Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Craig back on form
This is more like Craig of old, a good balanced book of the detectives working life torn up by tribulations in his private/family life. I was disappointed by the The Circus but this redeems the author.
Published 12 months ago by BigD

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, still some good bits but less satisfying than the rest of the series
In pretty short order this is already the sixth in the series. Carlyle has, in some respects, become a bit more human with his wife and daughter getting slightly more than walk on parts. London shines through and the sense of place is strong. But what was the main story here? The child-abusing priest? The diamond theft? Carlyle's disciplinary? There's gratuitous death...
Published 12 months ago by tpryan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Craig back on form, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is more like Craig of old, a good balanced book of the detectives working life torn up by tribulations in his private/family life. I was disappointed by the The Circus but this redeems the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just gets better and better., 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books and would recommend them to anyone who likes a good English police procedural. They also get better and better as the characters develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my old mate - Inspector Carlyle, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Craig's Inspector Carlyle novels are always entertaining and A Man of Sorrows is no exception. It is a book you can put down and pick up later on without having to go back and refresh your memory. It's a pity there are not more Policemen like Carlyle in the Met these days. A refreshing read and good for people with busy lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Detective Novel, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The irascible, forthright and grumpy Inspector John Carlyle returns for the 6th time in James Craig's latest novel. With new partner, DS Alison Roche ('a striking red head with a sharp temper to match'), Carlyle tackles his cases with his usual unorthodox methods. The author has a penchant for venting his opinions through his characters and their investigations. This often lends weight to the narrative whilst at other times can be an amusing (or irritating) distraction. Carlyle has a succession of crimes and perpetrators to investigate simultaneously leading to several plot-lines. Already facing disciplinary inquiries for assaulting a paedophile priest, Carlyle and Roche are under pressure from a bigoted alcoholic Commander to resolve them swiftly.

An amateurish armed high-class jewellery robbery occurs that has ramifications for the detectives throughout the story. The Catholic Church feature prominently with topical issues of alleged sexual abuse, dwindling interest and money laundering; also a papal visit is imminent that has powerful opposition. London's Mayor, Charles Holyrod,'a grinning idiot promoting cycle ways', is coerced into involvement with the Catholic hierarchy, Metropolitan Police Officer reductions and Carlyle's conduct. Murders add to the intrigue.

Carlyle continues relentlessly with his work in his usual style, interrupted by numerous café stops, achieving a high clear-up rate yet inevitably upsetting his superiors. The narrative is engaging with plenty of action but is not particularly pacey. The characters introduced are outlined in a straightforward way and the book's layout keeps the sub plots clear. Although there is some overlapping they are fairly routine with a few twists cropping up. It is the demeanour of Carlyle and his interaction with people and circumstances that maintain interest. Roche is the perfect foil. She is hard, reliable and loyal. Carlyle, as the author appears to be, has his own opinions, is outspoken but comes across as sincere. Whether he is likeable or not is a matter of taste. His family take more prominence in this story having their own problems. James Craig has written a typical Inspector Carlyle novel that I found an easy, enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, still some good bits but less satisfying than the rest of the series, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Sorrows (Inspector Carlyle 6) (Paperback)
In pretty short order this is already the sixth in the series. Carlyle has, in some respects, become a bit more human with his wife and daughter getting slightly more than walk on parts. London shines through and the sense of place is strong. But what was the main story here? The child-abusing priest? The diamond theft? Carlyle's disciplinary? There's gratuitous death aplenty with one killer admitting that he didn't need to have committed one murder but that 'she was just a pain'. The Mayor's appearance in the story is unconvincing and his purported affair with one of the characters doesn't add anything. It's all readable enough until it just peters out at the end - another death conveniently ending one of the plot lines when yet two more of the characters are now apparently having an affair. I've enjoyed the series but think I'll call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great ...., 29 Jan. 2015
First book I have read in this series. Reasonably entertaining but in no way comparable to the likes of Peter James, Ian Rankin, Val McDermid etc. Expect some degree of dramatic license in crime fiction but unforgivable to describe PCSOs as "volunteers" instead of referring to Specials. Just one example of some very sloppy / lazy research pervading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On going saga, enjoy the character but needs to get sharper as in his other books.
Look forward to the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual interesting plots,with excellent detail on parts of London and the Carlyle humour.Cant wait for the next instalment when available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I think it's time to put John Carlyle away for good it just does nothing for me, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all previous carlyle novels I said I wasn't going to bother with any more as I felt that the plots are non existent and I wasn't proved wrong. I think it's time to put John Carlyle away for good it just does nothing for me, sorry out of loyalty I gave this 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crime as Fun, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Sorrows (Inspector Carlyle 6) (Paperback)
Reading this series, is always entertaining, and the lead character is far more believable than the "mainstream" policemen, James Craig delivers a robust intelligent drama, a suitable candidate for TV dramatisation..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Man of Sorrows (Inspector Carlyle 6)
A Man of Sorrows (Inspector Carlyle 6) by James Craig (Paperback - 20 Feb. 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews