Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and very effective
Four stories very well recounted by Andrew Sachs, one each from Charles Dickens and M.R.James and two from E.E.Benson.

Each in their own way imparts a very realistic sense of dread, each coming under the category of the 'unexplained'. If one were listening to them at night in front of an open log fire with a glass of something to hand, I suspect that the effect...
Published 22 months ago by Michael Watson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but certainly NOT spine-chilling
Chilling Ghost Stories - AudioGo
Running Time 1 hr. 55mins.

The back of the CD case calls these four classic stories as `spine tingling with a creeping sense of dread'.
I would not class them as spine tingling as, although they are supernatural tales, I would not say that they put a chill down your spine. Some of this is probably due to the way they...
Published 21 months ago by Aremess


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and very effective, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Four stories very well recounted by Andrew Sachs, one each from Charles Dickens and M.R.James and two from E.E.Benson.

Each in their own way imparts a very realistic sense of dread, each coming under the category of the 'unexplained'. If one were listening to them at night in front of an open log fire with a glass of something to hand, I suspect that the effect of these stories would be a little more scary than listening to them in the car. But they passed the time well, making the journey finish in no time.

Of the four, I enjoyed The Signalman the most but it was a close run thing with the Haunted Dolls House leaving rather more to the imagination than the others. All-in-all, well worth picking up a copy just in time for the long, dark, winter nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Manuel" and the masters of the British ghost story, 21 Oct 2012
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very timely release; a very seasonal one. Andrew Sachs, whose voice, I must confess, I had never really listened to before, reads these four well-chosen chillers from the era of the great ghost story i.e. from the era of the candle and the open fire, screens, shadows and before the demise of the oral tradition in story telling.

The best ghost story is narrated; there is the tradition at this time of the year, as the nights draw in as the temperature plummets, for gathering around a fireplace and, accompanied by a little strong glass of "spirits" somebody tells a story to further chill the bones.

Chosen here is one of the most famous of such tales "The Signalman" by Charles Dickens; a story much collected, dramatised and filmed. Also E.F.Benson (he of Mapp & Lucia fame)is represented by two tales. I suspect he exploited this genre as it was a great joy to him to terrify his guests in Rye. Of the two "The Room in the Tower" is the more famous.
Completing this quartet M.R.James, also a master of the form, is represented by "The Haunted Doll's House" which simply aches to be filmed especially after the success of Susan Hill's "The Woman in Black"

This is definitely one for listening to behind drawn curtains. Dim the lights or even better light a candle or two and relive the genuine delight of being scared by the Masters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Sachs reads four chilling ghost stories, 23 Oct 2012
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I admit that I love a good ghost story and eagerly sat down to listen to these four stories. After dimming the lights, switching off my mobile and pouring myself a nice glass of port, I was ready. Four the next 2 hours (apx) I was drawn into the shadowy world of spooks and spectres. Andrew Sachs (probably best know for Fawlty Towers) did a superb job of reading each tale. The four tales were The Signalman which is my all time favourite Charles Dickens story, The Haunted Doll's House by the master of the ghost story M R James and finally two excellent stories by E F Benson (which I have not had the pleasure of reading before) The Room In The Tower and The Bus Conductor. So, if like me you enjoy a good old fashioned ghost story, why not give Chilling Ghost Stories a listen - the dimmned lights and port are optional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'In evil memory of Julia Stone', 20 Jan 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AudioGo's latest compilation of classic ghost stories is a distinct improvement on their disappointing Ghostly Terror! (BBC Audiobooks) not so much because of the selection of stories as the improved presentation. Where the earlier effort split the stories between different narrators for each one with surprisingly flat results, this volume is left entirely in the very capable hands of Andrew Sachs, whose dulcet tones do an excellent job on all four. Aside from Charles Dickens' The Signalman it's a collection of lesser known tales - M.R. James' The Haunted Doll's House, a neat little vignette even if the author himself admitted it was just a variation on a theme on his much better The Mezzotint, and two E.F. Benson stories. The Room in the Tower is an intriguing tale of tale of a recurring dream of 15 years where, as the years progress, the characters become gradually older while the details get progressively darker and more decayed and morbid. It has a more definitive manifestation than usual, along with a disappointingly lurid epilogue, but it does a nice line in unease. The Bus Conductor is more familiar thanks to its appearance in Ealing's classic anthology Dead of Night [DVD], bringing things to a satisfying conclusion with its tale of a man haunted by visions of a hearse driver with room for one more inside, but the standout remains the first, though that's little surprise since Dickens is the better writer of the three. The only slight drawback is the overstated music that introduces each story and intrudes on the closing moments when Sachs' excellent reading alone would be far more effective, but it does little to mar a rather nice but not essential collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional chills, 19 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a big fan of the traditional ghost story told on a dark evening.

This CD carries on thos etraditions rather well. A great selection of tales, from Dickens to James and inbetween, Andrew Sachs reads them well.

It's not the same as a book by a roaring fire, but it's not far short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect creepy tales for the dark months, 1 Nov 2012
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This audio book collects four classic Ghost Stories read by Andrew Sachs. The collection contains four classic Ghost Stories from Dickens, MR James and 2 stories from EF Benson. I'll admit to not knowing too much about Sachs but I found his rich and expressive voice perfect for these tales, there's a maturity of experience behind them that almost had me believing he was narrating his own experiences. Fantastic to listen to and brings these stories to life (all of which are beautifully written).

I spent a couple of hours on Halloween listening to these and they made for a wonderfully creepy atmosphere with the lights down and the headphones up load enough to block out the trick or treaters. These are Ghost Stories in the traditional sense, not horror stories needing gore to bring them to life but ghostly tales of dread needing only your imagination.

I admit it's only in the last 10 years that I've discovered the Victorian tradition for seasonal Ghost Stories but I've found myself quickly becoming a fan and digging out some M.R James for a read on Christmas eve and I just love that creepy old tradition. For me Halloween was a good time to listen to these but Christmas with the family will be a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Hallowe'en night or Christmas Eve..., 27 Oct 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These four supernatural tales are beautifully read by Andrew Sachs, and themselves are classics of their genre.

Charles Dickens' "The Signalman" kicks off proceedings and needs little introduction. Sachs perfectly captures the feel of the novel in his subtle but urbane reading. In "The Haunted Dolls' House" M.R. James excels as always, not one of my favourite stories by him but it really is an enjoyable listen with this reading - perhaps having it read aloud (as he intended) brings a new life to them.

I particularly enjoyed the E.F. Benson stories. I read "The Room In The Tower" many years ago and those words "I have put you in the room in the tower" have always stayed in my mind. This reading brought out all the terror perfectly, and Sachs as Julia Stone is perfectly chilling. The following E.F. Benson story "The Bus Conductor" is also highly enjoyable, and although using a familiar supernatural motif is chilling in all the right places.

Having two E.F. Benson stories, enjoyable as they are, does seem a strange move. With one story from each of the other authors AudioGo could have included something by another author (how about an R.H. Malden to fit with the other Cambridge scholars?). That aside this is highly enjoyable. The perfect thing for these dark nights; light the lamps, draw a chair to the fire and give the CDs a spin. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 25 Oct 2012
By 
Moonshine. "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These classic tales are very old but being ghost stories lose nothing in the telling. They are especially suited to an audio book. Andrew Sachs reads them perfectly. They are not scary in the horror film sense as a lot of imagination is required to appreciate the skill with which they are constructed. They shouldn't be judged by modern standards. They are works of literary genius and might have frightened the boots of people years ago but not nowadays. I agree that a little effort to set the atmosphere would help and would add to the sense of fun. Candles,darkness,a howling wind, rain, thunder & lightning, a few ghosts and a glass of good wine would go well with the reading. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant addition to the collection!, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Lilly Penhaligon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have another 2 cds from this series all of which have provided me with hours of spooky fun and this was another brilliant addition to my collection. This time it is Andrew Sachs reading the 4 stories and I was not disappointed - his voice has a lovely quality and a wonderful richness that lends itself naturally to ghost storytelling. The four stories are: The Signalman, The Haunted Dolls House, The Room in the Tower and The Bus-Conductor. I absolutely love M.R. James (The Haunted Dolls House) and I thoroughly enjoyed the other authors (inc Dickens) featured on this 2 disc selection. I felt that as with the other discs in this series all the stories were well chosen and complimented the mood and atmosphere of each other. You can easily listen to these over again and I usually like playing them in the car whilst I am travelling (especially at night!).

All in all I was delighted with these discs as I knew I would be and would definitely recommend them to anyone that can appreciate suspense and horror - not of the kind usually shown in modern films with lots of blood and gore, but REAL horror and suspense - the kind that makes you look over your shoulder and makes the hairs on the back of the neck creep. One line from the Bus Conductor describes the sensation of being intensely afraid of the dark but afraid of lighting the candle in case of what the light will let you see... THAT type of horror and suspense is what I love.

If you are a fan of the old masters of horror, then you will not be disappointed. There are other discs in this series and they are definitely worth a try as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic shivers..., 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Chilling Ghost Stories (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Proving that one's own imagination provides the best special effects! Andrew Sachs has exactly the right voice to render these tales cosy, nostalgic and proper scary all at the same time. Melodrama is never descended into and atmosphere is expertly coaxed and maintained by the alchemy of writer and reader. I cannot tell if any of the stories are abridged at all. Sleeve blurb does not say. I doubt it as the total running time is long for 4 short stories and pace feels exactly right in all. Give yourself a treat. Don't listen to this in the car (unless you are on a long lonely journey on country roads in the dark perhaps). If you have a fireside and a red leather wing back chair beside it, go and turn off the lights, sit in the chair and listen to these excellent tales as the fire spits and the wind moans in the chimney. They are classics for very good reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chilling Ghost Stories
Chilling Ghost Stories by E. F. Benson (Audio CD - 18 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: 3.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews