Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
good book
Published 1 month ago by chris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the first book in the series (Shades of Milk ...
Like the first book in the series (Shades of Milk and Honey), this starts slowly, with a lot of sightseeing-style story-telling. But once the action starts, it is quite frenetic, particularly as Jane tries to get Vincent to take her seriously. She is left to save the day, and I must admit I was surprised at the ending.
Published 23 days ago by Susan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Like the first book in the series (Shades of Milk ..., 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Glamour in Glass (The Glamourist Histories) (Paperback)
Like the first book in the series (Shades of Milk and Honey), this starts slowly, with a lot of sightseeing-style story-telling. But once the action starts, it is quite frenetic, particularly as Jane tries to get Vincent to take her seriously. She is left to save the day, and I must admit I was surprised at the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glamour in Glass, 23 May 2014
I will start by saying that if you enjoyed Shades of Milk & Honey then the chances are you will enjoy this just as much. If a historical fiction novel with a generous of helping of magic doesn't sound like your thing, then don't read it but it will be your loss.

This is a style of writing that is definitely in homage to Jane Austen and it is done incredibly well. The situations that Jane finds herself in bring her to question her very upbringing and the rigidity of society's rules for women. Jane is very lucky in that she has her very own Mr Darcy in the shape of her husband, Mr David Vincent. Just like Mr Darcy, you learn more about Vincent as the book progresses - as Jane learns something, so does the reader. He is a very deep and introverted character who is well worth the time to get to know and is the perfect match for Jane.

Jane and Vincent have to face the trials and tribulations of marriage as well as being surrounded by a war not of their making. Just who can they trust?

This story will wrap you up in its verse and style of writing and take you to an alternate historical period. I have really enjoyed reading both of these books and will definitely be keeping and re-reading them. Simply beautiful.

Kindle Daily Deal - 29th April 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Tosh!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only the second book in my whole life that I have abandoned half way through. I guess "glamour" is not for me, although I have enjoyed many books involving supernatural phenomena, this was a step too far for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good easy read, ideal for holiday or a lazy weekend!

Would have been interesting to go into more depth, but would read more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sequel, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the first book, I expected a lot, but this was wonderful! I love that the author chose a less common setting for her regency period book, Belgium during a Napoleonic advance. Again, the magi is understated, just part of the characters lives, yet important to the plot. Just lovely, and I'm looking forward to reading more in this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a good follow up to Shades of Milk and Honey, it is always nice to see what happens next to characters you like, but I just felt that it lacked a certain something. Maybe humour, or drama (except for the ending), also the conflict between the couple seemed artificial and contrived. Its good to read the first time, but I don't have any desire to reread it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glamour in Glass (The Glamourist Histories)
Glamour in Glass (The Glamourist Histories) by Mary Robinette Kowal (Paperback - 3 Oct 2013)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews