Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to read - love it, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Mbwest "margaretbwest" (Norwich England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London (Paperback)
This book is a delight to read - keeps one interested from page one. A bit of history really but easily written one does not get bored.
Have bought my sister a copy as she live near that area where Anwyn was born so can explore the village. Also giving my copy to a care home where I hope a lot of the Lady residences will enjoy a good read and a good natter about the book. Most enjoyable - love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a lovely read, one that I will definitely read over and over again. I love autobiographies about people's jobs and especially the lives of servants. Anwyn worked as a kitchen maid, lady's maid and barmaid, I won't tell you how her tale ends but let's just say she did very well for herself through hard work and determination .I particularity enjoyed Anwyn's inclusion of Welsh Pagan myths and her writing style, she strikes me as a very observant lady. Parts of the book are sad but not depressing. Do read this book, it's inspiring and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating tale from a bygone age - I was left wishing that there had been more also on Anwyn Moyle's later life. Tragic and funny by turns, there are moments when her laconic and succinct powers of description or comment rival those of Dick Francis or Alan Titchmarsh! Truly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book, was hard to put down. This lady had a tough life, but never seemed to feel sorry for herself. She just got on with things and eventually life went a bit more her way. Inspiring book. Shocking, in some ways, how hard life could be in those times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cut above, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written rags to riches tale with vivid characterisation and evocative descriptions of living through a period of significant social change, before, during and after the second world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, very interesting read couldn't put it down, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London (Paperback)
I loved it, very interesting read couldn't put it down. The history was interesting and although true made a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book as I knew someone who was a ..., 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book as I knew someone who was a lady's maid and some of my friend stories were much the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 16 Sep 2014
By 
S. Gibbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book, it had so many twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London (Paperback)
a very good read I enjoyed it very much j .v
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 2 Sep 2014
By 
S. Hart "shirl" (hayling island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London (Paperback)
thoroughly enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London
Her Ladyship's Girl: A Maid's Life in London by Anwyn Moyle (Paperback - 31 July 2014)
£3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews