Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still keeping its head above the clouds, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It sounds like damning with faint praise to say that Cabin Pressure is probably the best sitcom on radio at the moment, but, while it may be formulaic, it really does deliver the laughs well into its fourth series and remains a joy to listen to. As usual, each episode is based on a disastrous charter for its low rent tottering-on-the-verge-of-bankruptcy single-plane airline with the combination of its polar opposite characters and unfortunate circumstances played off to perfection by an ideal cast. While Roger Allam is on his usual deliciously dryly condescending form, Stephanie Cole wears her best dismissively authoritarian yet still recognisably human demeanour (with series three's Anthony Head as her new regular romantic interest) and writer John Finnemore manages to make his too stupid to live flight attendant both a goldmine of optimistic inanity and still strangely credible in this environment, it's particularly pleasing that despite the success of Sherlock and working with the likes of Spielberg, Benedict Cumberbatch's underachieving captain is still with the show (although a cliffhanger ending to the final episode leaves his return in series five open to question).

After the slightly bumpy ride in season three there's a particularly good run of episodes this season that see the return of the odious but heavy-tipping Birling of Birling Day (given an inspired topsy-turvy spin this year), the introduction of Martin's overachieving brother, an unorthodox interview technique, a farcically disastrous stopover in Ireland and, best of all, the introduction of a possible regal romantic interest for Martin on a trip to Vaduz with the infantile king of Lichtenstein and his sister (a wonderfully funny Mathilda Ziegler). It may not break any new ground, but it's so much fun - while still retaining affection for it's oh so fallible ensemble - that it doesn't matter. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cabin Pressure, Series 4: I'm trying to run an airline, not an owl sanctuary!, 22 May 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cabin Pressure seems to be thge main star in Radio 4's comedy firmament at the moment. With a genuine A list cast (Benedict Cumberbatch who seems to be in everything on both sides of the Atlantic these days, Roger Allam who is also doing fine work as the only watchable character in Endeavour, well loved veteran Stephanie Cole and writer John Finnimore) and some decent writing it is easy to see why.

Writer Finnimore sticks pretty true to the tried and tested comedy formulas, and why not? They work so well. Following the old 150s-1960s Service comedy formula of the crooked one (Allam), the honest one who knows what's going on and can't stop it (Cumberbatch), the idiot subordinate (Finnimore) and the superior who tries but eternally fails to outsmart the crooked one Cole), and set in a ramshackle air line this is comedy gold. We get to follow the adventures oft eh cabin crew as they try to deceive passengers and each other in the hope of earning a quick buck. It's good old fashioned stuff, the kind of rock solid humour that should be good for several more series (a-la Navy Lark...). With some excellent writing from Finnimore, who sets up some good situations, understands each of his characters and is not afraid to share out the good lines among the other characters, and the top notch performances that you would expect from such a talented cast, this is a series that had me laughing till it hurt.

All six episodes of series 4 are here, two episodes a disc on three discs held in a double jewel case. The liner notes are down the Beeb's usual poor standard in this department, limited to a list of cast and crew and index points for the different episodes. There is a factual error here, with the liner listing twenty chapters per disc (10 per episode) when in fact there are only 12 per disc (6 per episode). So if you want to jump to the second episode on a disc you need to go to chapter 7, not 11 as the liner states. A minor point I guess, but it caused me some confusion and irritation.
5 stars in all for this excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest thing on radio, 25 May 2013
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It took me a couple of listens to 'get' Cabin Pressure when I first heard it, but then I was hooked. It's a radio series about a small air charter firm, with one plane. One of the pilots (Martin, played by Benedict Cumberbatch) is keen but not very good; the other (Douglas, played by Roger Allam) is an old hand who knows every dodge in the book and has been reduced to flying for a two-bit charter firm after leaving a prestigious airline under a cloud. Keeping them in check is Caroline, the owner (played by Stephanie Cole), and John Finnemore, the writer, plays Arthur, her son and the steward, who is irrepressably enthusiastic about everything.

The interplay between the characters is superb; Cumberbatch acts as a straight man to Allam, who steals the show as the world-weary, cynical, all-knowing Douglas. The writing is first-rate (and the bits about flying seem to be accurate), and the comedy varies from wry in-jokes to laugh-out-loud gags with episode-long set-ups. Unlike most comedies, which tend to be running out of steam by the fourth series, the episodes on these three discs are as well-written and funny as ever, and they repay repeated listening.

If you already know and love Cabin Pressure, have no hesitation in ordering series 4; if you've never heard it, I'd recommend starting with series 1 and working your way through in order, but you'll be buying this one before long.

One of the best companions I can think of for a long car journey - recommended without hesitation. Can't wait for series 5 to find out what happens after the cliffhanger at the end of series 4...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed This, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I caught just the last part of the final episode on the BBC broadcast and coudnt find it on BBC iPlayer.
When I saw this set of 6 episodes I didnt realise that there are had been any previous series.
I now want to go back and buy the Series 1 to 3.
It wasnt difficult to pick up the thread though and the interaction of the 4 main characters.
We are now left with the suspense of wondering if Captain Martin having being offered a job with Swissair will leave.
He has brilliantly memorised all the flight manuals and had the highest passmark ever at his interview but we all know that he needs First Officer Douglas to actually know how to fly the aeroplane.
Enjoyable Program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, but..., 8 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
This is the most wonderfully entertaining show, although unfortunately I have yet to hear Series 4. Seller opened a long delivery window, then expressed surprise that I had not notified non receipt until the end. Responded well by offering replacement immediately, then discovered not in stock. Again responded well with immediate refund. But overall the exercise took several weeks from order to non fulfillment. However, Series 1 to 3 were, as Arthur would say, brilliant. We are listening for the second time and still laughing out loud. Get all the episodes however you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, brilliant cast, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
and as Arthur would say "Brilliant" ! Sad that there will be no more :o( I shall definitely miss the dulcet tones of Roger Allam, sigh....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Cabin Pressure was , to copy Arthur, BRILLIANT. It was one of those series that you don't want to end. We listened to it in the car on holiday to while away the motorway kilometres and it really did shorten the journey. It is impossible to pick out one particular person as better than the rest as they were all excellent. Please John Finnemore may we have more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written comedy, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Excellent news - 'yellow car' is back. John Finnemore's scripts rule!
A must buy for anyone with a funny bone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming British sit-com, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cabin Pressure is a typical British Radio 4 sitcom and it's utterly adorable. It's a typical sitcom in that it is about a bunch of misfits who are forced into spending a lot of time together (in this case they are all employees of a rather shambolic airline). The cast is wonderful. Benedict Cumberbatch is great in this and I will never get bored of listening to Roger Allam's dulcet tones. The comedy isn't particularly original, but it doesn't need to be as the humour comes from the characters. If you are new to Cabin Pressure I would certainly recommend buying the earlier series before starting with this one as there are a lot of in-jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word - Brilliant!, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 (Audio CD)
I love this series, and am thrilled and gutted in equal measure about the way series 4 ended. Youhave to listen to find out, but safe to say that Martin ends up, if not on top, then at least nearing the summit, at long last.
Love the writing, love the humour, adore the cast, think Joihn Finnemore is a genius.
Repeated listening only improves the show.
Love love love.

Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4
Cabin Pressure The Complete Series 4 by John Finnemore (Audio CD - 2 May 2013)
13.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews