Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Armstrong, a great man
I admired Neil's expertise and modesty.

A small pert of the book gives the lowdown on how his marriage breakup affected him, and why the breakup happened, and how Neil bounced back. Or to put it more accurately, survived the breakup, anyway.

Highly recommended.
Published 8 months ago by BRIAN

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Tangents Than A Trigonometry Class.
This edition of the authorised biography updates us on the passing of Neil Armstrong in August 2012 and now includes a seven page preface written by the author the month after Armstrong's death.

At 768 pages this biography is brimming with facts about the life and times of Neil Armstrong; indeed, perhaps the author has overburdened the book with too many facts...
Published on 19 Mar. 2013 by D. Forbes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Tangents Than A Trigonometry Class., 19 Mar. 2013
By 
D. Forbes "Donald B. Forbes" (Kidderminster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Man: The Life of Neil Armstrong (Paperback)
This edition of the authorised biography updates us on the passing of Neil Armstrong in August 2012 and now includes a seven page preface written by the author the month after Armstrong's death.

At 768 pages this biography is brimming with facts about the life and times of Neil Armstrong; indeed, perhaps the author has overburdened the book with too many facts. Reviewers of the 2006 edition have already mentioned the book's meandering style: a little too often the narrative takes the reader away from the action and up another new tributary to discover some obscure detail about the family of someone he knew at college or about a neighbour from his childhood years.

The book starts as it means to continue with a huge amount of detail about Armstrong's early life. However, some of the information is trivial, bordering on the spurious: the author pedals quite a few minor myths about the great man only to debunk them a few paragraphs downstream which I personally found quite irritating.

I quite liked the chapters covering Neil Armstrong's role in the Korean War and his Gemini VIII flight. The chapter covering the F-104 and X-15 program included a few disparaging comments about Chuck Yeager which I would want to corroborate with additional reading before taking this version of the facts as gospel.

By the time I got to the chapters covering Apollo my interest was beginning to wane: perhaps because I was already very familiar with the Apollo 11 mission, but for those picking up on this story for the first time the book contains all the facts that the interested reader needs to know.

The book is furnished with a few dozen black and white photographs, although it would have been nice if it had included a few colour plates as well. Some parts of the text would have benefited from an accompanying diagram or two: I've taken an interest in the Apollo program since...well, the Apollo program, so terms like Translunar Injection and Earth Parking Orbit sit quite comfortably with me - probably not so with the more casual reader.

Fortunately the exhausted reader can stand easy before the end of the volume as the final 120 pages are occupied with acknowledgements, bibliographies, etc.

Unfortunately, this book is two stars short of being a good read. It's a pity that the great man himself didn't pen his own autobiography. It was known that he did intend publishing his work on aerodynamics; perhaps some accounts of his eventful life written in his own hand will turn up in the future.

Donald B. Forbes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Armstrong, a great man, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
BRIAN (Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Man: The Life of Neil Armstrong (Paperback)
I admired Neil's expertise and modesty.

A small pert of the book gives the lowdown on how his marriage breakup affected him, and why the breakup happened, and how Neil bounced back. Or to put it more accurately, survived the breakup, anyway.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The author corresponded over the course of hundreds of emails with the 20th century's greatest explorer so the book is full of A, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Man: The Life of Neil Armstrong (Paperback)
Hansen's account of Armstrong is a riveting read. The author corresponded over the course of hundreds of emails with the 20th century's greatest explorer so the book is full of Armstrong quotes. This is a long, detailed book, deservedly so, with a quarter devoted - in intricate detail - to those 8 days in July 1969 - an incredibly exciting, hour-by-hour examination of a feat fraught with danger and adventure. An absolute must for anyone interested in space travel and one of our greatest heroes. Every science teacher should recommend this to his pupils. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted, 9 April 2014
By 
Lisa (Lower Kingswood, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Man: The Life of Neil Armstrong (Paperback)
This book was a gift to my husband who loves all things space and particularly the moon landings and Astronomy Now. When he heard about this book which has apparently been written with the full co-operation and help of Neil Armstrong he was really delighted and is already enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Man: The Life of Neil Armstrong
First Man: The Life of Neil Armstrong by James Hansen (Paperback - 27 Nov. 2012)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews