Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!
Loving the original Jane Eyre, I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this new 'porn' version - but I couldn't put it down! It's so brilliantly and subtly done, I found myself turning the pages to see how the next fantasy or steamy scene was going to be woven into the original text. It's a fantastic, erotic read, not trying to replace the classic (of course!) but...
Published on 30 July 2012 by H. Rees

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reader..........its rubbish
Oh dear, oh dear...what to say about this silly publication? Read in a night it was so silly I laughed out loud in places. I so wanted to enjoy this book purely for the relationship between Jane and Mr Rochester which, in the original novel, simmers with eroticism for the reader with the capacity to read between the lines and imagine what their physical relationship would...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by Mrs Pisaroni


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reader..........its rubbish, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
Oh dear, oh dear...what to say about this silly publication? Read in a night it was so silly I laughed out loud in places. I so wanted to enjoy this book purely for the relationship between Jane and Mr Rochester which, in the original novel, simmers with eroticism for the reader with the capacity to read between the lines and imagine what their physical relationship would be like. Here it reads like an adolescents A'level essay (apologies to A Level students here as you would likely do a better job). Huge chunks of Bronte are inter spaced with 'sexy' imaginings and encounters which try to be erotic but are just not believable. There were so many things I took issue with but here are a few choice gems:
Jane knows about onanism before she gets to Thornfield and practises it whenever she can-so no innocent schoolgirl here.
Jane has dabbled in lesbianism before she gets to Thornfield. The reminiscence about this is, frankly, sordid and nauseating.
Edward is a skilled lover-believable-but Jane wanting to know about his previous lovers is not.
Edward had a previous lover from 'Brazil'-cue a bath scene and Edward declaring she should be a 'Brazilian' too-know where this is going people?
The funniest is Bertha Mason-wife of Mr Rochester-and guess what? she isn't mad she's a DOMINATRIX !!!!Well whip me silly for not expecting that one!
The book ends so abruptly you could be forgiven for thinking that Ms Sinclair had just taken her advances and run, the ending so far from satisfactory as to be appallingly bad-please don't tell me there will be a sequel?
I have,' gentle readers' left the 'worst' until last. A sexual encounter on horseback!!! I can say no more.
Dreadful attempt to jump on the erotic makeover bandwagon-avoid unless you want a laugh-I do think that a few drinks and reading it out loud with the girls might be a fun filled night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!, 30 July 2012
By 
H. Rees (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loving the original Jane Eyre, I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this new 'porn' version - but I couldn't put it down! It's so brilliantly and subtly done, I found myself turning the pages to see how the next fantasy or steamy scene was going to be woven into the original text. It's a fantastic, erotic read, not trying to replace the classic (of course!) but just adding a new twist. Definitely as sexy as Fifty Shades, with a lot of much, much better writing in between the S&M!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jaded Jane, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Trish23 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
Ah Jane Eyre - beloved of adolescent girls for over a hundred years, Charlotte Bronte's captivating wish-fulfillment fantasy of how a meeting of minds can transcend class and convention. Yes, there's melodrama aplenty but the heart of the novel has always been about the thrill of meeeting a kindred spirit, a true soul mate.
There's no place for high faluting concepts like a meeting of minds or soul mates in Jane Eyre Laid Bare which concerns itself solely with the body. Fine you say, it's erotica, that's what it's supposed to be about. True, all the traditional ingredients of fluffy, soft core porn are here; lipstick lesbians, voyeurism, sex in strange locations etc. The problem is that none of it is remotely titillating or arousing, surely the raison d'etre of erotica.
This Jane, still a virgin but far from innocent, is in a permanent state of arousal. Her every waking thought seems to be about sex and she is excited by men, women and a wide variety of inanimate objects. It's impossible to take her seriously. Mr Rochester as presented here is so far from being appealing as to be downright repulsive; he really came across as nothing more than a dirty old man and this is before his plans for Jane are revealed at the end of the book. Yuk! Nobody is going to get hot and bothered reading about this bloke.
Still, I gave the book three stars because I did get a certain amount of entertainment reading it. It is unintentionally hilarious at times. No one is naive enough to think that the victorians were as straight laced as they were traditionally portrayed but I doubt if even the most debauched of them would have had sex toys and erotic paintings liberally scattered around their ancestral home on open display. There's a memorable and risible scene where a sexual encounter takes place on horseback as Jane and Mr R gallop over hill and dale that beggars belief.
The book ends abruptly at the famous half way point of Charlotte Bronte's original - the aborted wedding. I assume it has been left open for a sequel or at least the possibility of one but I certainly won't be reading it. To do that I would have to have some interest in seeing Jane reunited with Mr Rochester but after the revelation about the true nature of his relationship with Bertha and his original intentions for Jane, I have none. This unappealing, sleazy, wimp of a man is not even worth this silly Jane's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre Laid Bare, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre. I did like this twist to it, the erotic side of Jane and Edward Rochester.
I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, funny and filthy - Jayne Eyre with attitude!, 31 July 2012
By 
S. Lancaster (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever wondered what really went on under the petticoats of the chaste Victorian heroines of classic novels like Jane Eyre? Loved the romance but wished the girls got a bit more action? Gentle reader, this one's for you! Jane Eyre Laid Bare is a complete romp from start (moist memories of cosy nights in the girl's dorm) to a satisfyingly Go Girl finish by way of a most unorthodox riding lesson.
Part of the fun of this shockingly irreverent take on one of the great romantic novels is the way that the underlying plot - lonely orphan arouses tempestuous lust in arrogant, rich rotter with a shocking secret in the attic - is unchanged. So it's a terrific, well-written tale with genuine tension and well-drawn characters.
Bolting on a thoroughly modern leading lady who looks modest and demure but is absolutely determined to get into the hero's skin-tight breeches gives it a generous dose of humour and a powerful erotic thrust. Funny and filthy by turn, it's a cut above most of this genre.
Completely recommended for lazy afternoons on the chaise longue. Loosen your corset and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre Laid Bare, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed Jane Eyre Laid Bare. Brilliant idea and so well put together. Thousand times better than the recent "porn" best seller! Eve Sinclair should write more books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A properly funny bodice-ripper, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently read the frankly poorly written 50 Shades trilogy and come away bemoaning how formulaic erotic fiction can be, I was intrigued to discover that this re-working of a classic with added naughty bits had been released. I'm glad I bought it, it's a well constructed re-write of the original using most of Bronte's work with added and well blended pieces by the author, which succeed in being not only extremely naughty but also hilariously funny. I laughed my way through, and loved the twist at the end (no, I'm not going to give it away). I have to say that reading this has inspired me to want to read Jane Eyre which is one of the classics which i actually missed out on devouring when I was younger (an oversight on my part as classic literature has always been of interest to me). I recommend that anyone who likes humour in their writing as well as a sense of the risque should buy this, they won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reader... don't read!, 21 Sep 2012
If you're a fan of the original I cannot recommend this! Having read and enjoyed previous sequels to classic novels with erotic scenes added in I thought, for 69p, I'd give this one a try. While the author does well at writing in a similar style and with similar language to the original, I was disappointed. Frankly, many of the erotic scenes seemed as though the came from a teenage boy's fantasies, with women sexual pleasing each other every other page. Many parts did not feel as though they belonged in the time, especially the then innocent Jane's fantasies of a threesome. I disliked Rochester in this adaptation too. I don't like to give negative reviews, but I cannot recommend this novel. Stick with the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and V. Sexy, 7 Sep 2012
I was intrigued to see how Eve Sinclair would sauce-up the smouldering classic - Jane and Mr R's relationship is one of the more erotically charged in literature. Thankfully Sinclair is an author who really cares about writing and she has created a highly charged and explicit fantasy with real passion - the new scenes are skillfully woven in without descending into parody - a highly original and sensual take on the classic and really well written too - what a refreshing change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars terrible read, trying to add modern day sexuality into 19th century literature, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terrible - Bertha Mason has been given a voice who has become a dominatrix?? A well read original has become a trashy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Eyre Laid Bare
Jane Eyre Laid Bare by Penelope Rawlins (narrator) (Audio CD - 1 Feb 2013)
£15.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews