Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Could not put this book down!! An emotional read but very well written. Loved it and would read it again in the future
Published 8 months ago by Molly Phelps

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn
Constant name dropping, grew very tiresome on hearing how amazing she is and who she's had lunch with. Very disapointed
Published 4 months ago by Bex


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: No Holding Back (Hardcover)
Could not put this book down!! An emotional read but very well written. Loved it and would read it again in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Kindle Edition)
Constant name dropping, grew very tiresome on hearing how amazing she is and who she's had lunch with. Very disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: No Holding Back (Hardcover)
Not usually a fan of autobiographies, but this book was just the right balance of humour/interesting stories and also an emotional rollercoaster in it's own right. Have passed it on to my sister and mum and they both read it in a day too - great page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay If You Like That Kind Of Thing..., 14 Dec 2013
By 
V. K. Evans (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Kindle Edition)
This book was my book club choice and isn't the kind of thing I'd usually read. It's and easy read, and I learned soemthings I didn't know about Amanda Holden - I had no idea she actually had a muscal theatre career for example. But there you go, I'm not a big follow of celebraty culture.

The early part of this book, when Amanda recounts her childhood, is poorly written. Kind of anecdotal but stilted with nothing to emotionallly connect to, the writing is undeveloped and unsophisticated - perhaps it's intentional to reflect Amanda's own immaturity at the time.

I have to say Amanda is honest and self deprecating about her affair with Neil Morrissey and the writing improves enormously when she writes about the loss of her first baby - you do begin to connect with her and the book flows wellto the end.

There is a lot of justification abotu family arguments and Amanda does give the impression she was wholly blameless and that it was her sisters jealousy and her grandmothers stubborness that led to the breakdown..hmmm...not sure I believe you there Amanda - not entirely sure requesting your sister to bring your dogs to you becuase you were desperate to see them wasn't the straw that broke the camels back...?

So what did I learn? That Amanda seems nice enough, that she thinks her job is wonderful but that she maybe doesn't realise the rest of the world might not agree. That she isn't a natural story teller. That she reveals more about herself than I think she intended to do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Max M "Max M" (Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Kindle Edition)
I love autobiography's and had no idea what to expect of this one. If you thought you knew Amanda Holden from reading the papers.... think again!! It brought back childhood memories of growing up in the 80's. & you finally read her story about her first marriage, which was far from what I expected!!! Having read what she and her husband have been through in their marriage I can not believe she has come out the other end. Really well written, funny VERY sad - an excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very gripping!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed this, I didn't want to put it down. Has many highs and lows and is a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amanda Holden book, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Kindle Edition)
Very good read I enjoyed the read and good story easy to read and leave and go back to worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written from the heart, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Kindle Edition)
New into this country, I only knew Amanda by her character in an English sitcom, Kiss Me Kate. I was in the UK when she suffered her tragic loss and since then wondered what happened as I have become particularly fond of her over the years.

This was an honest look into the woman we see all glammed up for the cameras and its surprising how down to earth she is. Wishing her all the best for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, Quality Book!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Hardcover)
Great book to read. Speed delivery, I am very impressed with the service and quality of the product. Would recommend to anyone who wants a good book to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holding Back (Kindle Edition)
This is a really lovely honest book and I really enjoyed it. I have always liked Amanda Holden and this book made me really admire her. I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Holding Back
No Holding Back by Amanda Holden (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews