Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study of enduring rivalry
This is more than a book about Eubank and Benn. It also examines Michael Watson's part in the rivalry. It is a well written account of perhaps the most bitter rivalry in British boxing. The original Eubank-Benn fight in 1990 was one of the most brutal bouts seen in a British ring and this book reveals the source of all that hate. Much of the material is based on...
Published 7 months ago by Jim

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why I was sent this.!
For some unknown reason this book was sent to my Kindle. Some one at Amazon just decided to send it to me. Luckily my complaints were heeded, and it was removed and my account refunded. I would never have ordered this in a million years, as I cannot stand Mr Eubank, and do not wish to read about him. Beware the un-requested order! anyone would think Amazon had turned into...
Published 2 months ago by Thomas Hammond


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study of enduring rivalry, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
This is more than a book about Eubank and Benn. It also examines Michael Watson's part in the rivalry. It is a well written account of perhaps the most bitter rivalry in British boxing. The original Eubank-Benn fight in 1990 was one of the most brutal bouts seen in a British ring and this book reveals the source of all that hate. Much of the material is based on interviews with all the protagonists of the time such as Eubank, Benn Watson, Barry Hearn, Frank Warren and Herol graham who both fighters studiously avoided during their careers. Finally the book all details the aftermath of the fights including other bouts during their career and where they are now,
A great book and hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, excellent knowledge and full of nostalgia, 9 Jan 2014
By 
S. D. Smith "Stuart" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
This is a really well written book, by a guy who clearly knows his stuff about his subject matter. It's more than just a bio of the two fights (the second one was a bit rubbish anyway) but more of a complete timeline as regards to the lead up to how these two guys got to be where they were, the actual fights, the aftermaths and what became of them afterwards. Great stuff about other protagonists of the day too, such as Watson, Collins, Graham the tough-guy Americans, the promotors, the trainers. There is also a funny paragraph about Daley Thompson which made me think that he was probably a very strange man indeed. It's fast paced, and deals only in the interesting bits of the parallel stories. Some boxing books tend to disappear up their own back-passages but Dirs gets what the reader wants and delivers. A better book on boxing, I've not read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story of a Great Era, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
Reading Ben Dirs' excellent book reminded me of a time when even my mum talked about boxing. Nigel Benn was involved in some of the most exciting fights involving a British fighter and people tuned in expecting fireworks. Eubank was the panto villain that everybody claimed to hate but couldn't help but tune in to watch him, even though he was involved in some stinkers. But the real point of the book is to say that they would never have been what they were without each other. Like every great rivalry (Prost/Senna, Ali/Frazer etc) they were fortunate to have a bitter rival of comparable ability allied to the fact that they both oozed charisma. When all those things combine the result is memorable. Dirs tells the story well and gets good contemporary interviews with the likes of Benn, Watson, Warren, Hearn etc. It is just a shame that Eubank did not provide more testimony. In my view at the end Benn comes across as the more likeable man and better boxer due to the fact that he beat top Americans, whilst Eubank unashamedly admitted to avoiding them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All British Boxing Fans, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
A great read for all fans of British Boxing. I remember the days when Benn,Eubank,Watson,Collins and co pulled in TV audience figures of up to 14 million at peak time on a Saturday night,glory days that will probably never be repeated.I remember the fights well,I still watch them on YouTube now and again and point the way to them to younger fight fans. What this book does,and does very well,is gives the background to the fights,the characters involved and a good insight into the sometimes less than squeaky clean side of Boxing.
If,like me,you've read the autobiographies of both Benn and Eubank don't be put off of buying this book,you'll learn much more about both men,and British Boxing, than either of those books will tell you.
I love boxing,I love reading,I love books about boxing and this is one of the best of the many,many I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hate or Pantomime, 21 Nov 2013
A brilliant read. Ben Dirs writes with great knowledge of a rivalry which hit Britain in the nineties. Allows you to make your mind what camp you are in. Made me think what era that was for British boxing Watson Graham,Piper,Wharton and Calzaghe. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boxing Books, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
I was very happy with both books. My aim is to buy many more boxing books to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully evocative, 6 Feb 2014
Wonderfully evocative of the era brings back many memories. I used to be a big Nigel Benn fan along with detesting Eubank. After reading Dir's book I have to admit I feel alot more sympathetic towards Eubank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back a time where boxing was front page news, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Cruse "Tc" (CHELMSFORD, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
This well wriiten book brings back a time where boxing was front page news. Not necessarily for the right reasons either.
Both Benn and Eubank are intreging characters and you can almost hear them speaking whilst reading their words. Their first fight was a classic not only because of the boxing but the stlyes of the characters involved.
All the characters are featured from the fights, Reg Gutteridge, Jim Rosentile, Hearne, Warren and King. Some great descriptions of the fights written by the author. It is almost like watching them. He clearly has put a great deal of effort in writing this book.
Although I am a big fan of Eubank and Benn, what made me laugh a great deal is that I now realise that Benn and Eubank were themselves, devoid of humour. Because of their inability to make a joke out of the taunts, the situations spiraled until they were settled in the ring. Neither one having the capability to work the other person out.
Eubank and his interaction with trainer, 'Davith', will have you laughing out loud.
An intreging book about a brutal, yet enthralling sport, at its peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Benn v Eubank, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Brings back some great memories.
Not just for boxing fans - but a study if how life deals you triumphs and disaster in equal measures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story whether you like boxing or not., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry (Hardcover)
A great book not just about Benn and Eubank but about boxing in general; the sport, the politics, the characters and the life-stories of the boxers outside the ring. There is relatively little attention paid to describing the fights in round by round detail, and the book is better for it, the author preferring instead to take us on a journey through a boxing landscape littered with the greedy, brave, tragic and heroic. Worth a read if you like sport in general but a must for fight fans especially for anyone who lived through the 'glory days' of British boxing in the 1980's and 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hate Game: Benn, Eubank and British Boxing's Bitterest Rivalry
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews