Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes humour at it's Punchy Best.
The opening line of the introduction to this short, very amusing book is 'If it wasn't for sport, what would we actually do with our lives?' I quoted this on a gathering of my three suffering mature daughters and my wife. Their reply would put Allan Border and Rodney Marshs' sledging into the second division. This book is about the rivalry between the personalities who...
Published 13 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rehash of a good book
First book was interesting and funny, this is a little lame. OK if you are a cricket lover. Take it or leave it.....
Published 9 months ago by John M Cairns


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes humour at it's Punchy Best., 13 Jun 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
The opening line of the introduction to this short, very amusing book is 'If it wasn't for sport, what would we actually do with our lives?' I quoted this on a gathering of my three suffering mature daughters and my wife. Their reply would put Allan Border and Rodney Marshs' sledging into the second division. This book is about the rivalry between the personalities who fight for the 'Ashes' on and off the pitch. Compiler Gershon Portnoi has drawn from sources that reflect both the animosity and often humorous confrontations between Australia and England.

Some may be familiar but still raise a smile. I was particularly taken by Warwickshire leg-spinner Eric Hollies taunted by 'Don't they bury their dead in Birmingham?'. No, he replied, "We stuff them and mark them "Export Only". Umpire Dickie Bird being berated by an irate drunken spectator taking players off the pitch because of the weather. Bird looked at the man before replying, " No, Sir. It's lunchtime."

This is a collection of tales that take the reader through the story of the ashes from behind the scenes. A wonderful collation of rivalry with words from the greats, Botham, Ponting, Border, Trueman, Gower, Merv Hughes, Tufnell and more. Enough fuel for debate. It's not all about taches , it's about a wonderful game full of incident. The ripostes to verbal abuse are wonderful. 2001, the Oval, Mark Waugh asked tailender Jimmy Ormond, "...You're not good enough to play for England? "Maybe not", replied Ormond, "But at least I'm the best player in my family". This split the Australians into fits of laughter. Warne couldn't bowl, Gilchrist had to excuse himself, even Mark Waugh was laughing. English decorum. Long may it, and the rivalry continue. A superb book that lends itself to repeat reading. A veritable gem. Can't wait for the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
Bought as a fathers day present, after reading through a couple of pages i couldn't resist and tried to read the rest.
Fast delivery and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the funniest book, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
my dad loves this it is his favourite book, lots of good stories and information, a cricket lovers must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rehash of a good book, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
First book was interesting and funny, this is a little lame. OK if you are a cricket lover. Take it or leave it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Witty read, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
I found the book witty and very funny, but I feel the stories were put together in a rather disjointed fashion. There could have been more oe a theme to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Ashes, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
Its been an ashes summer, great to read up on old sayings and battles (some i'd forgotten) from the past.
And a reminder of recent events when we hold the upper hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
Excellent variety of short little quips all connected with cricket and the rivalry between England and Australia. Definitely worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book was a present for a friend., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
This book was birthday present for a friend. We gave it to him as a read whilst on holiday. He usually likes his paper but was not always availablt on holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the summer, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
Look nowhere else for a fun guide to The Ashes. Best book I have read on The Ashes in a really long time. Great fun to read whilst watching the cricket on TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my Son who is taking it on holiday to read by the pool. I am sure he will enjoy it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ashes, Clashes and Bushy 'Taches: The Talksport Guide to Sport's Greatest Rivalry
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews