Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyndi Lauper: a Memoir (Hardcover)
I am a complete Cyndi fan, always have been since I was a kid and was so excited to read her book. However,
I did not go into this with rose tinted glasses, I was a little worried it was going to be incomplete and
gloss over parts of her life. How wrong I was! Never have I read a better autobiography (and I have read bucket loads). The
honesty, humour and sheer talent of this woman just amazes me.
I would suggest anyone who likes music and enjoys reading a well written and eye opening life story, should really give this a try. Well done Cyndi!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly honest!, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: Cyndi Lauper: a Memoir (Hardcover)
The girl that just wanted to have fun had it and a hell of a lot more. This brave and honest memoir tells all about her life. From her earliest memories to the day she left home and her rise to fame to today. The book starts with her leaving home and recounts the hardships (believe me they were hardships) she went through until and after she achieved fame. While it has shocks and moment where you just think, "WHAT THE HELL" there are just as many laughs. The brutal truth is always present in this memoir and it is an addictive read. You won't want to put it down until you have read it all. As well as being incredibly honest and brave it is well written and really does give the reader enjoyment. Great read about an icon of the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could not put down, 27 Sep 2012
This review is from: Cyndi Lauper: a Memoir (Hardcover)
loved loved loved this book couldnt put it down and was sad to finish it such an inspirational story a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Im In The Book!, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir (Paperback)
Im in the book so naturally i was delighted. She is an amazing artist and her tale is also an amazing one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When I was 8 I had a friend with a pirate smile..., 4 Feb 2014
Really really really love this book. I am a HUGE Cyndi Lauper fan, my favorite part is page 220 when we get to find out what Sally's Pigeons is about, which is my favourite song (Hence the title of my review). I have been privileged enough to me Cyndi and get her autograph, she is a lovely person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great sad tragic funny life, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir (Paperback)
A fabulous funny woman and her book is a classic.
She goes from teenage runaway to the most famous woman on the planet
,her over night success only taking ten years.
It details why she disappeared off the map after the 80s not because she retired
but because sony records kept trying to interfere with her,her look and her music.
When she refused they simply put out the albums with no publicity at all
ensuring they sank without a trace.so an artist at the height of her powers
is laid low by a bunch of sexiest ,coked out business men .
tragic, but she doesn't seem to bear them any ill will.
She details her tireless charity efforts for lgbt causes and the loves of her life
Despite some dark moments it is a quirky funny and life affirming roller coaster
go buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good but..., 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a long time fan of Cyndi and was looking forward to reading this but was disappointed. The author makes it clear that it is ghost written and that the writer has carried out many interviews with Lauper. And it shows. At Thomas the book is written verbatim and it does not make sense in some cases. Instead of taking the conversations recorded and transferring them into something readable it reads in a lot of cases that the writer has just transcribed verbatim what Lauper has said during interviews. The book also jumps back and forth in Lauper's life and doesn't really read chronologically.
However this is a good book for fans of Lauper and does give insight into the recording of her albums and her extensive charity work for gay and women's rits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars story of a life, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story she is very funny and a great human being,she deserves every acolade she receives,enjoyed every bit of this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: Cyndi Lauper: a Memoir (Hardcover)
very interesting book on Cyndi, it just confirmed the character she shows a real lady that cares
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's so unusual, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Kevin Geddes (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, I could actually hear Cyndi in every word of this fabulous book, a great history of her time in music and before...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cyndi Lauper: a Memoir
Cyndi Lauper: a Memoir by Cyndi Lauper (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews