Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your in safe hands with this author.
Just finished. Couldn't put it down. I have been reading so many YA books recently and it's difficult to find the ones that appeal to my more mature age and don't get tiring because of the teenage angst and drama. Abbi's books really do fit the niche I am looking for as her characters have baggage, or are in difficult situations which make them behave in a more mature way...
Published 14 months ago by KITTEN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steamy romance with grit
When Della and Woods first meet, they are just a guy and girl who happen to pass by one another for a moment in time. A spark of chemistry and dinner invitation leads to an explosive night neither will ever forget.

But the sun rises after their night together, bringing to light the reality of their lives. Della is the girl trying to outrun her dark past, to...
Published 6 months ago by Pamela Roach


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your in safe hands with this author., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished. Couldn't put it down. I have been reading so many YA books recently and it's difficult to find the ones that appeal to my more mature age and don't get tiring because of the teenage angst and drama. Abbi's books really do fit the niche I am looking for as her characters have baggage, or are in difficult situations which make them behave in a more mature way although often with their innocence of youth being damaged in the process.

This is Woods and Della's story and I think could be read as a stand alone although does follow 'Fallen too Far' and 'Never too far' and some of the characters are constant throughout these books. In usual Abbi Glines style we have a heartbreaking leading lady and a strong very alpha (and very sexy) leading man. You know that Abbi will take you to the edge of a tragedy and then bring you home safetly with a lot of heat (phew), and some teeth-gritting tension.

There is a cliff-hanger but one that I don't think affects the overall story and romance of the two main characters, you will be smiling at the end. I HATE cliff-hangers but I was ok with this one. Another good read Abbi. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrrrrrrrrgh!!!!, 22 April 2013
What to say its 4am in the UK & I've just finished this book! I absolutely loved this story I think I loved Woods & Della even more than Rush & Blaire. I would have gladly given this book 5 stars the only reason I didn't is because I am so so so frustrated with reading books where the ending is left on a cliffhanger & then waiting months & months to read the rest of the story. I would gladly pay double the price & read the whole story! Other than that can't fault Abbi another fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 shiny stars!, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
4.5 stars!!!

Abbi Glines does it again however this had the added bit of HOT SMOKING chemistry and attraction.

Della is on a road trip to find herself, her best friend has just got married, gives her the car and tells her to go and find herself!! Della was a prisoner in her own home, her brother died her mum went loopy and kept her in the house, she was home schooled by her mother and was extremely lonely she knew no-one. When she hit her teens she started to brave her mothers dominance and used to sneak out of the house at night, even if it was just to breathe in the air and touch the grass, this is where she met her best friend Braden. She was her next door neighbour and wondered what went on at the house, she thought they were vampires!! After meeting a few times at night Braden gets Della out and about a bit more and eventually persuades her to go out to a party. However, when they return Della's mother has committed suicide. After initially being arrested for her death, once her alibi checks out she is released and Braden's family take her in and that is when their friendship becomes unbreakable. Even Braden's husband knew that when he married Braden, he also got Della, they came as a package. The love that they both have for Della was beautiful and I for one would love a best friend like Braden.

On this road trip Della runs out of petrol, she coasts into a petrol station and then realises that she does not know how to put gas in the tank..she is there struggling and then along comes her knight in shining armour "Woods Kerrington"...I loved Woods in Rush's story and he doesn't disappoint in this book either..he does have a shaky moment until he finds his balls, but I forgave him, just a little bit!!

They have their night of fun after the gas station incident and Woods leaves her to carry on her road trip, however, their paths cross again four months later..is this destiny???

The chemistry that these two have is amazeballs, you can feel it oozing off the page and I had to think twice...is this Abbi Glines??? Giving us smoking hot passion and sex in a book??? Abbi did it really well, who knew that Woods had it in him?? There was me thinking he was this cutesy man, work-a-holic, Ivy league jock and he is actually seriously hot!!! He has alpha male tendencies and a filthy mouth that made me blush on more than one occasion!! But he also had his caring side and one that he needed constantly with Della.

Della suffers with panic attacks and night terrors..she does not think that she can be loved because of them and that people with think that she is crazy. She thinks that she will end up as crazy as her mother and does not really want to have children as she feels that she will pass the crazy gene on. Woods witnesses one of her panic attacks and it only makes him want to protect her more.

Tripp has been looking out for Della and pulls Woods aside to find out what his intentions are, when Woods admits that he is in it for the long haul Tripp asks him to come one night once Della is asleep so he can witness first hand the night terrors that she has every night...this scene was amazingly beautiful...I cried happy tears and sad tears all in one go!!

As usual the course of true love never runs a smooth and as I said earlier Woods does make some stupid decisions based on peer pressure from his parents, but he soon sees the light..but is it too late?? Will his parents let him live the life he craves or will they ruin it all???

The ending!!!! Wow, although it was a little cliffie it wasn't one that had me screaming as Woods and Della were back on track..but am I wrong in thinking that it couldn't have happened to a more deserving person??? I think I am, but hey I can live with it....I just hope that this latest development does not hinder Woods and Della's relationship as guilt can eat you away.

Cannot wait for book 2!!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously I've got to wait till Autumn for book 2!! NOOOOO......, 28 May 2013
By 
An avid reader. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ahhh, NO, NO, NOOOOO! I knew there was a reason I was holding off reading this book and right at the end of this book I knew why...... yep there's a book 2! Arghhhh. And this was such a flippin good read I don't want to have to wait till autumn for the next instalment. I'm gutted, I did check first but it doesn't say in the synopsis or the title it's part of a series but then again sigh, it doesn't say it's a standalone either. Grrrrrrr.

Anyways rant over. I loved this book and I loved their story, yep I really did. If I had one little gripe it was the use of porno lingo a couple of times, tut tut, it didn't need to sink the mucky rag lingo but hey I got over it as the story itself was sooo good.

I am actually amazed though that I enjoyed this book as much as I did because let's face it - Golf - major yawn here and - Country Clubs - another yawn - are so not my cup of tea but heck if this wasn't written in such a way that the lar-de-da lifestyle of all things Country Club and all those Country Clubbers that are members was I have to admit really engaging. I loved Della although I found her a little 'crazy' sometimes but for all the right reasons, and sigh then there is Woods, say no more. Truth be said I had a hard time wanting Della to end up with Woods as I also found myself really into Tripp, I'd off been happy either way and because of this I hope he gets his own story to tell too, they are both dream boats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steamy romance with grit, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: Twisted Perfection (Paperback)
When Della and Woods first meet, they are just a guy and girl who happen to pass by one another for a moment in time. A spark of chemistry and dinner invitation leads to an explosive night neither will ever forget.

But the sun rises after their night together, bringing to light the reality of their lives. Della is the girl trying to outrun her dark past, to shake free the chains of her imprisoned life. Her road trip of self-discovery and worldly enlightenment do little to cast away the horrors she faces every night in her dreams.

Woods is the heir to his grandfather's successful country club business. His family want him settled down into a marriage of convenience. As he buckles under their pressure and obligation, he cannot get the girl who breezed into his life for one night out of his head.

A twist of fate brings Della back into town...and Woods's life. Her working at the club means brushing up against temptation that he can poorly afford. For Della, the Woods she remembered is nothing like the tense one she knows now. All the signs point to trouble and neither can thinks they can afford anymore losses. But when they are around each other, neither has a clear head. Maybe it's time for their minds to have some time off, and their hearts to do the leading.

Twisted Perfection was another welcome Abbi Glines addition. We first met Woods way back in the Too Far series and I think it is marvelous he has his own spinoff series. Woods is still Woods, always trying to take care of people and placing his own wants and needs on the back burner. Della is the tragically broken girl that maybe he can't put back together.

The book is filled with steamy tension and unbearable angst. I felt more for Woods in this story than Della, as he struggled with the weight upon his shoulders. Twisted Perfection goes a little darker than Abbi's previous books, but it definitely adds integrity and weight to her story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Disappointed, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to move away from my usual reading habits and having read the reviews about this book I thought I'd give it a go. Hugely disappointing! Overtones of mental illness, mysterious pasts and a road trip of self discovery all sound pretty intriguing. What this book is really about is a seres of sexual encounters involving shallow characters who invoke no real emotional engagement with the reader. I simply couldn't care less what happen to any of them. What I've learned is not to trust the reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, what can I say. I really loved this, Woods is such a lovely person, how he was with Blaire, I hoped he would find himself someone to care for, he came across so caring and giving in Rush and Blaires story in the Too Far series. It was nice to catch up with Beth and Jase, Thad and Grant, Grant needs to find a lovely girl, he comes across as a real cutey!

Della has been through so much, I felt for her at not even knowing how to fill the car with gas. Straight away Woods was there helping a damsel in distress, just like he did with Blaire. Della is a lucky girl.

You can't even begin to imagine having to marry someone for future success, I was so hoping that Woods would come through, so pleased!

What a s****** his father was, karma is a good thing, so glad he got his comeupance!

Looking forward to the next book in the Perfection series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I loved her. I loved her with a something so fierce I couldn't even name it.", 21 April 2013
Abbi Glines has somehow managed to do it again... I am constantly finding myself more and more amazed with her awesomeness with each book I read. Don't get me wrong, I expected to enjoy Twisted Perfection and I knew from the start I was going to like it. But in the end I didn't just like it. I absolutely, completely, wholeheartedly loved the ever loving crap out of it. There really is just no other way for me to say it. I loved every single minute I got to spend with Woods and Della.

"Never throw a Kerrington a challenge like that one. We would go above and beyond."

We all know Woods from Blaire and Rush's stories, Fallen Too Far and Never Too Far. I am pretty sure we all loved Woods to one degree or another. He was such a rock for Blaire when she needed a friend and somebody to be there for her. He always came across as a really great guy...

"I'd planned to be good tonight. But I can't. Not with you looking at me like that," Woods said as he took the glass from my hand and put it down beside his. "I think I'll be okay if I can just have a little. Just a small taste. It's been too long and I can't seem to think about anything other than how much I want to kiss you."

But holy cow, I had no idea how hot and sexy Woods could be. I was fanning myself within the first five percent and to be honest I hardly found myself able to stop. Woods was simply... amazing. Even now as I am trying to explain the love I have for him I am just sat here with my jaw hanging open. The man is just sex on legs. That is about the only way I can put it to you. And when you have all of that sexual chemistry and you throw in his wit and charm, can we just say he is perfect?

I did not expect to fall so in love with him when I started and I can easily say now that I love Woods more than Rush. I still love Rush, don't get me wrong but he has well and truly been knocked off the top of the podium for me. Nobody can be more shocked at this revelation, than me.

"I brushed the hair in her face away and tilted her chin up until I could press my lips firmly against hers. This girl was going to consume me."

And Della... she is just the sweetest and most loving character. To say she has had a hard time in life is an understatement. She well and truly got dealt a bad hand from the get go but does she let any of that get her down? Not in a million years. She has set out to make the most of the rest of her life, and to do just that... live her life to the fullest. She has no real plans, she is on a journey of discovery and thankfully for our reading pleasure her journey has lead her right to Woods.

"It wasn't my imperfections that I was worried about. It was the terror that twisted everything in my life that I knew kept me apart from everyone else."

Now, I must add... as much as I loved everything about this story my biggest surprise was the ending. I was under the impression that this was a one off addition to Abbi's Too Far series but I was oooOOOooohhh so wrong. I could tell the story was starting to wrap itself up, I was happy where it was going and how I thought it was going end.

Then... BAM. A huge twist is thrown into the mix and we are left with the final sentence "Look for part two of their story in the fall of 2013, Simple Perfection." Don't worry though, it is not a relationship twist so I would not call this a cliffhanger. Woods and Della are in a good place in their relationship it's just an external twist that is thrown in that will require another book.

Am I upset that there was a huge twist thrown at me at the very end? Along with the promise of more Woods and Della? Absolutely not. I was so very excited when I saw there was going to be more of these two. I have fallen in love with the pair of them and now I will be on the look out for a publication date and on major countdown to Simple Perfection.

"I loved her. I loved her with a something so fierce I couldn't even name it."

So, if you haven't already gathered from my non-stop ramblings of gushy love... I strongly suggest you read Twisted Perfection. As this is spin-off from the Too Far series I do also suggest that you read Fallen Too Far and Never Too Far. The entire series is amazing and you will not be disappointed with any of them. Abbi Glines continues to produce spectacular books and I can easily count her among my favorite authors.

Christine
Rainy Day Reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 25 April 2013
I don't usually write reviews as I'm not good at writing out my thoughts but, I have just finished reading this and I just had to write something.

This book is amazing! I didn't think I would like Woods & Della's story as much as I loved Rush & Blaire's but, I was completely wrong.
This book affected me so much. I do voluntary work with a Mental Health charity and I see so many people living with what Della & her Mother go through everyday, and I'm glad that an author like Abbi is able to tackle topics like mental health issues. I haven't read many books in this genre that tackle issues like these but, I'd have to say that this one has to be the best I've read.

I didn't think Abbi could create a character that would beat Rush but, she has surprised me with Woods. Don't get me wrong, I loved him in Fallen Too Far & Never Too Far but, he was just perfect in this. The way he cares for Della is inspiring and I wish I saw more people like him in everyday life!

This book is great and can't wait to read the rest of Woods & Della's story in Simple Perfection later this year!

Another great book Abbi, thanks for being brave enough to write about mental health issues <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abbi Glines Does it Again!!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Abbi Glines has done it AGAIN.. I loved this book and I Loved Woods and Della just as much as I loved Blaire and Rush!!

This story was very different to the fallen books and I am glad about that. They were differently awesome and the story just grabbed you straight away and pulled you in and had you hooked til the very end. And the end.. a clifffhanger of sorts but it is all good as I am glad there will be another book and I just hope they have a great HEA!

Also I have to mention the fact that this book was just a little more (alot actually) steamier than the other books and I loved it, Woods is for sure an Alpha male and there is nothing more us ladies love than a dominant, confident drop dead gorgeous male in our books!!

So as I said before great read and cannot wait for the next book! :)

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twisted Perfection
Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines (Paperback - 29 Aug 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews