a hilarious read, 3 Jan. 2003
By 
Graham Willis (Braintree, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
One of the longest Discworld novels Terry has written makes for an incredibly hilarious read, thanks to the inclusion of some brilliant new characters and multiple stories that are read almost simultaneously: The wizards and their discovery of some strange beings that inexplicably come into being ('Sock Eaters', 'The oh God of Hangovers', and possibly the funniest being the 'Verucca Gnome'), Susan and her quest to solve the whole mystery and Death and Albert. The book really makes you think philosophically which is more interesting than it sounds! I don't want to give too much of the fantastic plot away (because I can't be bothered), but it is classic Pratchett.
CLICK 'BUY' NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Hi! I'm the inner baby sitter!', 8 Feb. 2007
This was definitely one of my favourite Discworld books. I first started to read it at someone else's house - then I was heartbroken when I had to go and hadn't quite finished it.
Why? Firstly because I love any Discworld volume in which Death features as a central character, but also because it features my favourite character, his granddaughter Susan Sto-Helit.
So what happens in it? Well someone, or something, wants to kill the Hogfather (fat bearded man, wears red, says ho ho ho a lot, etc.) For this purpose, the assassin Teatime is employed.
Teatime is a character who appears quite amicable at first - right up until the point where he pulls out a knife and kills you stone dead. And he's also a mastermind - so his plan involves taking control over children to stop them believing in the Hogfather, accompanied by his gang of thugs.
With this plan underway, who is going to stand in for the Hogfather?
Guess.
HO. HO. HO.
Susan is currently working as a governess, a job which largely involves beating up the under-bed monsters with her trusty poker. Apart from these minor irregularities, she is leading a relatively 'normal' life, until suddenly, to put it in her words, 'the old circus comes to town', and now Susan's got to don a black robe, leave her job and go out to determine exactly what is going on . . .
One of my favourite parts of this book was possibly the idea of personified forces coming into existence as creatures, such as the Hair Loss Fairy, the Eater Of Socks and, of course, the Oh God Of Hangovers ('Well, if there's a god of wine . . .')who accompanies Susan on her quest. I like the Unseen university scenes - which are usually responsible for providing the comedy. I also liked the demonstration of Susan's fearlessness when pitted against a being that can personify itself as your worst nightmare - 'Good grief, you're scraping the bottom of the barrel, aren't you?' and the subtle appropriateness of the villain who's 'in touch with his inner child' confronted by a governess, and the irony of who becomes the Tooth Fairy's replacement. I particularly liked the end (but I don't mean to give the wrong idea, I mean that I liked the whole book but particularly liked the end). And, as usual, the plot gives the implication that Death is Not So Bad After All, and would rather prefer being the Hogfather (with his manservant Albert by way of being the Hogfather's Little Helper, naturally).
Oh yes, and there's a film adaption, which I watched when it was first on. Good, I liked it, all things taken into consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of Terry, 13 Dec. 2004
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The release of this book evoked some distress among Terry Pratchett fans. Expecting another City Watch or Rincewind book, this one took most by surprise. Initial reactions were muted praise at best. Over time, more readers came to understand that this book introduced a new aspect of PTerry's thinking and writing. After a string of hilarious fantasies featuring Rincewind or the Wyrd Sisters, he presented here an unexpected dark side.

The story itself is almost simplistic, although classic Pratchett. The Auditors, who elsewhere attempted to give Death the sack, have decided that Hogswatch Night is a source of cosmic disorder. Contracting with the Assassin's Guild to have the Hogfather "brought to an end", they unleash a disturbing series of events. And cause Pratchett to introduce the first truly evil character in the Discworld series.

No-one likes the Patrician. But his job isn't designed for popularity contests. Ipslore cheats death to have revenge on his fellow wizards, but overzealous parents are no novelty. Mister Teatime [pronounced "Teh-ah-tim-eh"], however, is a real departure from Pratchett villains. He is consummately evil, cleverly choosing the most vulnerable segment of society in his attempt to control all the Discworld. This is the first truly repulsive character Pratchett's created. Reading Hogfather makes you wonder: is there a real-life model for this character, or has PTerry created him wholly? If the first, we must find and destroy him/her. If the latter, there's a terribly dark place in Pratchett's psyche and we have to wonder what else is in there.

The irony of Death substituting for the missing Hogfather is pure Pterry. Death's ongoing struggle to understand humans is vividly presented in this novel. He replaces a department store Hogfather in one of the most hilarious scenes in Discworld literature. Pratchett also responds to the rising tide of feminists by raising Susan Sto-Helit from near obscurity. She is destined to become a leading figure in the Discworld series. Her raven associate is almost as cynical as Gaspode the Communicating Canine. Pratchett uses these characters to demolish the more fervently held myths we hold dear. With a finesse other writers must envy, Pratchett uses the Discworld to mirror our own - the motto he's given us often. From a hesitant acceptance of this book as "another Discworld novel", Hogfather has become one of the leading examples of Pratchett's expressive talent. It's worthy of a second read. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld, We Expect the Finest!, 25 July 2002
By 
M Farrar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terry Pratchett, the genius of writing, has done it again. If you've read Discworld before then you will know exactly what I mean. If you haven't, then why not?
This is one of the best Discworld books, in my humble (Mr. Windling phrase in 'The Truth') opinion, along with most of the Watch books. Nobody can dislike Death, and his well-meaning attempts to make the world a better place. Not much Gaspode (a dog who talks) but never mind. Although Susan is not the best character, a little cardboard, at least the Grim Squeaker and the Raven are back again from another brilliant story, Soul Music.
One of the best things about this story is that, although it is suitable for children and adults, Terry Pratchett makes a big point of helping us to understand that many children are not as stupid as adults credit them for. I, being thirteen, fully agree with this.
Read this book. If you haven't got it, order it now. Christmas will never be the same again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'nk you Mr Pratchett, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
HO HO HO! This is definitely my favourite book in the series! It's the one that had me laughing out loud on the train and getting funny looks off people sat near me! Basically, the creepy Auditor guys have found someone who can get rid of the Hogfather. Enter one Mr Teatime (pronounced 'Teh-uh Tim-uh' or something like that), an assassin who sees thing diferently (ie, he's a raving lunatic). I won't give away the plot, but it brings back my favourite characters Death, Susan, the Death of Rats and the Raven, as well as the Faculty of Unseen University and several new characters. This is the best so far, bringing together all the best points of the festive season and other anthropomorphic personifications (tooth fairy, bogeyman, etc) Watch out for the bit with the poker at the end, and Death's very literal take on the Hogfather in the Maul! It will also have you wondering why indeed nobody has ever asked THAT question (I'm not telling you what the question is, you will have to read the book to find out!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A particularly festive yet dark Discworld novel....., 17 Nov. 2010
I must say that this is a particular favourite of mine, and as with previous books in the Death series, it keeps getting better the more I read it. It is centred around the assasination of the Hogfather (Discworld's version of Father Christmas), and the odd assasin, Mr Teatime, who has the plan to carry it out. In order to prevent a disaster, Death and Albert step in and take over the role in order for belief in the Hogfather to remain.

Its a wonderfully festive book, and I love how the elements of Christmas are captured, yet it is somewhat darker than the other books in this series, and provokes some interesting inside into the beliefs which humans have. Absolutely marvellous, and I particularly love the conversations between Death and Albert about traditions at Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Discworld book 20, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have been a fan of Terry Pratchett's Discworld series for over 15 years now but I have to admit I've fallen a little behind with the more recent books. I've actually been promising myself for a few years now that I'll reread the series again from the beginning and catch up but for some unknown reason I never quite seem to get around to it. I decided it's time to bite the bullet but rather than read the books in order I used Christmas as an excuse to read Hogfather. This book is a perfect festive read, Death has always been one of my favourite characters in the series and seeing him dress up as the Hogfather (the Discworld equivalent of Father Christmas) is absolutely hilarious.

The Auditors are causing trouble again, they may be in charge of keeping the universe running smoothly but they think it would be much better if there were no humans around messing things up. This time they've decided to target the Hogfather and they've hired the assassin Mister Teatime (make sure you pronounce that correctly unless you want to upset him - it's Teh-ah-tim-eh NOT Tea-time!) to take him out of the equation. How exactly do you go about killing someone who can't die though? Teatime has a plan and Death is the only person who has noticed what is going on and is trying to put a stop to it. He's going to need help though and the best person for the job is obviously his granddaughter Susan who is used to dealing with all kinds of monsters using her trusty poker.

Hogfather is a hilarious read, obviously Death is the star of the show (he always is to me!) but we also get to visit with the wizards at the Unseen University, catch up with Susan, and spend time with the Death of Rats. With the Hogfather out of the equation (although Death is doing his best to fill in for him) the excess belief is causing all sorts of new creatures to pop up including the Verruca Gnome and the Oh God of Hangovers which makes for a lot of amusing moments. Death has always struggled to understand humans but this leads to some fantastic moments of insight. As with all of Terry Pratchett's stories we get an insightful look into the human psyche and you have to laugh at our way of thinking sometimes. Terry Pratchett obviously sees the world through a very interesting lens and I'd love to be able to take a trip inside his mind. This reread has left me more determined than ever to complete my Discworld catch up, so hopefully 2015 will be the year I finally make some serious headway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another simply brilliant installment within the epic `Discworld' series, which has captured the hearts of innumerable readers, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Hogfather (Mass Market Paperback)
Hogfather (now a major television drama series), is Discworld no. 20 and a continuation of this mind-blowing otherworldly creation that Pratchett is famous for. This brilliant novel is a festive feast of darkness and death (but with jolly robins and tinsel too!), complete with the energy of `the Hitch-hiker's guide to the galaxy' and the inventiveness of `Alice in Wonderland'. Full of intelligent wit and a truly original grim and comic grasp of the nature of things, Pratchett's work continues to not disappoint.

Synopsis ~

Where is the jolly fat man? Why is death creeping down chimneys and trying to say ho, ho, ho? The darkest night of the year is getting a lot darker...Susan the gothic governess has got to sort it out by morning; otherwise there won't be a morning, ever again...

Intensely dramatic and nail-bitingly gripping this exciting story was one that caused the hairs on the back of my arms to stand-up. The dynamic build-up to a climatic crescendo was written so perfectly that it causes you to instinctively shuffle to the edge of your seat and unconsciously turn the pages quicker. Terry Pratchett's satirical outlook and dry humor is unequalled with any other writer, and it is this uniquely identifiable style that makes his work reach out to such a diverse readership. Colorful and clever, this is a tale with a suspenseful sinister backdrop and darkly delicious detail which makes the unfolding events seem so `real'.

Utterly compelling and convincing this highly readable story is another triumphant success by truly accomplished author, whose creative imagination and vision is second to none.

I would highly recommend this as an astonishingly fabulous read, together with the television drama series which certainly does it credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Festive fantasy fun, 15 April 2013
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's no surprise Terry Pratchett turned his razor sharp satirical wit to the strange (non-religious) traditions of Christmas - anyone who enjoys parodying the behaviour of people has plenty of fuel here. It's worth noting this is not a send-up of religion, rather of all the secular aspects that have grown up around this festival. There shouldn't be anything to give offence here. Typically Pratchett comes up with a great idea for a story - the 'Hogfather' (a porcine Father Christmas) has disappeared, so the Grim Reaper is having to cover for him. The heroine of the story, his grand-daughter Susan, is unwillingly drawn in and must try to outwit a sinister collection of villains in order to save the jolly fat man. Susan is a great heroine, ordinary enough to be sympathetic, whilst unusual enough to be interesting. Regular Discworld readers will enjoy cameos from many well loved characters, and particularly the starring role of Death himself. There is plenty of the wizards, in one of their better written outings, and even a mention of some of the Watch. Pratchett also creates a truly sinister villain in 'Mr Teatime', and the plot is clever with a couple of twists. There are two rather annoying characters, but they are the only blemish in a pretty flawless novel. There is also an excellent TV-film adaptation which is well worth watching. Whilst there are three preceding novels in the 'Death' subseries, you don't really need to read them to enjoy this. It's a funny, hugely enjoyable novel, that is fun to read all year round but particularly around the festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hogfather: Discworld: The Death Collection
Hogfather: Discworld: The Death Collection by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - 5 Dec. 2013)
£8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews