Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple tale effectively told
My initial opinion in the early stages of this short story was that I was heading for a rather pedestrian read...I was wrong! This ultimately engaging story is told in down-to-earth-fashion and almost without realising it I was totally reeled in.

This is the stirring story of a lasting friendship born out of an identity switch/prison escape plan or as the...
Published 6 months ago by SEM

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Ok for a quick read. Don't think revues should require so many words puts me off bothering. Xx xx xx
Published 5 months ago by roberta carse


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple tale effectively told, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My initial opinion in the early stages of this short story was that I was heading for a rather pedestrian read...I was wrong! This ultimately engaging story is told in down-to-earth-fashion and almost without realising it I was totally reeled in.

This is the stirring story of a lasting friendship born out of an identity switch/prison escape plan or as the escapee Colin at one point calls it an "insane plan". The character of Colin is sympathetically written, he is a man who has pulled his life around with a marriage and an expected child seemingly sealing the deal when he discovers to his despair that the law doesn't forget. Finding himself inside he makes friends with Barry, a prisoner on remand, and an unlikely plan is hatched to allow Colin to escape to attend the birth of his child after his request for day release is denied.

As the author is Lynda La Plante it is rather a given that the writing is good, cleverly and in an understated manner she ensures that these characters get under your skin. I would have also quite liked it if it had been possible to glean something about the reaction of the kindly prison officer Reardon to the later dramatic events. I read this on the journey in to work and the story's motivating message really helped set me up nicely for the day. This is all based on a true story and is well worth a read.

An engrossing 4* read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHORT READ, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an unusual plot for Linda LaPlante but a very humane outlook on two small time criminals,well handled and a good insight into some peoples predicaments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok for a quick read. Don't think revues should require so many words puts me off bothering. Xx xx xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Story, 13 Feb 2014
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lynda La Plante has written an enjoyable short story. Colin is serving a 4 year jail sentence. He befriends Barry, a sympathetic fellow inmate shortly due parole. Barry finds prison life undemanding without any outside pressures. Colin's partner, Karen is pregnant, and he is desperate to see her and attend the birth. Barry is not that keen on being released and so the plans for a high-risk identity switch and Colin's escape are hatched. This is intriguing and just about believable. An engaging short story from a masterly tale-spinner that stretches the imagination even if based on a true incident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ESCAPE, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Colin Burrows is in prison, a deeply unhappy man. The main reason being that his wife is about to go into labour and he has been refused permission to attend the birth of their son. Barry Marsden the man he shares his cell with prefers incarceration to the outside world, and when he finds out he is due parole he offers to swap identity with Colin so that he may see his baby being born.
A short story which from the onset was a good quality read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read this story yet so cant comment on it at present. Dorothy Everett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read it yet but sure it will be good as I like her writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lynda La Plante Quick read, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quick read and very entertaining, as Lynda La Plante always is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Read, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the usual Lynda La Plante book but okay for a quick read and enjoyed it for a change although a bit unbelievable it was enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read love Lynda La Plante, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good as always, best author ever, can't wait to read new one on holiday soaking up sunny Mexico. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Escape 2014 (Quick Read)
The Escape 2014 (Quick Read) by Lynda La Plante (Hardcover - 3 Feb 2014)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews