Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book and the only way to get a glimpse of a fascinating collection
Purchased as a present but I took a peek before wrapping, and it is a beautifully produced book with a large number of quality colour images. Such a pity that the collection was broken up and dispersed, so it is no longer possible to view. I visited it a number of times some years ago and it is a real shame that no museum or benefactor could be found to have kept such a...
Published 12 months ago by Clem Neville

versus
2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How did the Animals in this Die?
I haven't bought this book & won't, Amazon. I'm disgusted you have it up for sale. Did those animals featured in it such as the litter of kittens on the front die a natural, unavoidable death? Unlikely.
Published 10 months ago by Suzanne Larkman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book and the only way to get a glimpse of a fascinating collection, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Purchased as a present but I took a peek before wrapping, and it is a beautifully produced book with a large number of quality colour images. Such a pity that the collection was broken up and dispersed, so it is no longer possible to view. I visited it a number of times some years ago and it is a real shame that no museum or benefactor could be found to have kept such a quirky British work together. I would much rather this had been saved than yet another multi million pound example of some some classic sculpture or painting to go hang with all the rest that already litter the galleries and museums. No doubt on the basis to satisfy a few elitist, powerful high brow art lovers than something populist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Book, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Wonderfully designed and executed. A well deserved look at one of Victorian England's most colorful characters. The book manages to bring Potter and his tableaux alive without being too dry. An exceptional work both visually and contextually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Bought this for my daughter, as we used to take her to the original potter's Museum in Bramber when she was a child. ( Nearly 50 years ago) She loves it and it brings back many happy memories.
Very well produced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling pictures - difficult to put down, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Fascinating, stimulating and a little macabre. One of those books you keep picking up again and again. Great conversation piece when friends come round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift Idea, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my sister at xmas based on the other reviews on here. My sister has visited the Zoological museum near Aylesbury but sadly never got to see this one as it had already long closed, so this book was a great read for her.

I found it hard to give it over to her after I sneaky look in it before wrapping! Nice photos and great little stories to go with the animals etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book - very entertaining, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Loved the book -so entertaining. Something to treasure and if you are a taxidermy fan,then its fascinating. Even if you are not, its charming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heritage & art treasure lost, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
What a tragedy that this collection has been lost. The fact that our own Museum's felt this art was not worthy of protection is incredible, I would say shame on them. I fail to understand why the bid by Damien Hirst to buy the collection was rejected and apparently the Victoria and Albert Museum would not even accept the work as a gift!

As the book rightly states, this decision appears to have been made by some political correctness and censorship so as not to upset those members of the public who feel offended (as displayed by one reviewer here), yet they are happy to display items that are probably even more questionable providing they belong to another culture! People go on holiday and pay to watch whales and dolphins do tricks through hoops etc, etc but get upset over this and other similar works.

In Paris the work of Deyrolle is, and rightly so, regarded as national treasure, featured in guide books, visited by thousands of tourists, the works appearing in movies, books, magazines and the work becoming increasingly more popular and fashionable. The work of Deyrolle is wonderful, but very different to the exquisite and provocative work by Walter Potter.

The book is beautiful and indeed a talking point and a reminder that Britain failed to protect a very important work, the loss of a unique legacy. The animals are over 100 years old, it was the fashion, things were different, Walter Potter took years to build the tableaux and the majority of animals were given to him by local farmers etc, etc, however he got them the fact remains it was a very long time ago - a time when many questionable social issues were prevalent.

The tableaux and artistry in the book is exceptional, if you have an interest in Taxidermy or art in general you would find this book a great addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book drawing together the best parts of Walter Potter's collection, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
I do feel other books by Pat Morris are much more academic, informative & thorough (Particularly Art, Science and Bad Taste). To me personally, this is more of a coffee table type book; but what a wonderful book! Lots of information and wonderful images.

I bought the book after writing a paper on Walter Potter's Original Death and Burial of Cock Robin. The pictures in this book are just marvellous and show so many of the fabulous details within Potters work. I think it is a must have for anyone interested in the greatest creator of anthropomorphic taxidermy we've ever had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Visited this Museum often,when I was a child, Absolutely Fabulous book. A must for all Taxidermy Fans.
Great detail and history of Mr Potter. Such a shame it did nt stay together in this country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Love it, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake (Hardcover)
Great book. Love it. My daughter was amazed by this present we used to go to the potter museum when she was a little girl couldn't have found a better present anywhere just brilliant, xXx xXx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walter Potter's Curious World of Taxidermy: Foreword by Sir Peter Blake
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews