Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the shadow of the Pulsar
A new Doctor Who talking book from the bbc. Second in the 'Destiny of the Doctor' series of Doctor Who talking books. These are being released at the rate of one a month, and they tell an all new story for a different one of the Doctors on each occasion. There is though a linking theme which we are promised will all come together in the end.

The format of these...
Published 21 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An interesting idea but disappointingly dull execution
"I know what I'm doing."
"But that's what I always say when I don't know what I'm doing."

Yet another in AudioGo's series of unsatisfying interlocking stories spread over several CDs, this suffers from the same problem that let down earlier efforts like Demon Quest and Hornets' Nest: rather than feeling like self-contained stories with a...
Published 18 months ago by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the shadow of the Pulsar, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
A new Doctor Who talking book from the bbc. Second in the 'Destiny of the Doctor' series of Doctor Who talking books. These are being released at the rate of one a month, and they tell an all new story for a different one of the Doctors on each occasion. There is though a linking theme which we are promised will all come together in the end.

The format of these is a story that is complete on a single cd. It's basically one long episode with no breaks other than the usual cd chapter ones. Minimal sleeve notes give copyright details, advertise other bbc Doctor Who product, and contain a few bits of info about the particular era of the show from which the story comes.

The cover shows the Doctor and main companion of the story.

It is narrated by an actor who appeared in the show at the time. They read the story in the third person and do all the voices save one, which is done by a guest actor.

'Shadow of Death' is a Second Doctor story. It is read by Frazer Hines, who played his companion Jamie on tv.

The story sees the TARDIS land on a very strange planet. Which is in the shadow of a pulsar. Which emits a very strong gravitational pull. There is an abandoned city. Statues of people in spacesuits. And the survivors of a human expedition sent there to study it.

Something has happened to people they came there with. There is a very strange force indeed on the planet. Which spells danger for the surviving humans. Plus the Doctor and his friends...

As anyone who has heard Frazer Hines other Doctor Who audio readings will know, he does an amazingly good version of the Second Doctor's voice. Which really does sound like Patrick Troughton. He also reprises Jamie's voice effortlessly, so it really does feel as if you are listening to something from their tv era. The story fits it as well. Being a strange world with minimalist settings and a small cast of characters, being stalked by a monster.

The sound design is appropriately eerie and does help to create the feeling of such an alien world.

The explanation for what is taking place here is quite clever, and there's some good real science involved, but you will need to think carefully to get your head around it at times. Whilst in some ways it doesn't feel like anything we haven't seen or heard before, it is creepy and effective. With a pretty decent resolution. Which does nicely serve to highlight how alien the Doctor is.

There is one scene which does develop the ongoing plot that is moving throughout all of these. A very interesting scene it is. Slightly reminiscent of something that happened in the first story. But it adds in a lot more detail which does make the bigger picture slightly clearer. And very intriguing with it.

This is a decent listen and one that also develops the ongoing story very well. If you liked the first story in this series then this is well worth getting. You could probably get into easily enough without having heard that one, though.But it might, in the long run, be better to start at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Destiny of the Doctor 2: Shadow of Death, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
This is the second in the story arc of the Destiny of the Doctor series, which features eleven stories on individual cd releases, with each story telling of an adventure of one of the Doctor’s incarnations. In this story Shadow of Death, the Second Doctor is travelling with Jamie and Zoe, and they find the Tardis under attack from an unseen force. Landing somewhere safe nearby, they step out of the Tardis to see what is happening.

This series is a bit like the Companion Chronicles, in that they have one person narrating the story (usually the Doctor’s companion, in this case Jamie) and one other main voice as one of the characters. In this case Frazer Hines narrates as Jamie and does his voice, as well as voicing the other characters, including Zoe, and quite a lot in character as the Second Doctor. Hines has an uncanny ability to sound remarkably like Patrick Troughton in character as the Second Doctor, and this adds a real ‘true’ feel to his characterisation. Evie Dawnay plays the other main character in this story, a scientist who is part of a group studying a lost civilisation.

This is a great story; it has a real Second Doctor ‘classic’ feel to it, and you can imagine it playing out well on the small screen in the late ‘60s. The link to the overall Destiny of the Doctor arc is small and we are not really any the wiser as to where that overall story arc is going (hints having been given in the first Destiny of the Doctor story, Hunters of Earth, which featured the First Doctor and his granddaughter Susan). As such, the stories so far stand up well as individual stories, but the hints of the overall story arc are intriguing. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An interesting idea but disappointingly dull execution, 14 May 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"I know what I'm doing."
"But that's what I always say when I don't know what I'm doing."

Yet another in AudioGo's series of unsatisfying interlocking stories spread over several CDs, this suffers from the same problem that let down earlier efforts like Demon Quest and Hornets' Nest: rather than feeling like self-contained stories with a binding strand like the modern incarnation of the TV series, it tends to play like another unresolved, half-thought out part of a story that might make sense when you hear all the parts but doesn't interest you enough to seek them out. On it's own terms it's moderately ambitious (though the six-Doctor arc won't be fully revealed unless you hear all the stories) but unfortunately rather dull - it's another running through corridors in another space station, with an abandoned city, a shifting timescape and the unseen threat of `The Quiet Ones' adding up to not that much at the end of the day despite the odd good idea. Although focussing on Patrick Troughton's Doctor (here given a splendid impersonation by his former co-star Frazer Hines, who has his stuttering like a motorboat engine delivery down to a tee), it's not entirely true to his era, even throwing in a psychic paper link to current Doctor, though it does share his weaker stories' habit of stopping the story to allow him to explain everything. The problem is that it doesn't manifest many of the strengths of the second Doctor's classic TV outings despite clearly drawing on similar elements and, unfortunately, making the effort show a little too much. Still, Hines' Troughton is worth a listen even if the remainder of the adventure's execution is a bit on the dull side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of Death, 4 Jun 2013
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Shadow of Death is an audio book read and performed by Frazer Hines featuring Evie Dawnay. Frazer played the Second Doctor companion Jamie and also does a stunning impression of Troughton himself. The story is a traditional base under siege with a spooky undercurrent. In short an excellent story and I am definitely coming back for more of this series. Keep your ears peeled for a surprising cameo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable 2nd Doctor story, 16 May 2013
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Destiny Of The Doctor cd series is part of the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who celebrations. Shadow Of Death is the second in the series and features the second Doctor Patrick Troughton and is performed by Frazer Hines who played Jaime in the series. Frazer does and excellent job which makes the cd very enjoyable. I look forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, well, err, um., 1 May 2013
By 
Stuart Burns (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wow, Fraser Hines. I had heard talk of his impression of Patrick Troughton, but wow, I really didn't expect it to be this exacting. There are moments when we could just as well be listening to the soundtracks to one of the missing episodes, if only Wendy Padbury has been along to play Zoe. The story itself is clever and exciting and absolutely in-keeping with the mood of the series at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will take you back to 1968, 16 April 2013
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is 50 years since Doctor Who was first shown on television, Shadow of Death is one of many exciting products which has been released in the anniversary year to mark this achievement. The Shadow of Death is the second in the series of 11 audio stories which will feature and link all 11 Doctors. This release is particularly special as current Doctor Matt Smith has often stated the influence of Patrick Troughton's Doctor on his portrayal. The ever popular Fraser Hines who played regular companion Jamie McCrimmon between 1966 and 1969 and later came back for guest appearances in the mid 1980s, steps effortlessly back into the character's shoes. He also does the voices for nearly all the characters in the story, including a spot on impersonation of the second Doctor himself. The only other actor in the story being Sophie Popolovic as Evie Dawnay. Rather than opting for a modern take on the second Doctor era, Simon Guerrier quite rightly tries to capture the tone of this era and write an adventure that could have easily featured on television 45 years ago. We have what many people associate with this period, the adventure of a small group of isolated people in a base under seige from an unknown alien. The Doctor, Jamie and Zoe arrive at an abandoned city which is being investigated by human scientists who are being killed off. The story moves at a fast pace at 1 hour 25 minute. I feel that this release is really about nostalgia and recapturing the magic of a great period in the shows history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Destiny of the Doctor #2, 10 April 2013
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Following the somewhat lumbering and unsteady start of 'Hunters of Earth', 'Shadow of Death' - the second installment of the 'Destiny of the Doctor' audio epic - thankfully gets the series on track. Simon Guerrier has proved himself to be one of the most assured writers for Big Finish's Companion Chronicles, and he scores another solid hit here. The storyline features the 2nd Doctor, Jamie and Zoe investigating a structure left by a vanished civilisation on a planet orbiting a pulsar, with the resulting violent gravitational effects causing time distortion. Despite the touches of humour in the interplay between Jamie and the Doctor, on the whole this story is firmly in serious SF mode, and all the better for it. A deadly shadow creature provides elements of 'base under seige' genre, with time moving at different speeds in various parts of the base adding a nice additional variation, but this is more thoughtful stuff than runaround adventure, with an exposition-heavy ending to match. Fraser Hines is his usual capable self as the main narrator, with his Troughton impression occasionally coming very close to replicating the spirit of the much-missed 2nd Doctor. Given the similarities between Matt Smith's portrayal of the Doctor and Patrick Troughton, it's also charming that the linking section of the audio sees Doctors 2 and 11 coming face to face - if only for a moment. It's still too early to say exactly how the eleven part 'Destiny of the Doctor' series will link together as a whole, but this installment works well as a standalone adventure, with no story strands follwed through from the first story, and only the vaguest of hints at any future ongoing narrative. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable timey wimey antics, 22 Mar 2013
By 
pete "big blue pete" (edinburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Shadow of Death, a new Second Doctor adventure from Big Finish, embraces and builds on some of the classic tropes of the Second Doctor's era, as well as referencing some of the new series work of Steven Moffat. The narrative takes the form of a classic Troughton base under siege story, and the compression of the situation and small cast of characters result in a pleasingly claustrophobic tale. Following an emergency landing, the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe arrive in a mysterious base on a deserted planet orbiting a pulsar, which exerts a gravitational force strong enough to distort time. In a nod to the multicultural base crews of the 1960s, they encounter the mittel-European-accented base leader played by Evie Dawnay (audibly wearing go-go boots and a space miniskirt) in the tradition of didactic dollybirds Miss Garrett and Miss Kelly. However, the deserted planet on which they find themselves is not as deserted as it might appear...

The play combines the `base under siege' setting with some timey-wimey antics in the manner of Steven Moffat, making it curiously reminiscent of William Hartnell's 1965 serial The Space Museum, as well as drawing on other situations from Moffat's work which echo Silence in the Library. With its spacesuited explorers and their base on a strange empty planet with a lost civilisation, it is also reminiscent of the set-up for The Impossible Planet, but diverts off in a quite different direction. Narrator/performer Fraser Hines recreates Jamie's wide-eyed chippiness well, and does a really sterling job on imitating Patrick Troughton's Second Doctor, with much throat-clearing and a good approximation of Troughton's vague air of extemporising many of his lines. Simon Hunt's largely ambient soundscape has moments of doomy expressionism which nicely complement the more functional sound effects sketching the base background. Without giving too much away, there are tense scenes when Jamie and the Doctor encounter the shadowy enemy, and an intriguing conclusion which hints at giving the Second Doctor an air of vulnerability. The denouement however is dramatically something of an anticlimax, but sets up a plot arc to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tribute for Patrick Troughton - Celebrating 50 Years of Doctor Who, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) (Audio CD)
February 2013 and it's time to celebrate the Second Doctor, played by Patrick Troughton.

For me, there's always been something really special about the Troughton years. I got into watching Patrick's Doctor when I first saw 'The Invasion' on DVD back in 2006. With its thriller story; the Cybermen and the animation episodes to accompany what was lost, I really enjoyed the adventures of the Doctor and his companions Jamie and Zoe and wanted to watch more.

Since then I have seen 'The Tomb of the Cybermen'; 'The Mind Robber'; 'The War Games'; 'The Dominators' and most recently 'The Krotons'. I'm now currently writing a Troughton-era story of my own featuring that TARDIS team.

Big Finish and AudioGo have done again this month as they continue making their series to celebrate Doctor Who's 50th anniversary with Patrick Troughton. `Destiny of the Doctor' continues its series featuring the Second Doctor, Jamie and Zoe in a new adventure called `Shadow of Death'. It is performed by Frazer Hines who played Jamie in the series with Evie Dawney as Sophie (a Russian base commander).

When I heard this story, I immediately thought of the `base under siege' stories that had been seen during that era e.g. The Moonbase and The Wheel In Space. The Doctor; Jamie and Zoe arrive to find the place under threat by a `shadowy' force; hence the title `Shadow of Death'. The `shadow' when it touches people ages them to death as it accelerates his or her own timeline. This concept was really frightening and disturbing to listen to it and got me intrigued as to how the Doctor and his friends were going to get out of this.

There's are a lot of `time' concepts going on in this story; which got me a little confused sometimes during the story. But that didn't stop me enjoying it as I was able to pay attention when the Doctor and Zoe tried to save Jamie from a jammed airlock or when the Doctor tried to collect some research of Sophie's when they were on the planet. The concept of the `pulsar' was very informative and detailed as it goes to show the `writer' did his job.

The feel of the story, like with 'Hunters from Earth' before this, is really late 1960s. I could imagine the black-and-white texture of the story when I heard it and felt that this story could have taken place during Season 6 of Doctor Who. In terms of continuity of the story, I'd like to place it between `The Invasion' and `The Krotons'.

This story was written by Simon Guerrier, who obviously knows the characters inside and out. He gives the Doctor lots of gags and behavioural traits to make him authentic. The business with the `hand slamming on the wall to emphasise its steadiness and hurting it' was really inspired and funny and I laughed out loud. Also he manages to get the Doctor's serious outlook very right as well when confronting the `shadow'.

Jamie and Zoe are very well treated too; as Jamie manages to displays traits of bravery and bewilderment of things he doesn't understand at the same time; and Zoe is certainly all technically gifted when addressing a computer or something. I love the moment when the Doctor and Jamie are trying to open the door by pushing down the handle but can't; then Zoe steps in and lifts the handle up and manages to open it. The comedy moments from the Troughton era are all here.

Simon Guerrier of course has written for the Second Doctor and team before; as he adapted Dick Sharples' lost story `Prison In Space' for Big Finish and has written a fair number of companion chronicles for that era. This is again a narration and dialogue style similar to the Lost Stories and Companion Chronicles that was put to good use in `Hunters of Earth' before this. I listened to `Prison In Space' before this series and was really comfortable with how stories in this series were going to be told when it comes to the first three doctors since the actors aren't around to play them and the companion(s) get to play their own characters as well as the Doctor. How this format will work for the rest of the series with Doctors 4 to 11, I don't know yet.

Frazer Hines performs this story, as he not only gets to play Jamie but also the Doctor and Zoe. His impersonation of Patrick Troughton is spot on. He certainly knows how Patrick spoke and sounded since he spent all three years bar one adventure with his Doctor. Frazer manages to shift dialogue from one character to the next; as he's able to pitch the right level and tone of voice when speaking their dialogue. I've met Frazer twice now, and really like his interpretation of a companion in this story as Jamie. I enjoyed sharing my favourite stories that Frazer did as Jamie and asked him to sign a few of them at conventions. Having Frazer perform `Shadow of Death' really brings home the Troughton era to completion as it helps to celebrate for 50 years of Doctor Who.

Evie Dawney who plays Sophie in this story is really good. To me having a female voice speaking in the story really breaks the narration up and it's nice to hear a change from Frazer speaking all the way through. It helps especially since Frazer doesn't have to play all the parts as I'm sure that's usually the case with any companion chronicle or lost story from Big Finish. Having Sophie to be a Russian was quite unexpected, but it reminded me of the international crews that were on board the `space stations' or `space ships' in the `base under stories of the Troughton era. Her being a commander of the base really elevated the sense of tension as to who's in charge and how she gradually goes from distrusting the Doctor and his friends to actually believing him in the end.

The climax of the story was very fast paced as the tension increases when Jamie, Zoe and the others are in trouble on the planet when about to be attacked by the `shadowy' creature. But the revelation of what these creatures really were was fascinating and astonishing. I really thought this `shadowy' creature was evil and full of death. But as the story develops there's a lot more to it than that.

In terms of how the first `Destiny of the Doctor' stories link up to each other - there seems to be a cameo appearance of a `future Doctor' in this story as well as the first, and it certainly adds a sense of excitement and mystery in terms of the continuation of this series.

The next CD release is with Jon Pertwee's Doctor - 'Vengeance of the Stones'. Again there aren't any CD extras on this e.g. trailers or behind-the-scenes interviews. The sleeve notes certainly seem to add the extra value for information on the characters featured in these stories, for people who haven't heard of the Second Doctor, Jamie and Zoe and have come into this series for the first time.

`Shadow of Death' certainly is an enjoyable second release from `Destiny of the Doctor' to celebrate Patrick Troughton's time as the Doctor. It certainly has a feel of a `base under siege' and is certainly wonderfully narrated and performed by Frazer Hines, who does a really good job of bringing Jamie back to life as well his own interpretation of the Doctor. I look forward to how the rest of the series turns out later in the year.

Find out what happens to the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe in 'Prison in Space'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2)
Doctor Who: Shadow of Death (Destiny of the Doctor 2) by Simon Guerrier (Audio CD - 7 Feb 2013)
£8.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews