Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars179
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2015
I'm a big fan of Terry Pratchett and disc world books. This continues the saga. New characters and old loved ones. For new Terry Prachett readers. Discworld books are comic fantasy. Makes me smile every couple pages. For me the progression of the story makes finishing the book is compelling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 4 September 2005
Shortsighted management has forced another "downsizing". This time the victim of layoff is Death himself, "retired" by the Auditors. He does his job efficiently and he doesn't sass the boss. He's just become "too involved" with those due to receive attention from his infinitely sharp scythe. The Auditors want a firmer hand on the reaping blade. On the street with time on his hands, Death decides he's going to spend it. Wandering the Discworld, he "gets his feet under the table" as hired man at Miss Flitworth's farm. Although a bit confused about eating and sleeping, he's able to respond with resolute affirmation when she asks, "Can you use a scythe?" He demonstrates a harvesting technique only Pratchett could devise.
With Death no longer performing his role, strange events result. Unconfined, the life force manifests itself in bizarre ways. Death, visible to wizards, fails to arrive at an appointment. In consequence, Windle Poons is subjected to various indignities. His colleagues have a prejudice about zombies. Not having actually died, Windle decides to "get a life". Over a century of breathing doesn't necessarily mean you've been living, and Windle, like Death, decides to see something of the [Disc]world. His colleagues, uncertain as to why Windle's still upright and subjected to some mild indignities of their own, seek the cause of unusual manifestations.
If you're new to the Discworld, all this must sound pretty grotesque. Death "fired" only to become a reaper on a spinster's farm? Wizards who can see him and know precisely when he's due? Take heart, this isn't a bleak version of the Merlin legend, nor a Stephen King horror story. It's Terry Pratchett, a writer with an unmatched talent for looking at the world we live in. He peers deeply at how life works. Then with countless deft twists, restructures our globe into a flat Disc. The Disc's filled with novel ideas and even more unusual people, but on second glance all seem terribly familiar. Death isn't a killer, for example. He's only there to collect lives when they're due to end. Unlike the tax man, he only arrives once, and he's terribly, terribly good at his job.
To those familiar with Pratchett, this book should receive high marks. All of Ankh-Morpork's finest are here - even Sergeant Colon makes an appearance. While enlarging on the cameos Death's played in other Discworld books, Pratchett nearly lets Miss Flitworth walk away with this one. But it's Sal Lifton who does that - the Small Child who recognizes Bill Door as a "skellington" as she ponders how he can eat or sleep. For it's Sal who personifies why Death's been put out to pasture [sorry!]. What that implies about Death's philosophy of life [sorry, again!] and how all this reflects Pratchett's own views becomes vividly clear when the "new hire" appears. As with many modern managers, the Auditors have acquired a labour saving appliance.
Pratchett's great genius is many-leveled. A light skim of any of his books is to experience high mirth rates. His talent for quirky description and one liners you seek ways to use in conversation is matchless. But a few months later, Reaper Man may arrive unbidden back in your hand. "There's something else", you may muse, going back to seek it. More jewels will be discovered, the witticisms skipped over revealing things of deeper value. You will then discover why this reviewer considers Pratchett as one of today's most valuable philosophers. And who rejoices seeing his children with PTerry in hand. If there's hope for survival of this species, it will be people like Pratchett conveying human values to people who need it most - the next generation. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Death is dead, well retired and looking forward to death. Sort off. As usual, from Terry Pratchett, a very enjoyable book where he takes (to us) every day events and items and twists them to fit Discworld.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2006
"Reaper Man" is the tenth book in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld series. He has gone on to win the Carnegie Medal for "The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents" and was awarded the OBE in 1998.

Death - tall guy, somewhat underfed, big grin, wears a black robe - appears in more Discworld books than any other character. However, "Reaper Man" is only the second - after "Mort" - where his appearance in anything other than a very brief cameo. Unfortunately, if the Auditors have anything to do with it, it'll also be his last appearance, Since his personality has led to certain 'irregularities', they've decided he should be retired. Unfortunately, one of the side-effects of his retirement will lead to Death's <ahem> death. However, in the time that he has left, Death packs his belongings and decides to live : he begins by taking a job as a farmhand at harvest-time. Luckily, he has some experience with a scythe....

Death never actually did the killing himself - he left that to assassins and soldiers, for example - he just took over when people died. His retirement has now caused certain complications : since no suitable replacement has yet been brought into existance, the dead aren't quite...staying deceased. Up until this point, one of the perks of being a wizard was that Death himself - and not one of his minor demons - turned up to usher you into the next life. Unfortunately, when Death fails to arrive for Windle Poons, the Unseen University's oldest wizard has nowhere else to go but back to his old body. Windle isn't impressed : he'd planned for reincarnation, not an afterlife as a zombie. With the help of the Fresh Start Club (for the recently undead), he intends to find out what's happening...though with his former colleagues at the University assisting, he might just die trying.

Despite his profession, Death is one of the funniest characters on the Discworld - nobody does deadpan (boom boom) quite like him ! As the second book to give him a starring role, it may prove a slight advantage to have "Mort" - which is also very funny. However, even if you've never read anything by Pratchett before, you should still enjoy "Reaper Man". Very highly recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Enjoyed it even more second time round. Still can't believe there will be no more discworld novels absolutely gutted Terry pratchett was my all-time favourite author. Recommend this book to anyone with a sense of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Typical Terry Pratchett read, funny, stimulating, complex enough to keep you thinking without being overpowering, first TP novel I have read on the Kindle so liked the appendices being at the end of the book not at the bottom of the page.
Always like reading about DEATH so interesting to give him the same issues as the living and maybe this is what is like to be a child again feeling the emotions for the first time
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2001
What can I say, this book is truly magical. The very concept of the novel is bizarre; that Death could get fed up of his job and go off to do something different, like everyone else. Inevitably, the consequences of having the position of Death in the 'Situations Vacant' column, are amusing to say the least; but one 130-year old wizard (supposed to be dead) really does have the time of his life. Definitely one of the best Pratchetts.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 31 December 2012
I'm working my way, again, through the Discworld novels, and still enjoying them as much as I did the first time I read them all. In this story, Death is ousted from his position as the ultimate authority on Life, and decides to make the most of the life that he has been given, by living amongst humankind; and along the way he learns a few new things.

Meanwhile, the absence of Death is causing an overflow of Life, and the Wizards of Unseen University have their hands full trying to sort out what's going on, and put things back to rights. Windle Poons is a great character in this book, and it's also reat to have the introduction of Reg Shoe, Ludmilla, Mrs Cake and various other `odd' (even by Discworld standards) characters. Even the Patrician makes an appearance.

Another great novel by Terry Pratchett, and one that really evokes all the Discworld atmosphere. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
The man is a genius, I hadn't read a book that actually made me laugh in a long time until someone recommended this to me. Extremely well written with so many ingenious ideas, the least of which being when Death goes to work on a farm having taken retirement. Would fully recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
Reaper Man was the last Discworld novel I had left to read. I really want to say that it wasn't a let-down and that I thorougly enjoyed it, but that wouldn't be entirely true. The story has two, relatively-unassociated plot arcs, one which follows the trials of Death attempting to live as a mortal, and the other which tells of Ankh Morpork laying eggs that give rise to killer shopping trollies.

It was this latter story arc where my dissatisfaction fell. It started out interesting, and I was anticipating the chaos that would ensure when the undead took over the streets of Ankh Morpork. I thought the mysteriously-appearing snow-globes were going to be some sort of 'lifetimes' for the people who weren't dying, and that Poons and the Fresh Start club would have to retrieve every globe in the city to end the chaos. And I really wish this (or something along these lines) had have happened, because I believe it would have had funnier, more far-reaching consequences than the absurdity that was about to unfold. Killer shopping trollies and a giant organic shopping-mall thing??? Not funny, not plausable for the Discworld, NOT ENTERTAINING. Other instances where chaos had fallen on the city (eg. the events of Sourcery, Moving Pictures, Soul Music, and fires and civil wars) have been alluded to again in later books, but not so in this case and with good reason.

Next time I read Reaper Man I will probably skip the chapters with this story arc, which is a shame because TP introduces some great new characters here; namely, the members of the Fresh Start club and Mrs Cake and her daughter. It would be nice to see more of these characters in future stories because I believe they have some great potential. It's just the plot they found themselves in that stunk.

You might be wondering why I gave it 4 starts, after all this complaining I've just done. The reason is because of the OTHER story that gets told: that of Death and his relationship with Miss Flitworth. I think it's the most becautiful story Pratchett has ever written. Simple, but extremely dignified. You know how it will ultimately end, but Pratchett weaves a masterpeace that you can not stop reading. It is a fablel with a hundred simple messages, yet it is also a story of unfathomable depth. It more than makes up for events set in Ankh Morpork.

So for any other TP fans out there who haven't yet read Reaper Man, I suggest you go for it. Just be prepared for the Windle Poons plot to fizzle out. And read this book sooner than later, because the Death storyline introduces some of the concepts of later novels, such as the Dark Morris dance that the recent 'Wintersmith' revolves around, and the introduction of the Death of Rats, who appears in all later Death novels.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse