Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Autobiography
In October 2013, I nearly died from an episode of diabetes ketoacidosis. I spent a week in the Churchill Hospital in Oxford, on an insulin drip and painkillers, etc, and whilst stuck in bed for those few days, I read this wonderful little book from cover to cover. Reading Bergkamp's vivid account about his adoration for football, from his early days over in Amsterdam...
Published 2 months ago by William Mason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional, disappointingly so.
As others have said, this is not a normal football autobiography and, while interesting, it's too short and lacking in much of the detail I would hope and expect to get. This book is as much about Cruyff, Ajax, Dutch football, Arsenal and Internazionale as it is about Bergkamp, and I'm pretty sure Bergkamp contributes much less than 50% of the text.

I suppose...
Published 9 months ago by Henry


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a Bergkamp fan..., 28 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Hardcover)
For any AFC or footy fan it's a interesting insight in to his football career.

The way it was written and hearing both sides of stories, particulaly why it didn't work out in Italy but famously did in England, made it a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class!, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, an insight into not just total football but most importantly bergkamp football! A genius and a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a fascinating insight into the mind of one of hollands and arsenals greatest players a must read for all fans of the beautifull game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great man. great book., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing. The bit with Ian wright is just great! Lots of details about interesting elements of his life, well written and captured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for Arsenal fans, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book but probably won't interest non Arsenal fans. Good insight into the the Ajax way and his time at Arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book of life of great footballer., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought book for my husband and son as they are great fans of him.They have said they enjoyed book immensely .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars my review, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not actually written by Dennis, it's a bit slow and does drag. Needs more stories about the man himself. Sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not just for the Arsenal fans out there. The man is a genius and a little bit different just like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great insight, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book bergkamp the genius one of my favourite gooners of all time our greatest ever signing at the club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Turgid Read, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "GordonKG" (Richmond, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Dennis Berkamp but what a turgid book. Very misleading to credit him as the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stillness and Speed: My Story
Stillness and Speed: My Story by Dennis Bergkamp (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews