Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit early for a tribute - he is alive and kicking!
DAVID ATTENBOROUGH - In his own words

This is a 75 minute CD containing extracts and recordings of this narrator of natural history films, sometime manager of the fledgling BBC2. Usually these " recollections" are issued on the death of a famous person - glad to see (Sir) David is still with us and actively following the film crews around an ever shrinking...
Published 18 months ago by Dr. I. Cox

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
This AudioGo collection, "David Attenborough in his own words", is a strange release, being a lumped together arrangement of five separate BBC recordings of interviews with one of the BBC's most iconic figures. The recordings range from an interview with Michael Parkinson for BBC One's "Parkinson" in 1975, to an episode of "Desert Island Discs" on BBC Radio 4 in 2012. In...
Published 17 months ago by Steve Benner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 18 April 2013
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This AudioGo collection, "David Attenborough in his own words", is a strange release, being a lumped together arrangement of five separate BBC recordings of interviews with one of the BBC's most iconic figures. The recordings range from an interview with Michael Parkinson for BBC One's "Parkinson" in 1975, to an episode of "Desert Island Discs" on BBC Radio 4 in 2012. In between are two other appearances on "Desert Island Discs" (in 1979 with Roy Plomley and in 1998, with Sue Lawley) and an interview with Mark Lawson in 2005 for BBC Four.

While David Attenborough is a fascinating individual, with a great deal to tell from his life and work with the BBC as a manager and administrator, as well as naturalist and anthropologist, the offerings on this disc do little to present what he might have to say at its best. Each interview tends to dwell on more or less the same episodes and events in Attenborough's life and career, so we tend to get the same questions asked repeatedly by each of the interviewers, with Attenborough giving much the same answers in each case. Furthermore, the editing out of all references to the subject's musical choices in the three "Desert Island Disc" extracts has resulted in a generally ragged and poorly flowing series of interviews which, while informative and entertaining overall, leave one feeling a little disappointed -- cheated, almost -- by the end.

Considering how much fascinating material this recording could have contained, this is a very disappointing production indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Attenborough, 17 April 2013
By 
D. Maddox (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really hoping that this would be new material about this eminently fascinating man who has led an extraordinary life in two separate genres - natural history and television, from the Galapagos Islands to BBC's Television Centre. However the BBC has fallen foul of an ever-growing trend of cobbling together already broadcast material from the BBC archive, with an obsession on this occasion with Desert Island Discs with his 3 appearances given equal billing. Surely a man with 60+ years in educating us in the beauty of the natural world should have been given 'carte blanche' to produce new material. So if you are a true Attenborough fan, this is one to remain on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Listen but Limited in Content, 1 April 2013
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a 75 minute CD containing a selection of interviews of David Attenbourgh by a variety of interviewers including Parkinson and Mark Lawson. The interviews stem from the 1970's to the present day. There is very little new in this CD if you are an avid reader of Attenbourghs' books or have followed his career in any way. In essence what this CD is, is a compilation of a variety of interviews, that open the door on the man and career intermingled with some witty anecdotes of his life and that is it. There is so much more that could have been provided on his extraordinary career, which would be impossible to include in the meager 75 minutes. I think if the BBC were to do this properly they should create a multi disc set spanning his career which would be a fitting tribute to this great broadcaster.

The concept is interesting but it is too short a recording to do justice to this extraordinary man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five very interesting interviews - but is it really worth paying to have them on CD?, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 5:41 Mins

'David Attenborough - In His Own Words' is an audio CD compiling together five separate interviews with the world famous naturalist and tv/radio presenter - Sir David Attenborough. The interviews themselves were carefully selected by the BBC to show, over just 1hr 15mins, some of the incredible life that Attenborough has had since he first joined the BBC back in 1950.

The five interviews (although none in their entirety) that are included on this one CD are:

- 20/12/75 - Broadcast on the BBC One show 'Parkinson'
- 10/03/79 - Broadcast on the BBC Radio 4 show 'Desert Island Discs'
- 25/12/98 - Broadcast on the BBC Radio 4 show 'Desert Island Discs'
- 27/02/05 - Broadcast on the BBC Four show 'Mark Lawson Talks To David Attenborough'
- 29/01/12 - Broadcast on the BBC Radio 4 show 'Desert Island Discs'

And to say that Sir David Attenborough has had a rich and full life is one hell of an understatement. Through the course of these five interviews, it really begins to become apparent just how incredibly fulfilling Attenborough's life has been. He's achieved so much, seen so much, contributed so much to broadcasting history, and in doing so, enriched the lives of so many people through documenting a lifetimes worth of natural history.

I've always loved and held a great respect for Sir David Attenborough, but after listening to this collection of carefully chosen interviews brought together, I find myself admiring the man even more. Okay, so it's unlikely that I'll sit down and listen to the interviews all over again anytime soon. Perhaps in a few year's time I'll revisit them during another long car journey. But that's about it.

And that's really the only fault I can see with the CD. It's just not something that I can imagine many people with return to enough times to justify purchasing it. Yes it's interesting to hear. And yes I enjoyed it in its entirety when I listened to it. But does this mean it's worth forking out for a physical copy of the interviews so that you can listen to them whenever you want? In my opinion, probably not! And that's really the question that you should ask yourself before parting with your money...is it worth the few pounds it costs (although admittedly not exactly a hefty investment), to be able to hear these five interviews whenever you want? For me the answer is probably 'no'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit early for a tribute - he is alive and kicking!, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Dr. I. Cox "ian_cox9" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
DAVID ATTENBOROUGH - In his own words

This is a 75 minute CD containing extracts and recordings of this narrator of natural history films, sometime manager of the fledgling BBC2. Usually these " recollections" are issued on the death of a famous person - glad to see (Sir) David is still with us and actively following the film crews around an ever shrinking world astounding and amazing us with his voice over of the views of the natural world. Someone finds a new area to explore or a new technology to exploit and Sir David is there
If you want an insight into this amazing man who has popularised so many excellent natural history films from 1952 to the current , then this is a good snapshot of the man revealed in several interviews. It also gives an excellent flavour of his childhood and his times as a manager at the BBC during its expansion in the 60's / 70's
Apart from some repetition, this CD encapsulates a living legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough in his own words - an excellent cd, 7 Feb 2013
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This cd is a collection of interviews in which David Attenborough talks about his life. I have always found David Attenborough to be one of the most interesting people to watch and listen to, and eagerly await each of his new tv series. David Attenborough In his Own Words makes a great addition to Mr Attenborough's numerous books and dvds. The cd contains him being interviewed by Michael Parkinson and Mark Lawson, as well as 3 appearances on Desert Island Disks. The sound quality is pritty good for the age of some of the material which dates back to the 70's. The cd is quite short and runs for around 75 minutes. Hopefully the BBC will release another cd with more about David Attenborough's facinating life - fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Could be A Whole Lot Better., 5 Feb 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
David Attenborough and the word `legend' are often linked.
But in David's case this really is merited.

This then is a small tribute to the great man himself and consists of 5 `cobbled' together interviews to showcase Attenborough's greatness.

I say greatness because I truly believe he is along with the late departed Patrick Moore he is one of the few greats of broadcasting history.

This brief at 75 minutes, CD gives the listener a chance to hear the wonderful tones of David Attenborough and relive his anecdotes of an eventful life.
The disc stars well with an interview with Michael Parkinson.
Parkinson is of course wonderful and he brings out the best in his guest however this is all too brief and we then have 3 Desert Island Disc shows, or rather extracts of Attenborough being interviewed. Followed by Mark Lawson talks.
The dates are Parkinson 1975, Desert Island Discs 1979, 1998 and 2012, and Mark Lawson Talks 2005.

The one I enjoyed the most was Roy Plomley's 1979. This seemed newer to my ear rather than the later interviews were the top event in David's career- the gorilla meeting was repeated and is a very familiar story from his appearances on television chat shows.

I enjoyed the CD greatly and it brightened a dull car journey but the CD gives the listener the idea that it has been a rushed job - fades seem strange and there is some repetition.

With a little love and care and a bit more research I am sure this could easily have been improved upon.

I feel sure that within the BBC archives there are tens of hours of interviews and not just radio- television chat shows could have easily been incorporated to really do justice to this remarkable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a great many personalities you only find out what they want you to know..., 27 Dec 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
This is a fascinating item covering as it does interview material from 1975 to 2012 from both radio and television sources and the running time of approx 75 minutes certainly provides plenty for your outlay. Like so many that have gone before him and in particular with the repeating of questions and themes the listener/viewer does not learn as much as they might. I am not always sure if this is to do with the subject or the interviewer. Like his brother Richard they both have contributed greatly to the old establishment whilst embracing change hence David's enthusiasm fr BBC2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "David is like a family friend",, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
is what my grown-up children say - we used to watch David's wonderful series together at home for years. The CD is very interesting, Sir David has a lot to tell us and he is fun and entertaining and sincere and accurate and scholarly at the same time. This CD is a real treat, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a legend, 20 Jun 2013
By 
litlight - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: David Attenborough in His Own Words (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
David Attenborough is a legend. This CD contains a wide collection of interviews from a variety of shows including Parkinson and Mark Lawson over a wide time frame from 70's to the present. There is a lot of material there, it gives a great insight into David's life and personality. A great addition for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Attenborough in His Own Words
David Attenborough in His Own Words by Sir David Attenborough (Audio CD - 6 Dec 2012)
6.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews