Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars136
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2013
Quite simply, this is the best leadership book I've ever read. And I've read quite a few.

Its easy to read style takes you behind the scenes of the All Blacks, one of the worlds' most consistently high performing teams. It takes you into the pitches, locker rooms, practice sessions, selection panels and brutally honest `bunker' room conversations. It gives you pages packed with candid insights, fabulous quotes and powerful wisdoms shared by players and coaches. And then blends these beautifully with work by other leaders and leadership writers.

With some books you get the feeling that it can be condensed to 2 or three sides of A4, and has been expanded to fill a book. Not so this one. 15 sections each pick a theme that are simply packed with good stuff. I'm one of those readers who likes to mark pages and sections of particular interest. Hardly a page of this one was unmarked.

The book shows just how much goes into a great performing team, and how much it goes beyond simply 'winning'. The people speaking have been unflinching in discussing the setbacks and losing, and what they did in those times too. Throughout there's real heart and soul and greater purpose in here.

For me, this is not just a book for sports lovers (though I'm sure they'll love it - loads of stories and insights to share with your mates). In fact I've shown it to people who have little or no interest in sport whatsoever and they wanted a copy too. It goes deeper. I'm imagining it's for anyone who wants to be part of a team that itself wants to create, well, a Legacy through their work in some way.

I love it.

Inspiring, enjoyable, and quite brilliant.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This is a no nonsense management book on how to lead a group or turn an under performing group. It is based on the primarily on the All Blacks being a recognisable high performing results achieving team.
But Kerr also extracts supporting arguments from a number of numerous popular leadership and management sources as not all have books about them the managing pressure was very insightful to me..
Some of his points maybe found by some a little too brief as the book is based on 15 principles over only 225 pages (but personally I read Richie McCaw's and Graham Henry's books straight after for supporting insight), though you get enough of an understanding to work with the principles in this book.
I don't feel you can't be inspired by reading this (or at the very least looking for Haka videos on the internet)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
You don't have to like sport to learn from and enjoy this book.it is about courage and meaning. Finding your strength and creating your story are the central challenges of this book.be a good ancestor.plant a tree who's shade you will not see.an antidote to secular materialism and a shout towards something more ancient and more free.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Must say this is one of my favourite books, its one that I buy for friends when taking up new jobs.
It is full of interesting lessons from the All blacks.
I really enjoyed reading this it made jury service at least tolerable, and it was one that I didn't want to finish
I am not a big rugby fan so didn't recognise some of the situations described in terms of the big games and some of the personalities. I tis however well written and the author keeps relating back to to the core of the book.
If you are looking for some inspiration or a new way of looking at how to lead your team then I would definitely look at this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Very interesting read. I read it from both a business & rugby fan perspective. A lot of the principles in this book that could be adapted into the commercial world are straightforward (although not necessarily evident in many businesse) - but seeing how a whole rugby fraternity has enaged in a common goal for the betterment of both individual, collective & national gains in an eye-opener.
Its refreshing to see how the All Blacks rugby set up has built on years of its tradition, taken an open view of the changing world, and still managed to sublimely combine the best of the amateur ethos and professional methods.
I suggest every football manager in England slips a copy into the kit bag of every player on his excessively expanding payroll who can read, and ask for their views. I think they'd have a hissy fit at having the sweep the changing rooms after an International at Wembley - but what a leveller it would be.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
As an elite football coach working with youth players looking to become professionals, I had been recommended this book by a number of colleagues.
The messages, metaphors and images conjured up by James Kerr have had a real impact on how I view teams and individuals within it, methods to get people to buy in and take ownership of shared goals, and what is really important when forming, norming, storming and ultimately performing as a team.
Everything within this book also applies to any organisation it business and key lessons to be learnt from the All Blacks!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
This is one of the best connection books I have ever read. It evokes great visual and kinaesthetic emotions. I get why the All Black get it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Disappointing. All Blacks name used mainly to promote book!

Each chapter seems to be an awful lot of management quotes and ideas added together, rather than the in depth review of the rugby team team that I was hoping for.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This is no ordinary management handbook. It's also a compelling story, an inspirational text, an anthropological survey, and a philosophical treatise. This excellent book works brilliantly on many levels to help leaders manage teams, deliver change, and leave a lasting legacy. Full of fascinating anecdotes and profound wisdom, it's sure to be a future classic. A highly satisfying read that inspires you practical change.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
This book provides amazing insight and presents ideas that make so much sense without being overly complicated. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)