Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Sir, Can I have some Moore?!
What a fantastic book!

To start with it is bigger than I expected, 287mm x 223mm, and it is 224 pages long.

It is a lovely looking book with a beautifully designed glossy outer sleeve, and really thick and sturdy cardboard covers with a high quality binding.

The book begins with a really great introduction by Roger Moore, and it is full of...
Published on 4 Oct. 2012 by IOWBOY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but lacking in the Dalton years
It's quite good.

The problem for me was that it pretty much glosses over the Timothy Dalton films and his portrayal of Bond very very quickly, and tells us very little.

Timothy Dalton was my favourite Bond and The Living Daylights is my favourite film, so I was disappointed.

Plenty of coverage of Craig, Connery, Brosnan and of course...
Published 2 months ago by Zin


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique insight on Bond, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative book about the Bond years told with Roger Moore's tongue in cheek comedic insight. You can almost hear Roger Moore speaking the words which makes it a very easy read. Lots of detail about the Bond girls and Bond cars including lots of photographs. All round family entertainment and a must for any Bond fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond on Bond Just Brilliant!!!, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a gift for a Bond fan and it was a geat hit.It is full of unusual and new information about diffrent aspects of bond divided into easy to read sections. There are plenty of great photos and the old advertising posters for each film were brilliant. A must have book for any Bond fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor addition to the James Bond canon., 4 April 2013
By 
Dr. DA Gibson "dave29969" (Wetherby, N. Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a James Bond fan and avid reader of quite a bit of the literature produced in connection with the books, films etc I was exceptionally disappointed with this slim and rather trite tome. While I appreciate Roger Moore is going to concentrate on his own films, there is nothing new in the text that hasn't been written more comprehensively and eloquently before. As the longest serving Bond actor, I was hoping for something more by way of insight than his usual superficial banal humour and at least some further commentary on the other aspects of the books, the other actors and team involved beyond the passing dull standard text.
I read this cover to cover in 45 minutes - a sad and distinctly wanting production in celebration of 50 years of Bond films - try the Everything or Nothing DVD for something a little more substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cooper on Bond, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I rate this book 4/5. The 5th point is lost due to being able to read the book, cover to cover, in 2 hours. Great photos, interesting facts, but can't help feeling that Sir Roger Moore could have shared more. Good value for money for any avid Bond collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bond on Bond for Bondies, 26 Mar. 2015
By 
JJ (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book if for those who have a yearning to know not just about the films but about the cars in the films, the gadgets in the films, film locations, the tailoring of the star, the weapons of choice etc etc.
I don't think Roger Moore ever thinks terribly unkindly about anyone so there is not a lot of gossip about co-stars, nearly all of whom, with perhaps one exception, he got on with very well.
He liked the other Bond's, his favourite was Sean Connery but then he defined the role, and he was very supportive of Daniel Craig as the next (now incumbent) Bond.
This is for those with a real interest in the hows and the wherefores of the James Bond films and character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coffee-table Bond, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
JRF - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many Bond fans will want to own this book, with the assured and witty text by Roger Moore linking the various people, themes and elements of the 007 saga. Supported by numerous interesting photos, he provides a variety of entertaining and informative anecdotes about the world of 007.

The only drawback is that little is explored in depth: however, there are other books that do this, and if treated as belonging on the coffee table (as was no doubt the intention) this one fulfils its purpose well. Recommended for all Bond fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bond on Bond, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book chosen, as over the years I have been able to watch all the films and have learned that there was more to the films than met the eyes. The in fighting, placing of stars, decisions about locations, costs and benefits to the company through profit, said by one of the stars gives a real insight into the business and fun there is during the filming.
The enjoyment by the Author comes over vividly as though he was talking to me personally.
A good book for people wishing to know more about the internal working of filmmaking without being too technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible delivery service, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very pleased with this book which is a present for a young nephew who is mad about James Bond.
HOWEVER - the delivery service provided by HDNL was very disappointing. Not only did the book arrive a day later than the guaranteed delivery date, it was left outside my front gate where it could have been stolen or soaked.
Amazon handled my complaint very well though, and have provided compensation by extending my Prime contract and providing a discount on my next order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond on Bond, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book.Written by Sir Roger Moore in his brilliant self-mocking style.Find out how he tried to recommended more rubbish actors than himself to take the part when he couldn't (in his own words he couldn't think of any).Read how he used to wind up Desmond Llewelyn by tampering with his script.
Full of great anecdotes of his time as Bond and carefully placed prompts to be a baddie in the next film! It covers all the cars,gadgets,locations and views on the other Bonds and co-stars.Covers all the Bond films to a degree as well.Gives a really good and often funny insight into the production of a Bond film including behind the scenes stories and pictures.
Brilliantly written and illustrated with plenty of pictures with witty side comments!
A must for any Bond fan.Get this book,you'll read it over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, very enjoyable, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful photos and Roger Moore is highly enterteining. A terrific book for fans, a great gift for everyone. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bond on Bond
Bond on Bond by narrated by the author (Audio CD - 4 Oct. 2012)
£15.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews