Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically well-written and researched
I wolfed this one down. It's so well-written, so thought-provoking and, at times, heart-rending. The anecdotal evidence is startling and mesmerising. Personal thoughts are explored. Scientific concepts probed. A very human book about numinous experience.
Published 3 months ago by AL

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so i was a bit disappointed.
Apart from personal stories, including the authors, this doesn't give anything that i haven't already read elsewhere, so i was a bit disappointed.
Published 2 months ago by Eileen Clifford


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically well-written and researched, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wolfed this one down. It's so well-written, so thought-provoking and, at times, heart-rending. The anecdotal evidence is startling and mesmerising. Personal thoughts are explored. Scientific concepts probed. A very human book about numinous experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and interesting, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very interesting and enlightening about what happens after we die. The biggest and most important thing I learned was not to fear death and know that it is not the end. It was fascinating to read about the comments and books written by the medical profession about their experiences when being with a patient who was dying. The investigations that were carried out into the body's state pre-death was also very good. The book was a balanced view from the authors experiences with her family and the information that is available from the experience of doctors and nurses. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Read on an Interesting Subject, Which Is Intelligently Explored., 29 May 2014
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Personally I found this book most interesting and consequently found it hard to put down once started.

It delves into a difficult, but interesting subject, on the basis of the author's personal experiences and those shared by others, who have participated in, or been witness to, near death experiences or interactions with departing or departed loved ones.

The research is a valuable component, as it endeavours to relate the extent of known fact (which has its limitations) to common factors arising out of the personal accounts.

Consequently I would heartily recommend this book to those with a fascination for this intriguing subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Hilary Hilton "Hilary" (Winchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the whole I enjoyed the book and i certainly gave another insight as to what might happen just before death. I found it a little long winded in places but it is still an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Baxter "Julie Baxter" (Burscough, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Heaven's Door: What the Dying Tell Us About Where They're Going (Paperback)
Love this book! Should be made compulsory reading in schools. Well researched, well written and sincerity springs from every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well-written and very readable, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Heaven's Door: What the Dying Tell Us About Where They're Going (Paperback)
Basically I think it's a great book. I don't think it will convince someone with a fixed idea that survival isn't possible, but then again I don't think it's really aimed in that direction. For everyone else I'd recommend it because a) there's a lot of interesting material in it and b) it is written (as someone else commented) in a very digestible way. It's a great book to have on the shelf and I think it could be equally easily read by someone recently bereaved or by those with a more academic interest in the subject of survival.

It isn't a textbook or a scientific treatise but it was for me a genuine pleasure to read. It is one I think I will read again from time to time and the references are useful for follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable read, thought provoking and comforting., 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Opening Heaven's Door: What the Dying Tell Us About Where They're Going (Paperback)
Patricia Pearson is a journalist who has undertaken extensive research following extraordinary experiences that happened around the time of her sister and father's deaths. She wanted to know more. She wanted to understand. In this thought provoking book, Pearson researches explanations given by science and logic, and carefully considers what she discovers alongside people's accounts of their own or witnessed personal experiences.

It is a remarkable book that is sure to appeal to skeptic and believer alike. It gives the reader much to think about and really challenges the dismissive view of hallucinations and dying brain activity, and the like. Chapter 5 is particularly inspiring. It leaves you with no doubt that there is something more, something that science has yet to understand and has no words for. Science, as we know it, just cannot adequately account for what is happening to people.

I have read a number of books (eg 'Proof of Heaven' by Eben Alexander, another fabulous book - he is a neurosurgeon who had an NDE) which give detailed personal accounts of spiritual experiences. This book is different. It pulls together people's experiences in the context of a fully researched dialogue. It reads like a proper study, weighing this against that. It can be a little 'academic' in places but overall is a compelling read. It makes some really profound statements that, based in research, you just can't argue with!

This book is the perfect anecdote to those who question and argue against God and a spiritual dimension to life. It challenges thinking but without demanding belief. It doesn't force any one religious ideal on you but rather embraces the core truths at the heart of man's spiritual expression. It doesn't demand faith. It simply and eloquently presents the facts and guides you towards, at the very least, an open mind. The reader discovers that the all-encompassing light that people speak of is actually very real, even if we have no tangible way of explaining it yet, and that it embraces those it envelops with knowledge and deep, life-enhancing love. This light appears to come from a higher power or intelligence, beyond the realms of known science. It changes people. It gives them peace.

Science is amazing but does not yet have all the answers (and most probably, never will). No one can argue with that. Our Universe is amazingly complex and vast. This book might just be the helping hand people need to help them reach out to other possibilities and embrace them, to make better sense of things. It is enormously comforting. To me, God is the essence of the Universe, a glorious being of light and love, and our souls are at one with Him. Jesus said, 'I am the light'. This book put it into words that all can understand, whatever their religious belief or otherwise.

One witness recalls, 'travelling...toward the light...I sensed an all-pervading intelligence, wisdom, compassion, love, and truth...He...contained everything, as white light contains all the colours of the rainbow when penetrating a prism. And deep within me came an instant and wondrous recognition: I was facing God.' (p 128).

All in all, this book is quite remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so i was a bit disappointed., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apart from personal stories, including the authors, this doesn't give anything that i haven't already read elsewhere, so i was a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book came in good time and well packed, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Heaven's Door: What the Dying Tell Us About Where They're Going (Paperback)
The book came in good time and well packed. Bought for my daughter to read since her dad died.I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scots, not Gaelic, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoying the work immensely. Absorbing, thorough and well written. Just had to mention that "fra ghosties and ghoulies" is simply a phrase in Scots, not Gaelic and should be easily understood by English speakers because the words are not so different from modern English - ie 'from ghosts and ghouls.' Anyway, must get back to reading the book. Was looking for an email address to write and mention this detail. Gaels tend not to use or understand Scots, having learned English. I am a Scot, living in Scotland and have learned Gaelic. I assure you the phrase is Scots. Thought you might like to know. Yours cordially, Eliza Langland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Opening Heaven's Door: What the Dying Tell Us About Where They're Going
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews