Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start your Discworld addiction.
The concept of Death needing an apprentice captures the imagination from the very start of this book.The fact He likes cats,enjoys curries and His horse is called Binky leaves you doubting all you have been brought up to believe. His choice of a gangely, knocked-kneed youth named Mort, presents us with our unlikely hero whose adventures unfold like a comedy of errors...
Published on 25 May 2000 by joy.fritter@btinternet.com

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever, but not the best Discworld novel
Death takes an apprentice and decides to take a break and enjoy himself for a while. Meanwhile, his apprentice, Mort (short for Mortimer but everyone calls him Boy) is busy screwing up the nature of reality by falling in love with one of his intended victims. History tries to reassert itself and everything gets complicated. Deaths granddaughter (Family not having much...
Published on 22 Feb 1999


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start your Discworld addiction., 25 May 2000
The concept of Death needing an apprentice captures the imagination from the very start of this book.The fact He likes cats,enjoys curries and His horse is called Binky leaves you doubting all you have been brought up to believe. His choice of a gangely, knocked-kneed youth named Mort, presents us with our unlikely hero whose adventures unfold like a comedy of errors but, as in all good adventures, the hero wins through in the end. Terry Pratchett takes us on yet another magical journey of character descriptions,colourful places and wierd happenings(you can almost taste the scumble). Long may he write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to the Disc, 17 Jan 2005
By 
Volin (Sutton Coldfield, UK) - See all my reviews
This re-release of Pratchett's Mort shows us why indeed the Discworld has become one of Britain's best loved series.
Mort is the first book where Pratchett decides to show the reader an up close and personal view of Death, one of the more mysterious entities of the Disc. And how well he does it. The potrait of Death Pratchett paints is not that of the spectre of all evil but instead a rather eccentric gentleman who has seen rather too much of life. Ths is Pratchett does with some excellent wit: for example Death's horse is named Binky.
The story itself is very well done, concentrating on Death and his new apprentice Mort. Mort cannot bring himself to do Death's job out of compassion and so ends up letting a dead princess live on.
The masterpiece of this novel is the character of Death. Pratchett turns religious convention on its head, making Death far from evil. Indeed he actually makes you feel horribly sorry for Death and the reader will be moved emotionally by Pratchett's clever but subtle way of showing the actuality behind the myth.
The reason I have not given this the 5 stars it deserves is because of its audio book status. While I enjoy audio books for when I am relaxing, I cannot give it 4 stars because a great deal has been abrigded from it - many of the sequences deemed unessential to the plot have been cut which is disappointing. However Tony Robinson does an excellent job as usual of narrating, giving all of the jokes a cynical edge which only enriches their comic value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Terry Pratchett book there is, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This was the first Terry Pratchett book I read and it had me hooked! It's definately the best, and when I recommend Pratchett to people, this is the book I tell them to read. Death is my favorite character (just beating the luggage!) and he is at his best in Mort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mort -audio book (abridged), 18 Feb 2008
By 
David Lazzari - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've rated this five stars and not 4, which is what I'd have preferred to give to what is an abridged version of the excellent book. Why take off half a star? As another reviewer has said precisely because it is abridged but, being obviously of a more of a generous nature, I didn't have the heart to penalise neither the abridging editor nor Tony Robinson, hence the full rating.

Other than cost factors and effect on possible sales I wonder why they bother to abridge Pratchett's novels for audio books. I enjoy this version but would prefer that Mr Robinson's brilliant narration was extended to the full novel. I don't think the full novel would be less popular - I know I'd certainly buy it for the full reading.

The plot is simple but full of the usual Pratchett convolutions, sniggers, guffaws and smiles that make him such an enjoyable author: Death needs a break and must find an apprentice to ease his workload; Mort's available, keen but has a conscious. The story tells of the consequences.
Death is my favourite character in all the Discworld books; he's someone I'd really like to meet - but not necessarily only one time! My personal in-head version of all Pratchett characters have been much improved after listening to several Robinson read books. Tony Robinson, as a talented comic actor, uses his undoubted abilities to project real life to the all characters. Death sounds as world weary as all of us for no logical reasons; Mort at the start sounds young and gormless and as the character ages and experiences life and death the reader's voice changes and he sounds more convincingly Death-like.

If you can get the book then do yourself a favour. There are many gems that while not effecting the story do add to the time and so have been edited out of this version but are the icing on the cake of a wonderful book.

Conclusion: A very worthwhile purchase; great for travelling and relaxing anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 6 Aug 2000
By A Customer
I love the character of Death.A skeleton who yields a scythe and likes curries and cats is just really funny. My mom thinks the whole thing is just mad. T he idea of being an apprentice to Death seems the kind of position that would be filled by a demon or a ghost but oh no. Pratchett instead chosses Mort a knock-kneed 26 year old boy. I just love the Discworld series and everyone should read them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Pratchett book, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the fourth book in Terry Pratchett's books on the Discworld - a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle, anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. In this book, Death (capital "D", he's the man, or rather the anthropomorphic personification) decides to take an apprentice, and selects Mort, a rather inept young man from the Ramtops. As Death takes less interest in his job, Mort's interests cause him to create a tear in reality.
This is another great Pratchett book. Running several storylines at once, the author succeeds in having all of them move along smoothly. Also, the book contains a goodly dollop of Terry's humor and ironic footnotes. I love the Death books (this one, plus Reaper Man, Soul Music, and Hogfather); in this one Death tries the joys of drinking, dancing, gambling and so forth, all with hilarious results.
I wholeheartedly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever, but not the best Discworld novel, 22 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Death takes an apprentice and decides to take a break and enjoy himself for a while. Meanwhile, his apprentice, Mort (short for Mortimer but everyone calls him Boy) is busy screwing up the nature of reality by falling in love with one of his intended victims. History tries to reassert itself and everything gets complicated. Deaths granddaughter (Family not having much to do with genetics) helps out, as does Albert, the most powerful wizard ever, but now Deaths servant and general food fryer. Mort is a good story, well told and hilarious in parts. It would be a brilliant book for anyone else to have written, but I didn't think it was up there with Pratchetts best-still well worth buying, and re-reading several times though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH Takes a Holiday!, 19 Dec 2004
By 
Leonard Fleisig "Len" (Virginia Beach, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When we mere male mortals reach a certain age we sometimes, aware that we are closer to our future death than our past birth, start to act up. We trade the 1981 Min in for a sports car, quit our old job to write a great novel, and have even been known to trade in our wives for a younger, newer model. It's known on Earth as a mid-life crisis. But on Discworld, and in the hands of the master Terry Pratchett, a banal mid-life crisis is turned into another one of his hilarious and thought filled romps. Through Pratchett's hilariously skewed prism this crisis is not being experienced by a mortal but rather by the harbinger of death, the aptly named DEATH. What we have is a mid-death crisis. Death may, like an ever-rolling stream, bear all its sons away but DEATH seems more than a bit tired of doing all the bearing away.
Terry Pratchett's Mort tells a rather simple tale. DEATH is looking for an apprentice. Young Mortimer, one of life's simple trusting souls is a young man with little career prospects. He is ungainly and spends a bit too much time thinking random thoughts. Mort's dad and relatives find him to be a well-intentioned but generally useless young man. Dad has been told that becoming an apprentice will get Mort off his hands and teach him a trade. So off to town they go for `apprentice day' in the market square. As luck would have it, DEATH arrives and takes Mort on as his apprentice.
Mort develops in the expected Pratchett manner. The relationship between Mort and DEATH, and the chores Mort performs to learn his trade, seem very similar to that in the movie Karate Kid. Shoveling horse poop is not immediately relevant to learning how to become the messenger of death yet Mort takes to his tasks well. Mort seems to enjoy living at DEATH's house and enjoys the food prepared by Albert, who may not be quite what he seems. He doesn't seem to get along to well with DEATH's daughter, Ysabell but that again may not be quite what it seems.
Within no time DEATH is entrusting Mort with more responsibility while he experiments with drinking, dancing, and a stint as the best short order cook in Ankh-Morpork. Meanwhile, Mort, left to his own devices makes a mess of things in short order. Specifically, Mort falls for the heavenly charms of a Princess and fails to bring her over to the next world. This of course causes no end of confusion as the natural order of things on Discworld has been greatly disturbed.
As with most Discworld books, events proceed at a furious pace followed by a conclusion that, like death itself, is inevitable. For any Pratchett fan, of which I am one, the joy is mostly in the journey and not in getting to the conclusion. IN fact, generally I have so much fun I don't want the books to end. Along the way we are treated to the usual array of cultural references and little jokes. When Albert mutters "s-odomy non sapiens" under his breath Mort asks what that means to which Albert replies "buggered if I know." When DEATH notes he is closing out a bar, alone, at a quarter to three, Pratchett tracks the lyrics to Frank Sinatra's old "One for My Baby". Funny stuff indeed.
Last, this is a stand-alone Discworld book. Although some recurring characters make cameo appearances the reader does not really need to be overly familiar with any of the other Discworld books to enjoy Mort. Mort was a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Discworld Novel, 28 Dec 2006
By 
dolfanuk (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
i bought this book recently after owning only two previous discworld novels, Thud! and Maskerade. whilst never having read them before as they weren't the start of the series.

i picked mort up as i read online that it is the start of the death series and it isn't nessecary to read any of the other books before it.

was i ever glad the book is hillarious i never thought i'd laugh at a figure that represents death and such but how can a 7 foot skeleton in black robes with a huge scythe doing the conga and eating curries not tickle your funny bones ;)

great read and i can't wait to get the next in the death series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When a man is tired of Ankh-Morpork, he is tired of ankle-deep slurry, 31 Aug 2006
"Mort" is the fourth book in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld series. He has gone on to win the Carnegie Medal for "The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents" and was awarded the OBE in 1998.

Death - tall guy, somewhat underfed, big grin, carries a scythe - appears in more Discworld books than any other character. However, "Mort" is the first where his appearance in anything other than a very brief cameo - though, admittedly, he remains one of the book's support characters. The book's hero is Mort, the youngest son of a farming family living on the Ramtops. He doesn't quite have the look of a typical hero : although tall and overly-helpful, he's also red-haired, freckled and largely built from knees. His family specialises in distilling wine from reannual grapes - you plant the seed this year and harvest the grape last year. (With the wine, you tend to get the hangover the morning before and need to drink quite a lot to get over it). Mort's lack of talent in the agricultural field (boom boom !), however, is causing some concern for his father. Hoping someone will hire him as an apprentice, Lezek takes his son to the hiring fair at Sheepridge on Hogswatch Night. Although Mort is the last one hired, he is probably the most aptly named apprentice - given that his new boss is Death himself.

Despite Mort's initial discomfort with the position - he doesn't have to be dead himself and the bones look is entirely optional - he decides to accept the position. Death also makes it clear he doesn't do the killing himself - that's up to assassins and soldiers, for example - he just takes over when people die. (He has, however, been known to murder a curry). Life (if that's what you call it) with Death is very strange. His home is designed, unsurprisingly, in varying shades of dark and is much bigger on the inside than on the outside. He also has a daughter called Ysabell and a butler called Albert - both human and not just skeletons - and a horse called Binky. All are also very much alive. The problems start when Mort starts shadowing his new boss at work - specifically, when they are due to escort King Olerv of Sto-Lat into the afterlife. The King has just been assassinated by his ambitious cousin the Duke of Sto-Helit. Unfortunately, Princess Keli is next on the Duke's hitlist and Mort's youthful hormones aren't too happy about this. As soon as Mort starts interfering, other questions start coming to mind - like where does Death get a daughter and why does he need an apprentice ?

Despite his profession, Death is one of the funniest characters on the Discworld. Although it's the first book to give him a starring role, it may prove a slight advantage to have read one or two of the other books. (Rincewind is a particular hobby of Death's so "The Colour of Magic" and "The Light Fantastic may be worth looking into). Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa712c660)

This product

Mort: Discworld: The Death Collection (Discworld Hardback Library)
Mort: Discworld: The Death Collection (Discworld Hardback Library) by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2013)
6.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews