Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for the mind
I was given this book as a present by a friend to whom I am always waxing lyrical about how beautifully Monty Don writes.
And it does not disappoint.
Monty said recently that sometimes words are more powerful than pictures, can I put in a plea to those disappointed at the lack of these, that they just take a deep breath and start at page one?

I admit...
Published 17 months ago by RJB237

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish ...
I was living in Aix for 3 months in 1973 trying to write poetry (!)- I think I had a better experience including staying in a cave (grotte) looking across to Mont Ste. Victoire with Michel a self styled 'poet' and common sight in the town carrying his jazz records and sponging off students , and meeting an artist called Walter Alberti who I thought was wonderful . I...
Published 8 months ago by jim brooks


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 11 May 2013
By 
Luis Pousada (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
I have been given this book as a birthday present. So far I'm not disappointed. Monty captures the French essence so well and describes the French so well. Being a Francophile myself it is a pleasure to read a book on France and the French by someone who does not judge detrimentally, but is instead open to the discovery of a rich and diverse culture. The book should work as an inspiration for travelling, for gardening to a certain extent, but to know more about a different culture and also about Monty himself. To buy this book and then criticize it because it isn't another book on gardening or gardening techniques seems a bit far fetched. This book is an easy read and far better than the autobiographies of celebrities that these days seem to fill the bookshops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lousy editing, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Deborah Larrabee (BEAVERTON, OREGON, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
Interesting for the range of different gardens described.
Irritating for the frequent misspellings, particularly of French place names (Les Beaux for Les Baux??? puhleese)
and inconsistent French name spellings (the lady that the book is dedicated to +"*??!!)
shame on you Simon & Schuster UK
otherwise, readable. pas plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monty Don, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
The book is ok it is more like a diary of his travel rather than the usual glossy pictures and ideas of his other travel books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather annoying, 17 Sep 2013
While I enjoyed most of Monty's memoirs , garden histories and critiques I also became rather annoyed by the vibes he gives out of being the epitome of culture and taste. In short I felt the tone of the book was snobby, and the fact that he chose to include such dire , but no doubt to some ,tasteful , out of focus , useless black and white photos instead of vulgar? , useful, attractive colour photos,which he claims to have hundreds of, confirms this.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor photography, 22 Nov 2013
By 
F. J. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
Like other reviewers, I thought the book was a huge disappointment - in particular the awful photographs (or lack of any!)and the poor production values (like cheap paper).
How can a book that centres on gardens be so badly illustrated - in this day and age, there is no excuse for the few-and-far between black and white photos, and those of very poor quality, which are all that this book presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought as present, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
bought as a present for a friend for his birthday he has wanted this since he heard it was being published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JIC review of the Road to le Tholonet: a French Garden journey, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
The content of the book is well written and it is a true picture of the region of France that Monty Don covered in his Tv programme but the production is appalling and there are no colour photos. I t does not do justice to the story or to Monty Don. Let's hope there will be a chance to buy the DVD JIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality of pictures, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
While the write-up on the various gardens is good, the pictures are small, black and white, and in some cases it is difficult to see any detail. For a book about the great gardens of France, I had expected something with a lot of high quality colour pictures that would encourage readers to visit the gardens in question, or to try some of the techniques in their own garden. Having seen some of the TV series about Monty Don's journey around these gardens I had expected this to be a lasting reminder of these great gardens. I would not recommend this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
Like another reviewer, I ordered this book in advance, having thoroughly enjoyed the TV series. And like another reviewer, I am SO disappointed. I will also be returning it. I had imagined it would be a well illustrated companion to the TV series. It isn't!! If only I had been able to read the Publisher's review I would have been able to avoid ordering it. I'm sure it is a well written, enjoyable book - just not at all what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad show Monty, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey (Hardcover)
Have just taken delivery, having preordered. Very,very disappointed . How can a garden book have almost no pictures and the ones that are there , are poor black and white. I was expecting and had hoped for something similar to Monty's previous gardening books. Sorry its going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey
The Road to Le Tholonet: A French Garden Journey by Monty Don (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews