Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get better.
Not for me anyway.

Confession. My two favourite Bond novels are the first, Casino Royale, and the last, this one, The Man with the Golden Gun. Probably because for large parts, they have a very similar feel. Fleming of course never finished The Man with the Golden Gun -what we read is in essense a draft copy that was put together by his editor following his...
Published 21 months ago by S. Lindgren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Late Bond
This is the penultimate tome in the Bond series and is a tired affair. It has dated badly and detailed descriptions of Secret Service practices (good cop, bad cop interrogations for example) which may have been novel at the time are just tedious now. I enjoyed Kenneth Branagh's style of narration but ultimately this is not enough to enliven a dull tale.
Published 19 months ago by T. Bently


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get better., 12 Nov 2012
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man with the Golden Gun (Audio CD)
Not for me anyway.

Confession. My two favourite Bond novels are the first, Casino Royale, and the last, this one, The Man with the Golden Gun. Probably because for large parts, they have a very similar feel. Fleming of course never finished The Man with the Golden Gun -what we read is in essense a draft copy that was put together by his editor following his death (rather simplistic description, but basically what happened). Either way, I always loved it. It was the first Bond novel I ever bought, aged eleven, and I still rememeber the feeling I had when I first read it. It's cold. Brutal, sparse, tightly plotted and even more tightly written. Realistic? Not really; Fleming had a thing for American gangsters. He also had a unique prose style and way of capturing an atmosphere. A particular book, or brand of whiskey. The moment at which a radio is switched on. Occasional flashes of extremely black humour utterly alien to the films (Dalton and Craig portrayals notwithstanding). Dated? Possibly. I would call them period pieces rather than being dated though. They were very much products of their time.

No matter. My favourite Bond novel (well, joint favourite) read by Sir Kenneth Branagh, who in my opinion is one of the greatest living actors. I'm a happy man. They really have gone to town with this series of audio books. Straight unabridged readings, no unnecessary effects (some nice interviews at the end though). And it's done especially well here. The atmosphere has been captured perfectly by Branagh's superbly judged reading; he doesn't get in the way of the text, but lets it do the work. Characters are as easy to follow as you'd expect given the author and actor, pacing is spot on. If you only buy one of this series of audio books, this is the pick of a superb series. For the money, it's an outright bargain. The packaging is simple, as in the others in the series, with the four discs on a single long spindle; this does hamper speed & ease of access but given the price, it's not something to complain about. I honestly can't recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man With The Golden Gun; Ian Fleming, unabridged reading by Kenneth Branagh – The man with the golden voice, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man with the Golden Gun (Audio CD)
First published in 1965, The Man With The Golden Gun was the thirteenth print outing (and twelfth full length novel) for superspy James Bond. It was the second to last Bond book by Ian Fleming, and published posthumously.

Following the events of ‘You Only Live Twice’, in which Bond had lost his memory and was travelling to Russia to try and recover his identity, we meet a Bond seemingly in command of his faculties once again and trying to make contact with his old boss, M. But there is something amiss, Bond has been brainwashed by SMERSH and has been sent to assassinate M. Following the failed attempt Bond is rehabilitated, and M sends him on a potentially suicidal mission in order to reprove his worth and loyalty to the service. That mission is nothing less than to assassinate Francisco Scaramanga, AKA the man with the Golden Gun.

Bond is soon immersed in Carribean life as he tries to get close to his prey. A stroke of luck places him right next to Scaramanga, but it turns out the hoodlum is into something deep and Bond feels he must investigate and put a stop to the whole show rather than just kill Scaramanga. Aided by his old friend Felix Leiter and his ex-secretary Miss Goodnight, he goes through a tense and thrilling set of adventures as he winds towards one of the best finales that Fleming ever wrote.

Some complain that this book feels a little unfinished and rough around the edges. I have to say that I think this is a blessing. The Bond books had been getting increasingly overblown with greater degrees of grotesquery as Fleming tried to outdo himself with ever more imaginative descriptions. Here there is a feeling of restraint as Fleming had not had time to go back over the bare bones of the story and add too much flesh before he died. But the unadorned story is still a real thrill ride with plenty of painful and well imagined set pieces. It’s a great read, 5 stars.

Branagh’s reading of the book is excellent. He really has a golden voice that just draws you in. He has an innate feel for the rhythm of the book, and transmits a quite boyish sense of excitement at being involved in the project that is wholly fitting to the Bond books. Also, based on this, can I start a petition here for Branagh to be the next on screen Bond villain?

On 4 discs in a spindle case, and lasting just over 4 hours, this is a great way to pass a few hours in the car. I loved it, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man with the Golden Gun (Audio CD)
I had only seen the film a couple of times, but listening to the audio book read by Kenneth Brannagh was amazing. My journey to work seemed too short for once!

I didn't realise what a talented writer Ian Fleming was.

The book was so much better than the film and you really got a sense of the time and the real 007. I can't wait to listen to the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bond, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man with the Golden Gun (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of Sir Kenneth and looked forward to hearing this. He reads it very well and gets you involved in the characters so that you want to get to the last disc and find out what happens. I saw the movie years ago but as always the book is different from the screen version and therefore I was able to hear the characters as new, without remembering who played them on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Late Bond, 9 Jan 2013
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man with the Golden Gun (Audio CD)
This is the penultimate tome in the Bond series and is a tired affair. It has dated badly and detailed descriptions of Secret Service practices (good cop, bad cop interrogations for example) which may have been novel at the time are just tedious now. I enjoyed Kenneth Branagh's style of narration but ultimately this is not enough to enliven a dull tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man with the Golden Gun
The Man with the Golden Gun by Ian Fleming (Audio CD - 6 Sep 2012)
Used & New from: 39.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews