Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mine of information
Excellently written, being informative and entertaining in equal measure. The author has a light style that makes the content very accessible and, at times, uses a wry sense of humour in his writing that I personally found very appealing. A book that you can easily dip into and containing a vast amount of information ranging from obscure facts to a wonderful potted...
Published 8 months ago by R Edwards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars London; warts and all.
It is easy to became absorbed in the text from the start by the considered choice of the odd-ball content, and the clear and accessible writing style. And in a sense that is the book’s downfall, for it is self-contained and doesn’t motivate the reader to get out and about to explore the scenes of the stories. This is a shame as the setting for these stories...
Published 7 months ago by NeilAplin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mine of information, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellently written, being informative and entertaining in equal measure. The author has a light style that makes the content very accessible and, at times, uses a wry sense of humour in his writing that I personally found very appealing. A book that you can easily dip into and containing a vast amount of information ranging from obscure facts to a wonderful potted history of sewers, which was delightfully imparted for such a grubby subject. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on a whim, having no idea what to expect and am happy to report that it is well written and superbly researched.

it was a delight from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I lived half an hours train travel from the inner city of London for many years and some of my family lived and worked most of their lives in the heart of it so I was intrigued by this book. We all learnt something new or had memories jogged which sparked a few interesting stories. Had there been more detailed information, without it becoming boring statistics, on each entry instead of the few enticing lines this would have got 5 Stars. Over all enjoyable interesting reading that could have been so much more. Suitable for tourists who only want outlines of interesting places rather than in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this book and learnt some very interesting facts about London
was disappointed when it came to an end
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bizarre indeed, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book and a good coffee table style read
very funny , well written and makes you interested to visit some of the places mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUITE AN EYE OPENER, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Boris "Martin Lee" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bizarre London: Discover the Capital's Secrets & Surprises (Hardcover)
Yes there are things in this very handy book that you would not normally find in most London Guides. I have found that it is a great companion to a mug of Coffee during a break or in the evenings. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars London; warts and all., 14 April 2014
This review is from: Bizarre London: Discover the Capital's Secrets & Surprises (Hardcover)
It is easy to became absorbed in the text from the start by the considered choice of the odd-ball content, and the clear and accessible writing style. And in a sense that is the book’s downfall, for it is self-contained and doesn’t motivate the reader to get out and about to explore the scenes of the stories. This is a shame as the setting for these stories adds so much to them. The context is everything – especially when 21st century London even now still resounds with the grotesques echoes of the past.

And apart from some exquisite illustrations there is a distinct lack of imagery. I wanted to see the photography of the stories’ locations – maybe I will have to get the maps out and venture forth into the real bizarre London after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this before a visit to London and certainly made me much more aware of places I had heard about and intend to find when I visit again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bizzare London, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good pick up and put down book, easy to read, like others a few maps would be helpful.

Like all Kindle books I have read feels like an Abridged version of the Real Book.
Is that just me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 23 Jan 2014
By 
C. R. Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of interesting facts, I can recommend this book, a lot of obscure and hidden things in London that many people don't know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bizarre London: Discover the Capital's Secrets & Surprises
Bizarre London: Discover the Capital's Secrets & Surprises by David Long (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2013)
Used & New from: £3.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews