Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serious Book for the Seriously Interested
I bought this shortly before a trip to the battlefields late in 2008, thinking it would make suitable reading while away. I was wrong, not least since this is a very big, very heavy book. Definitely one to be sat before at a table and considered seriously.

So, no field-spotter's guide, but an amazingly revealing and informative reference book which has...
Published on 11 Aug. 2009 by The Kinniburgh Kid

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A HUGE disappointment
.....literally huge. This tome could only sensibly be tackled if you read it while standing up at a map table-or an ironing board. Otherwise it is physically unmanageable.
The grammatical construction of the text is woeful to the point in some instances of being incomprehensible.
The photographic layout is such that the captions to many of the small images are...
Published 17 months ago by Sir Harry Ognall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent research!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
The most comprehensive and compelling volume I have read for some time. Excellent presentation and accuracy with good text and photo content. A well deserved addition to any historian's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opens the eyes, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
This author and book were recommended when I was visiting the battlefields of France and Belgium. It is clearyl written with fabulous pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panorama's, 18 Mar. 2012
As ever Peter has produced a superb book which I highly recommend to anyone who is interested in this period. Particluarly useful if you are visiting the battlefields as you can easily find locations and compare now with then. Peter is a superlative historian who worth watching out for on TV.
Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday gift for son-in-law, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
The book is beautifully presented in a heavy, solid 'box' and I am more impressed than I had expected to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
Superb book to follow up a WW1 battlefield tour and for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning book!, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
This is not a book you sit down and read. It's a book you dip in to time and time again.
Full of detail, full of photographs many of which have never or at least hardly ever been published before..
Detailed text that explains what happened, when it happened and where it happenened.
All this is further supported by detailed maps, explanatory sketches of items used by the troops and a DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
Delighted with the service - much appreciated - thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best photos ever., 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
As I visit the battlefields on a regular base every year I will take this book with me, however, it is very large and heavy.
Peter Barton is a well known to anybody interested in the First World War, in particular via the TV.
Whast is amazing is how nature heals itself over the years. This is a must have book for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moved by the read., 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) (Hardcover)
I have visited the battlefields, talked with veterans. Never could I experience what they did and never wish to. Peter Barton does this for me in his many well illustrated and written books. Hard won research long may these books keep coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Book, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Chris "book lover" (Hemel Hempstead UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite large and heavy and I have not nearly finished reading it,but it is promising. I am visiting the battlefields shortly so it is helpful but not suitable for carrying with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD)
The Battlefields of the First World War (Book & DVD) by Peter Barton (Hardcover - 14 Nov. 2013)
£34.00
Usually dispatched within 10 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews