Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tribute for David Tennant - Celebrating 50 Years of Doctor Who
October 2013. Time to celebrate the Tenth Doctor (David Tennant)!

Well! October's been one heck of a month for me. I went to a convention in Newcastle and Big Finish released their 50th anniversary special called `The Light At The End' early.

This month it's time to celebrate one of the best Doctors ever - David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor. He's one...
Published 17 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Nice story just over too quickly. It deserved more than one CD
Published 2 months ago by M. Shewring


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tribute for David Tennant - Celebrating 50 Years of Doctor Who, 31 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
October 2013. Time to celebrate the Tenth Doctor (David Tennant)!

Well! October's been one heck of a month for me. I went to a convention in Newcastle and Big Finish released their 50th anniversary special called `The Light At The End' early.

This month it's time to celebrate one of the best Doctors ever - David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor. He's one of my absolute favourites. David has enchanted and enthralled many audiences with his outgoing and reassuring spirit. I've been fortunate to watch Series 4 of 'Doctor Who' in 2008.

There have been many great stories with the Tenth Doctor including 'Rise of the Cybermen'/'The Age of Steel'; 'Utopia'/'The Sound of Drums'/'Last of the Time Lords' and 'The Stolen Earth'/'Journey's End'. The Tenth Doctor era was magical. I miss it to bits and still don't want David Tennant `to go'.

We come now to the penultimate adventure of the `Destiny of the Doctor' series - 'Death's Deal' by Darren Jones. With previous 'Destiny' releases (previously 'Night of the Whisper'), this is read by one person from the TV series and a guest star as a supporting character(s).

'Death's Deal' stars as Catherine Tate as Donna Noble (super temp from Chiswick). Duncan Wisbey guest stars as two characters - the alien Krux and Professor Merrit Erskine.

The Doctor and Donna respond to a series of distress calls coming from the planet Death's Deal. Arriving on the planet, they come across a group of space tourists and two merchant space pirates. As the Doctor discovers, there's something deadly when they go deeper into the heart of the planet.

I found the idea of people being sent off to their deaths on the planet Death's Deal when ships crash-land and technology is literally 'alien' to the planet very intriguing and frightening. It adds tension technology by people is used on Death's Deal and they get killed instantly.

I haven't read or heard many of Darren Jones's work apart from knowing he's done some Eleventh Doctor audiobooks. He's done a remarkable job recreating the Tenth Doctor with its fast-paced storytelling and dynamic characters. I wouldn't be surprised if he wrote Tenth Doctor story.

Catherine Tate is wonderful. It was such a thrill to hear her Donna again. I remember loving every minute watching her in the TV series. I'm sure Catherine was delighted to play Donna again and has done audiobooks such as 'The Forever Trap' and 'The Nemonite Invasion'.

Catherine does a remarkable job playing Donna again, with her rough no-nonsense attitude as well as showing her compassionate side. I like it when Donna gets to have an adventure with Krux as they go down into tunnel underground and they have to try and locate the TARDIS.

I like the Doctor in this adventure as Catherine does a really good interpretation of him, making him energetic and vibrant as ever. It's clear Catherine got on well with David Tennant and I'm very pleased they asked her to narrate this adventure to celebrate the Tenth Doctor.

I like the voices Catherine provides for the other characters including the arrogant Tad Groogan and the sweet but rather icy Lyric Erskine.

Duncan Wisbey is also very good. I've heard him doing a number of Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton audios including `The Demons of Red Lodge and Other Stories' and `Heroes of Sontar' . Here he's doing two characters unlike previous guest artists in `Destiny' series.

The first character is Krux, who is like an alien walking `barnacle' with tentacles as Donna calls him. I love it when Krux saves the Doctor and Donna falling down into a landslide or cavern by using his tentacles and love his scenes with Donna when they have to work together.

The second character is Professor Merrit Erskine. Erskine is a human who's been on the planet for a long time and is mentally deranged and obsessed with being the `ruler of paradise'. I found the scenes heart-breaking when he doesn't or won't recognise and accept her daughter Lyric.

As we get close to the end of the 'Destiny' series, the involvement of the Eleventh Doctor gets more exciting. I love it when the Tenth Doctor goes `What? What?!' when discovering a message from the Eleventh Doctor. I'm intrigued why Doctor Eleven wants Doctor Ten to keep a certain Erskine alive.

Just to mention, hearing Murray Gold's crazy bash-boom-wallop theme music from the 2008 series sent me back into the Tenth Doctor era superbly. It's one of my favourite Doctor Who themes, and listening to some of the music on this story sent me back to the Tenth Doctor era.

There aren't any CD extras, apart from info on the Doctor and Donna in the CD sleeve notes. If you subscribe the complete DOTD series from Big Finish, there's a documentary called 'Meeting with Destiny' that includes behind-the-scenes interviews on the making of Death's Deal'.

`Death's Deal' has been a truly thrilling and enjoyable audio story. It has all the elements of the Tenth Doctor from sonic screwdriver, pinstripe suit to `Allons-sy'. With truly wonderful narration by Catherine Tate, this story has definitely got to be a true celebration for the Tenth Doctor.

The next DOTD story is with the Eleventh Doctor called 'The Time Machine'.

The next story with the Tenth Doctor and Donna is 'Silence in the Library'/'Forest of the Dead'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Planet of Death, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
Tenth release in the 'Destiny of the Doctor' series. These are a range of eleven Doctor Who talking books that feature a different Doctor in each one. And tell an all new story for the character that has never appeared before in any other medium.

Each one so far has stood entirely on it's own, but there is a linking theme to each. This theme occasionally drives the story, or just happens to feature. All of this should come together in the eleventh release, but each of the first ten can be heard without you needing to have listened to any of the others.

This one runs for just over sixty eight minutes [approx] and is complete on a single cd. It's basically one long episode, the only breaks in it being the usual cd chapter ones.

The format of the range sees an actor who played a companion to the Doctor on tv reading the story in the third person, and also doing the voices, save for a couple which are read by a guest actor.

Minimal sleeve notes give details of the era of the show that the story is set in, and advertise other bbc Doctor Who products.

This being a Tenth Doctor story, it's read by Catherine Tate. Who played Donna Noble opposite David Tennant on screen.

The story sees the TARDIS answer a distress call from the planet Death's Deal. The deadliest planet in the galaxy, and home to lots of very exotic and dangerous plants and creatures.

Also there are a group of space tourists. Marooned, they plus the Doctor and Donna are forced to investigate the planet further. But which is more dangerous? The planet, certain of the tourists, or what lurks beneath the surface?

This range strives hard to recreate the feel of each era. And it does it superbly. Once you hear the rendition of the theme tune that was used at the time, plus certain catchphrases and Donna taking no nonsense from anyone, it's like it's 2008 all over again.

Certain things you would expect the Doctor to say and do crop up, but they are a homage to the time rather than a cliche and delightful to hear because of that.

Catherine Tate is a very good reader, without ever being over dramatic or too loud. She's also very good at coming up with original and alien voices.

The setting is a superb creation. A very alien world. More so than we've ever had on tv, thus it uses the freedom of the audio medium to full effect. But also something you feel that the production team of the time wouldn't have been adverse to trying.

It's a strong script which brings on plot developments and twists at just the right point to keep it all moving alog nicely. And it's the right length at just close to seventy minutes, which makes it well paced.

The linking theme, as ever, is always a delight.

A good strong story and a very good recreation of a very popular era. It's well worth a listen.

Next month: Doctor Who: The Time Machine (Destiny of the Doctor), where it will all come together...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donna and the Doctor visit a voracious planet., 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
It is difficult, perhaps, to imagine an actor who has played one of the Doctor's companions more suited to this particular series than Catherine Tate. Like all the previous instalments of `The Destiny of the Doctor', bar the last, the narration and most of the roles are played by a former companion. As an accomplished voice artist Tate rises to the occasion perfectly; providing an array of voices that include a pretty good Tenth Doctor and a more than adequate Eleventh.

The title is somewhat of a misnomer, Death's Deal actually being the name of a planet, albeit a planet with a dangerous reputation. Having the planet itself as the threat, although not entirely original in Doctor Who, is still an interesting concept that works. The Doctor and Donna find themselves in a world where, for reasons to be revealed, everything wants to kill them. Mixed up in this is a group of stranded tourists. This quickly develops the story into one of those plots where individuals in the group are killed off one by one as they try to escape. It is a tried and tested formula and it is thankfully done quite well here.

Much of the action is divided between Donna and the Doctor who, maybe a little predictably, become separated. This provides some great interaction between Donna and Krux (who is quite a novel alien) and allows Lyric to fit into a de-facto companion role with the Doctor.

Although many of the characters are only about for a limited time there is quite a good spectrum of aliens and personalities. Erksine (if that's how it is spelt) also promises some sort of link with the final story in the series.

With a solid plot and some great characters this is one of the stronger offerings in the range. And if the return of Catherine Tate isn't enough, this audio also provides some preview interaction between the Tenth and Eleventh Doctors a few weeks before `The Day of the Doctor'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deal Or No Deal?, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10).

Product Info.
1xCD
Running Time 70 Minutes
Writer: Darren Jones

Cast.
Donna Noble - Catherine Tate
Krux/Erskine - Duncan Wisbey

Trivia.
1)The Doctor remembers that that his arch enemy was a master of disguise. (TV: Castrovalva, Time-Flight, AUDIO: Dust Breeding).
2)The Eleventh Doctor says it would have been cool if he was ginger. (TV: The Christmas Invasion, TV: The End of Time).
3)The Eleventh Doctor leaves a message in the distress beacon of the Howling Jupiter to tell his previous self to stop the Wraith Mining Cartel, by locating Professor Merrit Erskine, protecting Erskine's daughter & making sure the existence of slaughter crystals is made known to galactic authorities.

What's Up Doc?
Responding to multiple maydays, the TARDIS lands on the planet of Death's Deal, but the distress calls are old, the final echoes of terrified lost souls.

This is an exotic world of lethal creatures, nicknamed `The Deadliest Planet in the Galaxy' & only the brave, foolhardy or greedy would ever dare to visit.

Finding themselves stranded among a motley bunch of space-tourists, the Doctor & Donna must lead a struggle for survival against the frenzied wildlife, as they slowly realise that other members of the group have very different agendas.

Soon the Doctor learns of an even bigger threat hiding on Death's Deal, Somewhere deep below the surface, is something that must never be unearthed, Time is running out & only an impossible survivor holds the key.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is another Doctor Who classic written by the talented Darren Jones who delivers a wonderful piece of character driven drama that captures the tone of the Tenth Doctor era brilliantly.

This story is a intriguing one full of mystery, action & suspense & zips along at a cracking pace as there's is never a dull moment as Darren Jones has written a very strong script about the deadliest planet in the galaxy 'Death's Deal' which is home to lots of exotic & dangerous plants & strange creatures & combines the familiar elements of space tourists being killed one by one with a genuine believable alien landscape.

Catherine Tate reprises her no-nonsense character of Donna Noble with such ease & is a very accomplished reader of this story who pitchs the tone of the play just right & brilliantly captures David Tennants Tenth Doctors tones & mannerisms, while guest star Duncan Wisbey gets to perform not one but two characters here unlike previous guest star's in the `Destiny Of The Doctor' series.

The first of these characters is a wonderful tentacled alien named Krux who shares some wonderful heartfelt moments with Donna, while the other is Professor Merrit Erskine a human who is so deluded, deranged & obsessive he cannot even accept his own daughter Lyric as Erskine becomes a vicious killer thinking he's doing it for the greater good of ruling paradise on 'Death's Deal'.

Overall, 'Death's Deal' is one of this ranges most standout storys that features a very strong written script by Darren Jones plus excellent sound design that helps create a great atmospheric alien environment in this unique Tenth Doctor adventure that contains plenty of mystery & intrigue & keeps you on the edge of your seat guess how this play will conclude & also set's up the final story 'The Time Machine' of this 'Destiny' range seamlessly & is a highly recommended listen for Doctor Who fans.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor and Donna! Back together again!, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
As the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who draws ever nearer, the BBC and Whovians alike are determined to celebrate in every way conceivable. Obviously, we're counting down to that fateful Day of the Doctor, but Big Finish & AudioGo seem equally determined to honour the Time Lord's history with the upcoming audio drama, The Light at the End, and with Destiny of the Doctor here.

Destiny of the Doctor is an 11-part series that's been going on since January this year, each chapter focusing accordingly on the Doctor's different incarnations i.e Part 1 William Hartnell, Part 2 Patrick Troughton, Part 3 John Pertwee and so on.

As I've said before in previous Doctor Who-related reviews, my favourite Doctor & Companion were No. 10 and Donna Noble (Catherine Tate). Their relationship & adventures made Series 4 my all-time favourite, and have always felt that at least another series could've been made with the Doctor & Donna. Ergo, I've always jumped at the chance to discover more stories of this wonderful pairing, hence my purchase of novels (i.e. Beautiful Chaos) and audiobooks (i.e. The Forever Trap), so I purchased Death's Deal and was not disappointed at all.

Death's Deal captures all the elements that made this particular of Doctor Who so endearing. The Series 4 theme music is used, the Tenth Doctor/Donna relationship (and characters) are written down to a tee, and the whole atmosphere of their adventure here is done in the spirit of Russell T Davies. Darren Jones has written an audio drama here that's most worthy of the original source material, and those who loved Series 4 will love this just as easily.

Still in the midst of their happy days, the Doctor & Donna land on the planet Death's Deal following a flood of distress calls. The TARDIS lands on a planet filled with terrifying creatures and a mishmashed bunch of alien tourists. The time-travellers soon uncover all kinds of ulterior motives, a sinister secret...and an important task the Doctor's future will depend on.

In the context of this Destiny of the Doctor series, Death's Deal works well indeed. If you pick up this particular CD and haven't picked up any of the previous entries, then you'll be fine. Death's Deal stands alone as a genuinely exciting tale that's laced with a splendid soundtrack, terrific sound effects and all the stuff you'd expect from a classic episode. It's so easy to visualise in your mind's eye that it's just like watching a lost episode from Series 4.

But it also seems to slot in well with the overall spectrum of this Destiny series. There's a big surprise mid-way through that makes this (seemingly) individual chapter integral to the whole saga. It's a welcome turning-point, one that feels natural and not in the least bit forced. As such, it makes me feel intrigued to check out other entries in this audio series.

Of course, Catherine Tate deserves props for reprising her role as beloved super-temp Donna Noble. She settles comfortably right back into her old role and performs with unchanged flourish. As she's proven in the past, Catherine is versatile in voicing the other characters so distinctly, and does a very good impersonation of David Tennant. Guest-star Duncan Wisbey is simply awesome as Crux, helping to make a colourful character even more so. Duncan is just wonderful, and when paired with Catherine, the two converse in such brilliant, heartfelt moments that make this all the more endearing.

Admittedly, this isn't the greatest Doctor Who audio outing I've ever experienced (Dan Abnett's The Forever Trap from 2008 is still my favourite), but Death's Deal is certainly very strong with very little wrong. On it's own, I love it, and yeah...I'm keen to check out other entries in the Destiny of the Doctor. Fans of the David/Catherine series will not be disappointed. For Who fans overall...very much worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, clear voices and exciting story line!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed listening this great story, Catherine Tate really got on well with David Tenant and the writers knowing that The doctor and Donna had a friendship relationship, always gave them great jokey lines so they could bounce off each other. You can tell when Tate plays The doctor the mutual respect and friendship that was present. had to lisen to the end in one go, could not pause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor-Donna! Together again!, 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Daniel Wood "Lord D.C. Wood" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
The Tenth Doctor and Donna are BACK at long last! I was so thrilled to discover this audiobook and that in turn led me to check out the rest of this awesome Destiny series.

This Tenth Chapter of this exclusive audio-series sees the Doctor and Donna Noble on a rescue mission on the 'Deadliest Planet in the Galaxy'. However, Death's Deal lives up to its description, and all manner of survivors are caught up in the danger, along with clashing agendas. Like the rest of this range, this audiobook has superb production values and is wonderfully envisioned. It's just like a lost episode of Series 4!

Catherine Tate is just as endearing as ever as Donna, and Duncan Wisbey provides such a colourful performance as Krux. Nothing to fault really. Terrific tale and one of the most outstanding in Destiny of the Doctor. Recommended to all fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Shewring (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) (Audio CD)
Nice story just over too quickly. It deserved more than one CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10)
Doctor Who: Death's Deal (Destiny Of The Doctor 10) by Darren Jones (Audio CD - 3 Oct. 2013)
£10.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews