Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2014
I'm still reading this interesting diary of WW11 and enjoying all the writings of Mrs Miles. Set in Surrey during WW11 tells the day to day life of Mrs Miles and also interesting facts about the war that I have not red before. Very pleased I bought this book as I have an iterest in dairies on the homefront during WW11. Would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in everyday life during WW11 and how people coped with the thought of invasion could happen any day.

Although I have a kindle I have bought this in paperback from Amazon as I like to see the photos and reading it on paper makes it more 'real'.

More diaries like these would be great to read.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
This is a most interesting account of life at home during the Second World War. It is very well written as one would expect from a member of the Robertson Nicoll family. Mrs. Miles was Constance Robertson Nicoll, a aughter of Sir William the famous editor of the British Weekly. Her comments in her journal give some interesting insights on life in the World War Two
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 November 2014
Mrs Miles experienced the war in greater comfort and rather less danger than did those who endured the Blitz; but she felt its tragedy no less passionately, and this is an extremely interesting diary. Readers who have a special affinity with the Home Front will love it. A gentle, well-educated woman who thought deeply about things, Mrs Miles makes a convincing eyewitness to history.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Interesting from a comfy middle - upper class home point of you. Very different from the Nella Last diaries (Housewife 49) which |I feel were much more in touch with the real world of WW2.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Very interesting account of life during the war. Wonderful descriptions. Loved it. Very evocative account of real life in this period. Wish there was more.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A new insight into the day to day lives of world war two folk. Enjoyed it. It made me glad I was not born then.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Love diaries especially war ones and found Connie Miles a good writer, but wished it carried on longer as it finishes in1943. Still a good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
I found the introduction very interesting. Really prefer a book to run rather than diary but content interesting. Reading it for a book club otherwise possibly would not have chosen it. Quite a good book though and relevant as we celebrate with veterans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Love reading real life diaries and anything by the 'mass observationists' Enjoyable read but for me, Nella last is the ultimate diarist and would imagine her experiences more representative of the vast majority of people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
It is what I expected it to be, I have only just started reading it. A picture of the times, the hopes and horrors for the years ahead
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)