Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A maze of intrigue and mystery
Once again we have the Macbeth trail of intrigue and mystery, leading you at one point to a solution only to find that you are having to rethink 'who dunnit?' Never fails to surprise at every turn. Will be lost when there are no more Hamish novels at bedtime.
Published on 1 Dec 2010 by Mr. John E. Todman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading
I really like reading these books.
It is really easy reading and generally has a lovely stroy to tell.
I would recomend this and others if you want a weekend read or go on holiday.
Published 6 months ago by Mimms


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A maze of intrigue and mystery, 1 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. John E. Todman "JohnT" (Salisbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once again we have the Macbeth trail of intrigue and mystery, leading you at one point to a solution only to find that you are having to rethink 'who dunnit?' Never fails to surprise at every turn. Will be lost when there are no more Hamish novels at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfied Man Looks for the Murderer of the Perfect Wife, 6 Oct 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Death of a Perfect Wife is my introduction to the Hamish Macbeth mysteries. Having enjoyed the book, I look forward to reading more in the series.

Unambitious, but happy, Police Constable Hamish Macbeth is the one-man police force in the village of Lockdubh in the Scottish Highlands. He has his dog, his sheep, friends and all the time in the world to enjoy life. The hardworking citizens there usually think of their relaxed Bobby as a bit of a goof-off. All that changes when an actual crime occurs that threatens the domestic happiness of many of the village's households.

When Hamish is not out poaching salmon or game, he's given to dreamily considering the delights of Priscilla, daughter of the snooty, hyphenated castle-owning family. He's obsessed with her . . . or his imagination of her . . . and finds it disturbing when Priscilla is seen being friendly with a new man.

Into this idyll comes Trixie Thomas, the new wife of reformed overeater, Paul Thomas. Trixie is the White Tornado of cleanliness. She also advocates healthy living, saving the environment and many other good purposes. Soon, all the husbands in Lockdubh are having salads and fiber instead of steak and potatoes, giving up smoking and being hectored to give up other bad habits at Trixie's instigation to their wives.

Trixie also makes no bones about needing money and is constantly scrounging up old furniture to furnish a bed and breakfast establishment. The uproar becomes even stronger when Trixie leads a group to stop a local farmer from knocking over a building with bats in it.

Then, the uproar takes a new turn when Trixie turns up dead. Blair, Hamish's sarcastic superior, takes over . . . but Hamish plods away on his own. The investigation is complicated when Blair's new superior decides that Hamish is the route to Priscilla's hospitality for his wife.

The mystery isn't very mysterious, but the novel does a fine job of exploring the ways that we mis-mate ourselves by the expectations we bring to relationships and marriage. Those misperceptions can cause a lot of harm.

I listened to the Recorded Books version of the book as portrayed by Davina Porter and found my enjoyment greatly enhanced by her imaginative use of Highland accents and verbal pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL VILLAGE COZY..., 6 Mar 2012
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the fourth book in a series of cozy mysteries featuring lovable Highlander, Hamish Macbeth, the constable for the sleepy village of Lochdubh in northern Scotland. Hamish is enjoying his perfect village life, when Trixie Thomas moves into town with her milquetoast husband in town.

A paragon of domestic perfection, Trixie stirs up the village ladies into a frenzy of housewifely perfection, which drives the local men crazy, and, before you know it, Trixie is no longer among the living. This turn of events serves to jostle Hamish out of his summer doldrums to find out just who did the perfect housewife in. Of course, Hamish also has his own personal travails with blonde beauty, Priscilla Halburton-Smythe, to whom he has given his heart. It seems that she has returned to Lochdubh from London with yet another man in tow.

In this book, village life takes center stage and the village characters begin being developed, giving the book that cozy feel. The book is also laced with sly humor throughout that is engaging, keeping the mood of the book light and highly enjoyable. As with all cozy mysteries, it is not so much the mystery that is of import but the characters that revolve around the mystery. While the mysteries are intriguing, they are the framework around which the characters evolve. In the endearing character of Hamish Macbeth, the author has created a sure fire winner, who is bound to win many fans of the cozy mystery genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT MENACE MORE LIKE, 20 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Lochdubh is plagued by midges, flies and Trixie Thomas. With husband Paul in tow, she invades the remote Highland village to start up a "Bed & Breakfast". Pleading poverty, she begs locals for furniture they have to spare. Soon it becomes evident she is a control freak, fellow wives exorted to be militant - insisting at their homes there be no smoking and healthy diets introduced. Husbands are not pleased - until she is discovered dead.

Easy-going constable Hamish Macbeth finds his calm little world again in turmoil, superiors (in rank only) descending to demand how he proceed. It is all very complicated with rat poison apparently commonplace in so many cottages and the discovery Trixie had been selling donated old furniture for a small fortune at a nearby town's auctions.

As ever, unconventional Hamish delights - the result an agreeable read. Humour abounds. (The doctor's wife announces she will bake a cake. He reminds her where the fire extinguisher is kept.) It greatly appeals that Hamish is so content with his lot. He may be poor as far as money is concerned, but is rich in what matters so much more. A meaningful relationship with Priscilla still eludes but may be resolved in one of the many sequels. Something to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Perfect Form, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bless MCB for writing a set of jolly murder mysteries which can fit into a slim handbag! Once again she has written a lovely light and frothy murder story. For once it focuses on the women of Lochdubh although most don't make the best first impression as they are under the thumb of the hideous "perfect wife". Three cheers when she gets bumped off! Read on to find out which green-eyed female or worm that turned male did her in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death of a perfect wife review, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. D. Akllwright (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is an excellent example of the hamish macbeth stories well writen and presented by m c beaton as ever it follow hamish on a mystery that has intrigueing ins and outs. A book that you feel you cannot put down and well worth spending the time to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy relaxing read, but a compulsive page turner, 16 July 2014
By 
YeahYeahNoh (Willenhall, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fourth in the series, and the formula is fairly well kept.
Hamish (the PC) has to turn detective while his bosses from the town generally demean him and take credit for what he does.
The love interest with Priscilla continues to move slightly, maybe backwards rather than forwards, but who knows?
As usual, beneath the gentle and easy to read story, there's a decent if old-fashioned plot going on, and this is a book, like the others, more suited to a recreational holiday read rather than an in-depth cutting edge book club analysis. But, of its type, it is excellent, and I found myself reading it quickly and enjoying every minute.
If you like others in the series, you would like this; if you don't, you would not find anything here to change your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hamish MacBeth - always a great read, 5 July 2014
I love the tales of Hamish MacBeth; I have read each novel & can't wait until the next book is available. If you are a "Hamish" fan you must watch the TV series starring Robert Carlyle .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish Macbeth) (Paperback)
I really like reading these books.
It is really easy reading and generally has a lovely stroy to tell.
I would recomend this and others if you want a weekend read or go on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great catching up with Hamish, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Years since I saw Hamish on television. Just loved the characters.
Non threatening plot, a good twist! Will read more stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish Macbeth)
Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish Macbeth) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 28 Mar 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews