Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The authentic voices of Holmes and Watson
The Watson style is deceptively difficult to imitate. Good practitioners include June Thomson, Hugh Ashton and David Marcum, but the best is probably Denis O Smith. His excellent early stories, collected in four volumes as "The Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes", appear to be out of print, but it’s a delight to welcome "The Mammoth Book of The Lost...
Published 13 months ago by Ye Olde Ed

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not recommended
Poor. Most stories had little substance and were a very poor facsimile of the Holmes canon. Descriptive rather than deductive, they were often clumsy in their prose and dialogue. Overall, a great disappointment.
Published 12 months ago by Dr. I. W. Turnbull


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The authentic voices of Holmes and Watson, 25 April 2014
By 
Ye Olde Ed (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
The Watson style is deceptively difficult to imitate. Good practitioners include June Thomson, Hugh Ashton and David Marcum, but the best is probably Denis O Smith. His excellent early stories, collected in four volumes as "The Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes", appear to be out of print, but it’s a delight to welcome "The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes", twelve adventures, most previously uncollected. Many pasticheurs think that Holmes must at least have a murder to investigate, but Mr Smith knows that ‘The Red-Headed League’ and ‘The Blue Carbuncle’ are among the best tales in the canon, and he follows suit. In his stories we hear the authentic voices of Holmes and Watson, and it all rings true. May we hope that the rest of Mr Smith's stories will soon be made available again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a real page-turner, I highly recommend it!, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
This is a fantastic collection of stories with intrigue and excitement in abundance. Holmes’ deductions are brilliant and there are always plenty of surprises. The depiction of victorian London is really good. I particularly like The Adventure of the Willow Pool which is a bit longer than some. It’s filled with mystery and intrigue but also has a reflective quality which shows the versatility of this author and demonstrates his wonderful use of prose.
I found myself completely drawn into these short stories as the atmosphere is so well described; The Adventure of the Smiling Face has some very creepy moments!
This is a real page-turner, I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes through the eyes of Denis O. Smith, 26 May 2014
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
I was very impressed with this collection of Sherlock Holmes stories written by Denis O. Smith. The stories take place before Holmes's fateful meeting with Professor Moriarty at the Reichenbach Falls and each story captures the atmosphere of Victorian London and other destinations perfectly. As with the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle stories, each adventure is seen through the eyes of Doctor Watson and perfectly related to a standard that Conan Doyle would have been impressed by. As part of the Mammoth Book series, this volume is well worth every penny to Sherlock Holmes and detective stories fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Open Fan Letter: The Best of the Pastichers!, 9 July 2014
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
In Issue 339 of "The District Messenger" (January 30, 2014), the newsletter of the Sherlock Holmes Society of London, editor Roger Johnson wrote: "The Watson style is deceptively difficult to imitate. Good practitioners include June Thomson, Hugh Ashton and David Marcum, but the best is probably Denis O. Smith."

While I would add a few other names to this list, such as the late Barrie Roberts, Gerard Kelly, and Tony Reynolds, I have to agree that the best truly is Denis O. Smith. From the first time that I first read Mr. Smith's initial efforts at editing Watson's notes, in the pamphlets that he originally self-published back in the early 1980's, I knew that these were a cut above the others. Now, with this latest collection of Smith's work, mixing seven new stories with five that have been previously published elsewhere, we have even more to enjoy.

The seven new stories, never previously published - as far as my research can determine - are (with titles appropriately prefaced by "The Adventure of"): "Kendal Terrace", "The Smiling Face", "The Fourth Glove", "The English Scholar", "The Amethyst Ring", "Queen Hyppolyta", and "Dedstone Mill".

As I mentioned, five of the stories in this collection have been previously published. One of them, "The Richmond Recluse" (originally published under the title "The Richmond Horror") first appeared in issues 32 and 33 of the now-defunct "Sherlock" magazine, and then in the book collection "Sherlock Holmes: The Game's Afoot", edited by David Stuart Davies.

Three of the previously published stories in this book each made their first appearance in the new "Strand Magazine", and have remained uncollected until now: "A Hair's Breadth" (Issue No.1), "The Crimson Arrow" (Issue No.2), and "An Incident in Society" (Issue No.3).

The final previously published story in this current collection, "The Willow Pool", initially appeared in Smith's "The Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes, Volume IV" (2002 - Calabash Press).

For new fans of Mr. Smith's works, all of the rest of his editorial efforts of Watson's notes are available in a few other volumes, although some effort and expense will be required to obtain them. "The Brown Box" was originally in issue 68 of "Sherlock" magazine, and was also in the collection "Sherlock Holmes: The Game's Afoot", edited by Davies. The rest of Smith's works, some reprinted from his early pamphlets and some newly written at the time, were previously collected in the four volumes of "The Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes", published by Calabash Press in the 1990's and early 2000's. For those who were not fortunate enough or observant enough to snap up "The Chronicles" when they first appeared, acquiring them now can be quite expensive. However, they are well worth it.

My only complaint about this particular book, and it's not enough to reduce the five-star rating that this book deserves, has nothing to do with the stories at all. It's the cover art, which shows two people who, upon examination, do not look like too much like Our Heroes at all, other than the correct-period clothing. (Holmes and Watson belong in the Victorian and Edwardian eras.) Especially disturbing is that odd and somewhat cadaver-esque-looking Holmes. Or maybe Watson's illustration looks worse. I vacillate back and forth. They're both bad. I wish that something like the original art that appeared on Smith's "The Chronicles" books, which showed Holmes and Watson as if they had been drawn by Sidney Paget, could have been used instead. However, one can't judge a book by its cover, and the contents inside this volume more than overcome the dissatisfaction that I have with the book's illustration.

By my count, there are currently twenty-six of Watson's adventures that have been edited by Smith over the years. Twelve of them appear in this current book, leaving fourteen to be collected in a future second volume, which I want to go on record as demanding right now. And while I'm at it, I would like to encourage Mr. Smith keep editing more of Watson's notes. I wrote an enthusiastic fan letter to him at his British home years ago, and he was kind enough to write back. This is a more public fan letter, but my sentiments are still the same. He is the best of the lot at capturing Watson's voice, and he only has to "edit" another 34 more stories to equal the number of the original Canon. I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read!, 12 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
I got this book as a present and can't stop reading it! Author Denis O smith's special ability to set the victorian scene vividly and to create complicated plots is commendable. 'The Adventure of the Richmond Recluse'is absolutely thrilling. More from this author please!
S Hari
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable stories that are fun to read. A remarkable distillation of Watson and Holmes and their world of the late nineteenth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
SMASK "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were no glaring Americanism, so Holmes and Watson had the right sound. Not all the stories were as strong as they might be, some being overly long. However o the whole a worthwhile and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of Watson, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say other than excellent. The plots are clever and Watson's voice comes out of the page. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and accurate!, 21 July 2014
By 
Andris (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best Sherlock Holmes pastiche stories I have red by now. I really enjoyed reading every story in this collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mammoth book of Sherlock Holmes by Denis O. Smith, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
Charming stories; best read on a rainy afternoon, cuddled i Your favorite easychair under a plaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes
The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes by Denis O. Smith (Paperback - 16 Jan. 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews