Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful - I got to know the player I thought I didnt like
I purchased this book because I wanted to understand Andy Murray better - see beyond what I know from the media. Let's face it, he is not really Britain's darling though somehow I couldn't put my finger on why not. This book uses his US Open victory as a frame and works through his life from early days to the final moment, the Grand Slam triumph. The book analyses his...
Published on 18 Dec. 2012 by Andi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable
I read it and did enjoy it but would have liked more depth to the writing. Particularly in the later chapters, it became rather bland. I also found the time scale quite difficult.
Published 20 months ago by JPW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful - I got to know the player I thought I didnt like, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book because I wanted to understand Andy Murray better - see beyond what I know from the media. Let's face it, he is not really Britain's darling though somehow I couldn't put my finger on why not. This book uses his US Open victory as a frame and works through his life from early days to the final moment, the Grand Slam triumph. The book analyses his sporting and personal life and is dotted with anecdotes which for me has brought out the real Andy Murray nicely ... a good guy with a fierce drive to succeed and a terrible TV interview presence. The book is well written (Hodgkinson knows what he is doing...I remember reading his work when he was the Telegraph's tennis correspondent) and pages turn very easily. Well worth a read for any Tennis fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sports story for a long time, 10 Dec. 2012
Reading this book gave me an insight into Andy Murray's world I never knew about. From early struggles to becoming the first British male to win a Grand Slam in 75 years, this book is a revelation. A real absolute page turner. Anyone not a Murray fan, soon will be, when they read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read it and did enjoy it but would have liked more depth to the writing. Particularly in the later chapters, it became rather bland. I also found the time scale quite difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great informative read., 29 Dec. 2012
Was worried this had been rushed out to cash in on Andy's success in the US Open but it is a thoroughly well written book. The US Open frames the book but it s full of really informative and interesting facts and events. Written in a great style the pages flash by. Really enjoyable and all credit to Mark Hodgkinson for producing such a great read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Murray - champion, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would definitely recommend this book, its a brilliant read,emotional and he as not had it easy, Murry is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars andy murray autobiography, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Murray: Champion: The Full Extraordinary Story (Paperback)
interesting read but i feel more could have been included .i expected more after seeing a media interview with andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story., 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The review name says it all. Someone to make us extremely proud of Britain. Now for the Australian Open in January 2014 and the start of a new year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Murray (a true) Champion, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read from start to finish. You felt that you were on the journey with him, the highs and the lows. I would recommend this book to anyone who has even the slightest interest in tennis, you won't be disappointed. You will come away with a better understanding of Andy the man. He hasn't had an easy ride but won through in the end. TRUELY A CHAMPION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andy Murray, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
P. Moren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a book about Andy Murray there was alot about other tennis players. Disappointing although the parts about Andy were good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Murray., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as part of my grandsons Christmas and he was delighted with it. He has informed me that its a great read. Delivery was fast and as usual up to Amazons high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andy Murray: Champion: The Full Extraordinary Story
Andy Murray: Champion: The Full Extraordinary Story by Mark Hodgkinson (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£7.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews