Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny
Loved the dvd so wanted to be able to listen to it in the car, in the kitchen really cheers you up especially her own little giggle.
Published 18 months ago by pinkranger13

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly unfunny
I wanted to hear this because so many people had told me how funny Sarah Millican is. Unfortunately, I think I am definitely the wrong age, and possibly the wrong gender, for her stage show. The laughter seemed to come mainly from swearing and jokes about masturbation. I found it more boring than funny.
Published 18 months ago by Phillyfan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 4 April 2013
By 
pinkranger13 (Cambridge England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Loved the dvd so wanted to be able to listen to it in the car, in the kitchen really cheers you up especially her own little giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, frank and wonderfully entertaining., 21 Jan 2013
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"Chatterbox Live" is an audio CD of Sarah Millican's 2011 performance at the Bloomsbury Theatre in London.
It's widely available on DVD, but this CD would be a good choice for the car, for giggles on long journeys, to listen to when viewing isn't possible or for anyone with visual impairment and a broad mind.

Sarah Millican is very much a verbal rather than a visual comedian, so there are very few jokes that are missed - although there are one or two. You do need to fill in a few gaps as you imagine the expression on Sarah's wonderfully expressive face that provokes a burst of audience laughter.

The language is strong, but no worse than you would hear on many a Saturday night, and whilst the topics would shock a maiden aunt, nothing is offensive. It's a fine line between blue and filth and Sarah Millican is a master at it. I've seen the DVD and I still laughed out loud at this whilst doing the ironing.. Sarah Millican is a new but very definite national treasure; South Shields' finest export for many years.
Recommended for anyone broadminded who likes a laugh and doesn't 'do' DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live - Hilarious, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Running to about 2 hours, on two discs in a fold out jewel case, this is a slice of classic modern comedy from someone who looks set to be one of the top stand-ups of the decade. Playing the gender card Millican gives us two hours of observational humour based largely around male/female stereotypes and humour from the female perspective delivered in her easygoing chatty style. It's sharp, refreshing and very very funny. I loved it. Be warned, it is a lot ruder than she usually is on telly or radio! But very funny. 5 stars, and I look forward to seeing Millican's star continue to rise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and good quality, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Excellent, as funny as I was expecting from Sarah Millican and makes a good change from music CDs on long car journeys. You obviously can't see the hand actions or facial expressions that are part of the show....but just a good excuse for getting the DVD for the house and keeping this in the car. Good sound quality. Can hear Sarah Millican well and can also hear audience participation well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for children's ears, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are reading this, then you already know Sarah Millican and her brand of humour. On the tele, her act is (obviously) moderated for the wider audience; in this production it is not.

Many of the routines, if you have watched her on the box, will already be familiar to you, but there are plenty of extra laughs with this uncensored production.

Great for listening to on a long car journey or just when you want some downtime.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
this was purchased as a present and the receiver was extremely pleased she is a very funny woman anyway so not much to dislike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Listened to this in the car on a long journey. So funny, laughed out loud throughout. Can't wait to get next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans, 14 April 2013
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you love Sarah Millican, then chances are that you might already own this. If you have never encountered her (and given how much she has appeared on the media in recent years - that is going to be a pretty small group of people), is this the right place to start?

For me, it has to be a no.

Her comedy is quirky, off-beat and different - but I think it works better when you are see her. As a DVD release, I think this would work a lot better than it does as a CD.

The fans will love this - as they will be able to almost see her in action in their minds' eye. However for someone, like me, who likes her - but only in short dozes, it is a bit too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This tiny terror tickles your funny bone, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sarah Millican's squeaky Geordie voice has its unique warm appeal; her cosy, confiding way when gleefully setting off on along a riff of funnies can have you doubled up. Although I had heard quite a bit already, from her radio performances, it is fun to have the whole set accessible on the two cds.

However she does freely admit that, on disc, `I'm a lot ruder than I am on the telly' so do be warned that she indulges in lots of lavatory humour and routinely uses `bad' language. The absence of a censor does mean some of the stories run on rather longer than might make for comfortable listening should you find the content offensive. So not perhaps for your maiden aunt.

Some of the jokes and observations she banters away with the audience, start out nice and friendly, but are actually barbed and sharp, I would be scared to be picked out/picked on by her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Side-splittingly funny, 27 Dec 2012
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ever since I first saw Sarah Millican on TV, I knew she was destined for great things. I listened to this CD in the car and was laughing and smiling from the moment I put it on. Chatterbox Live is hilarious though I feel I should warn that it is rude and there is a fair bit of swearing - this is not one to listen to with the kids or perhaps the more conservative members of the family.
If you are looking for something to cheer you up and get you laughing then I guarantee that this CD will do it for you. I can highly recommend it and will certainly be on the lookout for more Millican!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live
Sarah Millican: Chatterbox Live by Sarah Millican (Audio CD - 26 Nov 2012)
Used & New from: £0.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews