Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Autobiography
In October 2013, I nearly died from an episode of diabetes ketoacidosis. I spent a week in the Churchill Hospital in Oxford, on an insulin drip and painkillers, etc, and whilst stuck in bed for those few days, I read this wonderful little book from cover to cover. Reading Bergkamp's vivid account about his adoration for football, from his early days over in Amsterdam...
Published 4 months ago by William Mason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional, disappointingly so.
As others have said, this is not a normal football autobiography and, while interesting, it's too short and lacking in much of the detail I would hope and expect to get. This book is as much about Cruyff, Ajax, Dutch football, Arsenal and Internazionale as it is about Bergkamp, and I'm pretty sure Bergkamp contributes much less than 50% of the text.

I suppose...
Published 12 months ago by Henry


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stillness in the title dullness in the text, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Hardcover)
This book is a slow read, chapter to chapter not much of anything with depth is mentioned, the comments by Cruyff are much more interesting than Bergkamps. All in all the book doesn't really tell you anything, it just sort off discussions comments made by past players Bergkamp played against and coaches, it does not give any real insight into training methods or specific technical drills that he may have used to further his skill set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book might provide some useful insights into what life was like in the great Arsenal side of the late nineties and early 2000's. However, this book disappointed me. Bergkamp spends most of his time telling us how great Dutch football was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a long ,sychophantic, 4-4-2 article, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arsenal fans will probably lap this up but to the general football fan its a rather tedious collection of interviews with Dennis Bergkamp. You get a few interesting insights into the Italian football psyche and some nice tales from Arsenal's transition from 'boring, boring' to 'invincible' but the authors brown-nosing style begins to grate after a while.

Bought it for 49p, for that price well worth a read. Don't pay more than a quid unless you were a regular at Highbury tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer quality, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Hardcover)
A fascinating read, this book is high quality, just like the man himself. A fascinating insight into the world of one of our greatest ever footballers with some interesting input from a whole host of characters. A really great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A different style to other autobiographies, but in a good way!

Being able to get direct opinion from people mentioned before it goes to print is a brilliant idea and one that a certain Championship manager could do with acknowledging ;)

A great read and I recommend it to anyone wanting to know what it takes to succeed and stay at the very top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any football fan, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Hardcover)
Fantastic book certainly one not just for Arsenal fans but also those that love the game. Great insight into his early career at Ajax, the generation of Total Football and how Bergkamp was caught in the midst of two very different footballing ideologies at Inter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as watching him..., 3 Nov 2013
By 
Danyon Billings (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very different from your standard autobiography (particularly a footballers). It is more like this is your life with interviews in between. A great insight into the mind of one of football's truly modern greats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very good book, 25 Oct 2013
it highlights all the moments from dennis bergkamp's life and career perfecty an excellent auto-biography In my opinion it is a wonderful story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the typical autobiography, not in the usual sense. But it was well written and very insightful into the mind of one of the most genius minds in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Hardcover)
A must read for any football fan, if you didn't realise he was the greatest thing to ever come to the premiership you will after reading this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stillness and Speed: My Story
Stillness and Speed: My Story by Dennis Bergkamp (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews