Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest books ever: Ignore the bad reviews here!
Cannot believe anyone would dislike this book - its hilarious! I defy anyone to read the funeral scene without being reduced to uncontrollable fits of the giggles. It seems to me some of the people leaving bad reviews were expecting a straight "murder mystery" - they should've read the product description! And as for the genius who criticises that it was unrealistic -...
Published 4 months ago by Dymphna

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Second attempt at Nigel Williams books
Just like my first attempt at one of his books I found it very funny to begin with and then the 'humour' became very dark.
We all have our own taste when buying fiction, this just isn't for me.
Published 11 months ago by Susan O'Connor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest books ever: Ignore the bad reviews here!, 7 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Wimbledon Poisoner (Wimbledon Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
Cannot believe anyone would dislike this book - its hilarious! I defy anyone to read the funeral scene without being reduced to uncontrollable fits of the giggles. It seems to me some of the people leaving bad reviews were expecting a straight "murder mystery" - they should've read the product description! And as for the genius who criticises that it was unrealistic - again, this is a FARCE, a black comedy! Its not meant to be "realistic". Nigel Williams is one of the most talented writers in modern English. (For a darker, straight crime novel by this author, try "Stalking Fiona".)
The Wimbledon Poisoner is highly recommended to anyone looking for a satirical comedy of manners with a very dark heart and plenty of belly laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suburban, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Semi comical, yet believable tale of a mid-life crisis to beat them all. The main character has thoughts we all have [well most middle aged men have], has experiences [ditto], and considers options [again ditto] but resolves them in a lateral manner that actually seems quite normal and believable - until you realise what he is doing.
Makes a great change from most crime books where you are left wondering who-done-it. This one you know for sure from page one who did it, its just a question of where-are-we-going. Only half way through it, but want to go on the ride to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wimbledon Poisoner, 25 Sep 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Henry Farr is a solicitor who, as he embarks on his daily routines of going to the office, taking his daughter Maisie to her piano classes/library/swimming lessons, bemoans his lot. The focus of his deep unhappiness is his wife, Elinor, currently undergoing therapy and discovering feminism in an alarming way. In fact, the only way that Henry can see to deal with his problems is to poison his wife. "Being a convicted murderer had the edge on being a solicitor..." he decides, as he embarks wildly on his plan to become 'The Wimbledon Poisoner'. Armed with his vast knowledge of local history and a poisoner who has gone before him, Henry has wild fantasies of poisoning Elinor and freeing himself from her tyranny. Soon, Maple Drive, the quiet suburban street where Henry lives, alongside his humorously self-titled neighbours, will never be the same again. For poisoning is not as straightforward as Henry first thought and, as one of the neighbours is not only fascinated by poisons, but is a member of the local police force, he can feel freedom slipping through his fingers.

This book is as English as a novel can get. Henry's apologetic conversations with victims, his desperate attempts to stop the events he has put in motion and his hysterical address at a neighbour's funeral give the book an air of suburban farce. Never again will you push your trolley through Waitrose without imagining the Wimbledon Poisoner selecting a chicken...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light and comic view of a macabre murderer, with laugh out loud moments and solid roots in suburbia, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and keep abreast of characters and plot. Difficult to place in a specific era, which means it won't become dated, with many references that will strike a cord with the reader. A story in a similar vein to Ben Stiller's woes in Meet the Parents, well worth a read on the old Kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Day Poisoning., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wimbledon Poisoner (Wimbledon Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
The book was a modern whodunnit, which leaves the reader guessing until the very end. Having read a number of books on poisoning (both fiction and non-fiction) I found the book both funny and serious and would certainly recommend it for a little light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently funny read, 24 Jun 2014
I read this book twice many years ago and was looking for Nigel Williams' latest books on Amazon when I stumbled across the previous reviews for this book. I was truly astonished to find that the 4 people in the world with the least developed sense of humour had all read the book. Although I don't know them personally I am confident in my belief that this is the case because to give The Wimbledon Poisoner a one star review is cast iron proof of a complete sense of humour bypass. The book is hilarious from start to finish. The quality of the writing is sublime. I remember re reading passages several times just so I could fully appreciate the crafting of the comedic prose. Please ignore the poor reviews. Download a sample onto your kindle and give it a try. If you don't like it after the sample, consult a doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book especially the first half. I thought the second half of the book was a bit padded out, but overall worth reading and very funny at timessin its observations on surburban living. Will probably read the rest of the trilogy soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Second attempt at Nigel Williams books, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wimbledon Poisoner (Wimbledon Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
Just like my first attempt at one of his books I found it very funny to begin with and then the 'humour' became very dark.
We all have our own taste when buying fiction, this just isn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original, Witty Fiction, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very British, comedic suburban tale that is at times farcical and at times very realistic indeed. I laughed out loud at parts, and was horrified at other parts. Fans of Robert Rankin would probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very funny, and entertaining. Don't need to be a detective to realise outcome at an early stage, but amusing all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wimbledon Poisoner (Wimbledon Trilogy 1)
The Wimbledon Poisoner (Wimbledon Trilogy 1) by Nigel Williams (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews