Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely thought provoking and truly insprirational
This book was extremely thought provoking for me. It raised many issues in the previous way in which fostering was conducted such as single parents not being able to foster and also about the voice of a child not being heard properly and the impact this can have upon the child and upon their self opinions. It covers issues of self harm, attachment and of a child's...
Published 20 months ago by Donna Travis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A repetitive and boring book
If you just want an overview of the broken social services care system of the 70s and 80s this book delivers. However, I found it really repetitive and frankly quite boring. I wouldn't recommend this book.
Published 2 months ago by Des O'Brien


‹ Previous | 114 15 1630 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
It was a riveting read. Well written. About Hope and her struggles living with alcoholic parents and her time in the care system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
Very moving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
Was completely absorbed and read day I purchased. Emotional, shocking and inspiring. A clear reminder of the importance of putting children at the centre and ensuring they are listened to AND heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is extremely good., 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
I saw the Arthur on television in January speak about her life living in a children home and that she had written a book.
So I had saved the clip on my kindle and tried to search for this book I could not find it only recently I replayed the clip back and got all the details properly.
when I started reading this book I found it hard to put the book down and do my everyday chores so whenever I had chance I would read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
A book I couldn't put down although had me sad in parts I just had to continue so I knew this poor girl hi was reading about hopefully had a happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True grit., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
A harrowing story but inspirational. I could not put it down. Hope's courage won through due to her determination and bravery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 7 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
This story proves how a person can thrive and become themselves through any adversity. A lesson not to judge a book by what you think of its cover!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking !, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
Can't quite believe what happens to some children in one lifetime, this is a sad thought provoking story of how some children survive .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting and honest book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
a very honest book . this book opened my eyes to the care system and the effects it has on children. a brilliant read I would definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hackney Child (Kindle Edition)
I was totally engrossed by this very well written and sad account of a turbulent childhood. Highly recommended reading. Unbelievable that this all happened not so long ago and on my doorstep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1630 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hackney Child
Hackney Child by Morag Livingstone (Paperback - 30 Jan. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews