Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2013
Great pace, great characters, smart cop and a good ending. Francis Durbridge is a fun alternative to modern, over-done intrigue mysteries.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
This was a real good read or in this case listen. It was hard to believe that this was written so very long ago. It was well read and the plot was intriguing. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole thing. Excellent value
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Easy quick read I haven't read Francis Durbridge for years and really enjoyed this book. I will buy more by the same author
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Brought back happy memmories of how a skilled mystery writer can consistently leave you guessing. Ignore the somewhat antiquated writing and enjoy a good yarn.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Having bought most of Paul Temple Audio,s I gave this a good chance also the reading and different voices by Greg Wise was most enjoyable his different inflections for the characters was so believable and so many twist and turns. We played it on a long car journey and the time passed very quickly.It kept both my wife and my self entertained all the way home
John Stren
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
When I was growing up back in the 1950s, a Francis Durbridge thriller, serialised on tv, was one of my family's home entertainment highlights. I could be wrong but I think that "My Wife Melissa" was one of those dramatised on television. It's a typical Francis Durbridge story with the seemingly impossible happening and many cliff hangars as you read through the story. That which seems impossible becomes thoroughly plausible as the mystery unwinds and there is the obligatory Durbridge climax which reveals the guilty party and resolves all. If you like a good old fashioned whodunit written by one of the experts of the genre, this could be for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
When Durbridge ventures away from his great Paul Temple/Steve stories he loses the humour of the interaction within the husband and wife detective team. This one off story is OK but does not excite.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
This book manages to pull the reader into the ever gathering mystery of the narrator's wife's death. It is a fairly suspenseful read, but you never become too involved because it's so hard to suspend disbelief. I think this is probably down to the style of writing which is so typical of a lot of male whodunnit writers of that era. Characterizations - especially of the women tend to be cardboard and unconvincing. The denouement is sufficiently interesting, but the novel ends on a weak note. It's easy to see why Agatha Christie and Dorothy L Sayers &Co blew so many of these male writers out of the water when they came along!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
A good story with a tweist towards end. Written by Frances Durbridge, whom wrote the Paul Temple series. Very good I enjoyed story
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
A really good story which is well read. It keeps the attention leaves one guessing to almost the end of the story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse