Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
This book really got to me, and is really well written, I could feel everything she went trough..I couldn't put this book down
Published 9 months ago by christine berry

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too explicit
The author has clearly had a dreadful past. The fact that she was such a vulnerable child and was systematically preyed upon by vile males emphasises the ineffectiveness of the care system bound by bureaucracy and form filling. This still happens today and I have witnessed this passive ineffectiveness through my job.
However I felt the detail too sexually explicit...
Published 9 months ago by Felix the Cat


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really got to me, and is really well written, I could feel everything she went trough..I couldn't put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was riveting. I couldn't put it down. It was so shocking and disturbing! No wonder abused children grow into disturbed adults. I have no idea how they manage to survive. The human spirit is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, although on an age old subject, is written with humour, passion and total understanding of the traumas afforded to the victims. Everyone should read it. Thank you Emily MacKenzie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runaway, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A shocking account of abuse, the book is well written and although the abuse sustained was horrific it was hard to stop turning the pages. I would recommend this book for everyone to read for those fortunate enough to have escaped abuse it is an eye opener for others an inspirational story of survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking story yet gripping, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story is truly shocking and a real eye opener, I couldn't put it down! It is hard to believe such abuse happens in the world. Such a sad story but glad to see a the end the writer has turned her life around despite such a terrible start in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book very difficult to read at times because of subject but very well written, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I often find these books difficult to finish as the can be emotionally distressing and harrowing but this book is written in way that although the subject matter is very strong you want to read it through to see how Emily survives because she obviously is a fighter
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting ..., 2 Oct 2013
This review is from: Runaway: Wild Child, Working Girl, Survivor (Paperback)
This is a very well written book. It draws a picture of her story and what life in Soho was like in the 60's and 70's. It is a riveting book that makes you want to read to the very end every time you pick it up... AMAZING READ !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild child, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is so sad it brought tears to my eyes.Emily tells it how it is she does not dress it up.must read you will not put the kindle ect down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot describe how this book made me feel but it was an eye opener! I couldnt out it down...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to miss, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really keeps you on tenderhooks - hard to believe these things happen - very sad in parts but thankfully with a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Runaway: Wild Child, Working Girl, Survivor
Runaway: Wild Child, Working Girl, Survivor by Emily MacKenzie (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews