Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
I really enjoyed The Last Kashmiri Rose and this one is just as good, if not better. I recommend it.
Published 17 months ago by CSC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline
This is the first time I have read any of the Sandilands stories so still not sure but I will be reading more. Would still recommend it.
Published 15 months ago by keith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed The Last Kashmiri Rose and this one is just as good, if not better. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue in the North-Western Frontier Province, 17 Feb 2013
Unlike the previous reviewer I found this highly enjoyable. This book finds Commander Joe Sandilands on the restive North-Western Frontier visiting an old army friend at his outpost fort just below the Khyber Pass. Whilst there, Joe is entrusted to be an escort for a visiting American girl of both formidable financial and daredevil means. When the son of a Pathan tribal leader is discovered dead and by foul means, Joe must solve the murder and attempt to prevent a possible war on the Frontier.

Once again, Cleverly brilliantly evokes the British Raj in this novel and adeptly describes the hard landscape, climate and peoples of the North-Western Frontier. A very enjoyable read and my favourite Joe Sandilands book thusfar, plenty of colourful characters, intrigue and a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Sandilands fascinating detective, 2 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second Joe Sandilands book I read, and was prompted to buy more of the other in the series. I don't believe it is necessary to read them in order since they look to be stand alone stories, but nevertheless I am trying to read them in order. The ones I have so far read (three) are set it India and are very atmospheric with a well thought out plot and a few surprises, just the ticket for a good mystery detective read. I'm persuading my family to read these and have so far had good feed back from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Indian frontier yarn, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Barbara Cleverly writes a good, rip roaring yarn. It seems very dated and the manner and customs of the time are stilted. many parts are not easy to go along with. The practicalities are brushed over. But the reader nevertheless does want to know what the ending is even of it is mostly obvious early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 17 April 2014
By 
N. M. Davey (North Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The third book featuring Joe Sandilands , a metropolitan policeman slightly out of his comfort zone in 1920's India.
The best yet. So many twists and turns. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Afghanistan in 1910, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rollicking good read as are all Joe Sandilands. Always interesting to find out about another country at the turn of the century. Police policies and overseas politics are fascinating when accompayned with a good mystery story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great setting, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The background to this story was well researched and gave the plot a very credible feeling. All the characters are well rounded and believable. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys murder mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Damascened Blade (Hardcover)
Another great read from Barbara Cleverly.
I have devoured each book with rapacious greed and alas have now read all the Joe Sandilands and Letty Talbot novels.
They are written with scolarship and humour and are completely addictive.
More please, Barbara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Confused, 13 Aug 2013
By 
T. Lindley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am enjoying this the third cleverly book and will read the rest, however I am confused. At the end of book two he is on his way back home on ship to Europe . In book three he is still in India?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm becoming addicted to Barbara Cleverly and the splendid Joe, and I don't even like detective fiction. Normally if I read more than a couple of books by the same author I find too many similarities and get bored or irritated. But these novels are well researched in time and setting, and she has a great command of English. They are very easy to read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Damascened Blade (Joe Sandilands 3)
The Damascened Blade (Joe Sandilands 3) by Barbara Cleverly (Paperback - 5 Feb 2015)
5.59
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews